Penn State World Campus offers an online Master of Geographic Information Systems (MGIS) through the Department of Geography in the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences. The 33-credit degree runs in 10-week terms, requires no GRE and costs $1,048 per credit for 2026–27, the same rate for every state.
Penn State’s online GIS program has awarded more than 4,000 certificates and degrees since it began in 1999 (Online Geospatial Education). Its stackable certificates in GIS, remote sensing and geospatial intelligence can count toward the MGIS, and a Geospatial Intelligence option is USGIF-accredited.
Program at a Glance
| Degree | Master of Geographic Information Systems (MGIS), online |
| Credits | 33 |
| Format | 100% online, 10-week terms |
| Completion time | As little as 2.5 years |
| Capstone | GEOG 870 capstone project and paper |
| Options | General MGIS or Geospatial Intelligence (USGIF-accredited) |
| Tuition | $1,048 per credit (2026–27), same for all states; $34,584 total |
| GRE | Not required |
| Accreditation | Middle States Commission on Higher Education |
Curriculum
The Graduate Bulletin lists 18 required credits, 12 elective credits and a 3-credit capstone.
Required Courses (18 credits)
| Course | Credits |
|---|---|
| GEOG 482 Making Maps That Matter with GIS, or GEOG 581 Spatial Data Science Ethics | 3 |
| GEOG 483 Problem-Solving with GIS | 3 |
| GEOG 484 GIS Database Development | 3 |
| GEOG 583 Geospatial System Analysis and Design | 3 |
| GEOG 586 Geographical Information Analysis | 3 |
| GEOG 871 Geospatial Technology Project Management | 3 |
Electives (12 credits) and Capstone (3 credits)
Electives cover GIS programming, cartography, remote sensing and lidar, web mapping, spatial data science and drone (UAS) applications. Every student finishes with GEOG 870, a capstone project with a formal presentation and scholarly paper.
Geospatial Intelligence Option
The GEOINT option replaces 15 credits with geospatial intelligence courses (GEOG 571, 882, 883, 884 and 885) while keeping GEOG 583, 586, 871 and the capstone. Penn State calls the option USGIF-accredited (World Campus). The former Geodesign option is no longer offered starting summer 2026.
Online GIS Certificates
Penn State’s online geospatial certificates can count toward the MGIS. Graduate Bulletin pages allow up to 15 certificate credits to transfer in, but MGIS admission is a separate application.
| Certificate | Credits | Cost (2026–27) |
|---|---|---|
| Postbaccalaureate Certificate in GIS | 12 | $12,576 |
| Graduate Certificate in Remote Sensing and Earth Observation | 12 | $12,576 |
| Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Intelligence Analytics | 15 | $15,720 |
The GIS certificate’s required courses (Graduate Bulletin) form the first year of the MGIS. The GEOINT certificate is USGIF-accredited, and graduates receive both a Penn State and a USGIF certificate. Students who earn a 3.67 GPA or higher in their first three certificate courses may qualify for accelerated MGIS admission without letters of recommendation.
How the Online Format Works
- 10-week terms: five sessions a year (two each in fall and spring, plus summer), so you can start in spring, summer or fall.
- Pacing: World Campus says you complete coursework at your own pace and 100% online. It does not state whether any sessions are live.
- Capstone: the GEOG 870 capstone ends in an online presentation to students and faculty (capstone handbook). Note: the department’s handbook also describes a longer project route that may require presenting at a professional conference at your own expense, so confirm which capstone you’ll take.
- Same degree: World Campus diplomas do not indicate online study.
Admission Requirements
- Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution
- 3.0 GPA expected (Graduate Bulletin)
- No GRE required
- Personal statement (2–3 pages), resume and two letters of reference
- Official transcripts; TOEFL or IELTS if applicable
World Campus lists start dates in January, May and August, with application deadlines of November 1 (spring), April 1 (summer) and July 1 (fall).
Tuition and Financial Aid
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Tuition per credit (2026–27) | $1,048, all states |
| Total program (33 credits) | $34,584 |
| 2027–28 rate (listed) | $1,069 per credit |
Rates come from Penn State’s World Campus tuition table, where the MGIS falls under “All Other Programs.” Penn State lists no separate World Campus fees.
Faculty and Department
The MGIS is taught by Penn State’s Department of Geography through its Online Geospatial Education program, which offers more than 30 online courses. World Campus says the program can help prepare you for the GISP certification exam.
Careers
World Campus lists digital cartographer, GIS or geospatial analyst, GIS consultant, lidar analyst, photogrammetrist and remote sensing specialist. BLS reports a May 2025 median salary of $81,390 for cartographers and photogrammetrists.
Pros and Considerations
Strengths
- Long-running online GIS program from a major research university
- Same per-credit rate for every state
- Stackable certificates that count toward the degree
- USGIF-accredited GEOINT option; no GRE
Things to Consider
- Higher per-credit cost than many public online programs
- Capstone presentation rules vary by route; confirm before enrolling
- No online geography or GIS bachelor’s at World Campus
- Live-session requirements are not stated
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Penn State’s online MGIS cost?
Tuition is $1,048 per credit for 2026–27, or $34,584 for the 33-credit degree. The rate is the same for all states.
Does Penn State’s online MGIS require the GRE?
No. World Campus states that GRE scores are not required.
How long does the Penn State online MGIS take?
World Campus says students can finish in as little as two and a half years, taking courses in 10-week terms.
Can Penn State GIS certificate credits count toward the MGIS?
Yes. Penn State allows up to 15 certificate credits toward the MGIS, though admission to the degree is a separate step.
Does Penn State offer an online geography bachelor’s degree?
No. World Campus offers graduate GIS programs and an online geography minor for current Penn State students, but not an online geography or GIS bachelor’s.
Compare Penn State with other programs in our online geography and GIS degree guide, or see our GIS and geography degrees guide and Pennsylvania geography programs.
Official Sources
We verified this profile against the following school pages in October 2026. Program details change, so confirm current requirements and costs with the school before you apply.
- World Campus: Master of GIS
- Graduate Bulletin: Geographic Information Systems (MGIS)
- Online Geospatial Education: Master of GIS
- Online Geospatial Education
- MGIS capstone handbook
- Culminating experience
- World Campus tuition, fall 2026
- World Campus: GIS postbaccalaureate certificate
- Graduate Bulletin: GIS postbaccalaureate certificate
- World Campus: Remote Sensing and Earth Observation certificate
- World Campus: Geospatial Intelligence Analytics certificate
- World Campus: Geography minor
- Penn State World Campus accreditation