Florida has 15 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: 8 public universities, 2 private universities, and 5 state colleges. The University of Florida, Florida State University, the University of South Florida, Florida Atlantic University, and Florida International University offer doctoral study. Florida also has several fully online options, including bachelor’s degrees at three universities and a GIS master’s degree at the University of West Florida.
Quick picks for Florida
- Lowest resident bachelor’s rate: University of Florida through UF Online, $129.18 per credit ($3,875.40 per year).
- Online bachelor’s degrees: University of Florida, Florida Atlantic University, and Florida International University.
- Online GIS master’s degrees: University of West Florida ($15,300 total) and Florida Atlantic University (non-thesis M.S. in Geosciences).
- Lowest-cost GIS certificate: Florida State College at Jacksonville, $2,202.48 in-state total for 21 credits.
- Ph.D. programs: University of Florida, Florida State, University of South Florida, Florida Atlantic, and Florida International.
Rates are Florida resident rates. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and what each rate covers.
Florida Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance
Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Florida | Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) or Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geography (six programs) B.A. in Geography through UF Online B.S. in Geomatics Five undergraduate certificates | Campus (Gainesville); B.A. also online | Degrees: 120 Geography major: about 36–48 Certificates: 9–15 | Senior seminar with a capstone exam and portfolio |
| Florida State University | B.A. or B.S. in Geography | Campus only (Tallahassee) | 120 (major 33) | Tracks include GIS and Technology; capstone course |
| University of South Florida | B.A. in Geography and Geographic Information Systems | Not stated (Tampa) | 120 (major 43) | Concentrations in GIS, Geography, or Society and Environment; project or internship |
| Florida Atlantic University | B.A. or B.S. in Geosciences, Geography concentration Certificates in GIScience and Advanced GIScience | In person or fully online | Degrees: 120 (major 55 or 72) Certificates: 12 and 9 | Emphasis areas in environmental systems, human systems, and GIScience |
| Florida International University | B.A. in Global Studies, Geography major Certificate in Applied GIS | B.A.: campus or fully online | B.A.: 120 (major 30) Certificate: 18 | Geography taught alongside anthropology and sociology |
| University of West Florida | Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate) | Fully online | 24 | Designed for non-degree working professionals |
| University of Central Florida | GIS Certificate (undergraduate) | Not online (Orlando) | 11–14 | Interdisciplinary course choices |
| New College of Florida | GIS Certificate, earned with the B.A. | Campus (Sarasota) | 4 courses minimum | Includes an Esri online certification exam |
| University of Miami | B.A. or B.S. in Geography and Sustainable Development | Campus (Coral Gables) | 120 (major 30 or 33) | B.S. requires two GIS courses, remote sensing, and calculus |
| Jacksonville University | B.S. in Sustainability, Geography, and Environmental Planning | Not stated (Jacksonville) | 120 | Geography and GIS concentration with Python scripting and an internship |
Graduate Degrees and Certificates
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Florida | Master of Arts (M.A.), Master of Science (M.S.), and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography M.S. in Forest Resources and Conservation, Geomatics concentration Five graduate certificates | Geography degrees: campus Geomatics M.S. and two certificates: online | Master’s: 30 Ph.D.: 90 Certificates: 9–12 | Thesis-based master’s; GRE not required |
| Florida State University | M.S. in Geographic Information Science M.S. or M.A. in Geography Ph.D. in Geography | Not stated (Tallahassee) | Master’s: 30 Ph.D.: 48 minimum | One-year GIS master’s with a summer capstone |
| University of South Florida | M.A. in Geography Ph.D. in Geography and Environmental Science and Policy GIScience Graduate Certificate | Not stated (Tampa) | M.A.: 30 thesis or 36 non-thesis Ph.D.: 60 after a master’s Certificate: 15 | GRE not required |
| Florida Atlantic University | M.S. in Geosciences Ph.D. in Geosciences Graduate certificates in GIScience and Remote Sensing | In person; non-thesis GIS focus and both certificates also fully online | M.S.: 31 thesis or 34 non-thesis Ph.D.: 60 after a master’s Certificates: 15 and 12 | Published teaching assistant stipends and tuition waiver |
| Florida International University | Ph.D. in Global and Sociocultural Studies, Geography major Graduate Certificate in GIS | Not stated (Miami) | Ph.D.: 75 Certificate: 15 | Certificate open to degree-seeking students only |
| University of West Florida | M.S. in GIS Administration Graduate GIS Certificate | Online | M.S.: 36 Certificate: 12 | Client-based capstone; management core |
| University of Central Florida | GIS Graduate Certificate | Not online (Orlando) | 12–14 | Courses drawn from several departments |
| University of Miami | M.A. in Geography Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Technology | Campus (Coral Gables) | M.A.: 30 Certificate: 15 | Certificate credits can count toward the M.A. |
Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs, except University of Florida graduate programs, where the latest graduate catalog is 2025–26. Minors are not listed.
State College Degrees and Certificates
| College | Credential | Units | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Broward College | Associate of Science (A.S.) in Computer Information Technology, GIS track | 60 | Campus; also offered fully online |
| Broward College | GIS Specialist Technical Certificate GIS Advanced Technical Certificate | 21 12 | Not stated; advanced certificate at Central Campus |
| Miami Dade College | College Credit Certificate in GIS | 21 | In person and online courses |
| Florida State College at Jacksonville | GIS Technician Technical Certificate | 21 | Not online |
| College of Central Florida | GIS College Credit Certificate | 21 | Not stated (Ocala) |
| Seminole State College | Geography Pathway, Associate in Arts (A.A.) | 60 | A.A. courses offered in person and online |
Florida’s statewide 2+2 agreement guarantees A.A. graduates admission to one of the 12 state universities, though not to a particular university or limited-access program. For geography, the state’s common prerequisites are two introductory geography courses.
Related Urban Planning Programs
These planning degrees include GIS coursework but are not geography or GIS degrees.
- University of Florida: 52-credit Master of Urban and Regional Planning, on campus with a GIS concentration or fully online without concentrations.
- University of South Florida: 48-hour Master of Urban and Regional Planning, with required GIS and urban analytics courses.
- Florida Atlantic University: Bachelor and Master of Urban and Regional Planning. The bachelor’s degree is also offered fully online.
- University of Central Florida: 42-credit M.S. in Urban and Regional Planning, taught face to face in downtown Orlando.
See our urban planning guide.
Online Geography and GIS Programs in Florida
An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.
Verified fully online options
- University of Florida B.A. in Geography: offered through UF Online, with general geography and environmental geosciences programs. The B.S. is not offered online.
- Florida Atlantic University B.A. or B.S. in Geosciences: the Geography concentration is available in person or fully online.
- Florida International University B.A. in Global Studies, Geography major: listed by FIU Online as a fully online degree.
- University of West Florida M.S. in GIS Administration: a 36-hour online degree. Its undergraduate and graduate GIS certificates are also fully online.
- Florida Atlantic University M.S. in Geosciences: the non-thesis option with a GIS focus is 100% online. The university’s four GIS and remote sensing certificates are also available fully online.
- University of Florida graduate options: the GIS for Urban and Regional Planners certificate is completely online, and the non-thesis M.S. in Forest Resources and Conservation with a Geomatics concentration can be taken entirely online.
- University of Florida Geomatics Certificate: a 15-credit undergraduate certificate with a 100% online version for working surveyors.
- Broward College A.S. in Computer Information Technology, GIS track: also offered fully online.
Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program
- Florida State University: says its geography bachelor’s degree is not available online. Its graduate pages state no online option.
- University of South Florida and University of Central Florida: none of their geography or GIS credentials appears on an official online program list.
- University of Florida online planning master’s: fully online, but it does not offer the GIS concentration.
- University of Florida drone mapping certificate: the school says it is not an online program, because most courses need fieldwork.
- Miami Dade College and Seminole State College: list in-person and online courses without stating that the full credential is online.
For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.
Florida School Summaries
University of Florida
The University of Florida’s Geography B.A. and B.S. come in six programs: general geography (B.A. or B.S.), environmental geosciences, geographical science and sustainability, and medical geography in global health (B.A. or B.S.). The general programs require physical geography, a course in geographic artificial intelligence, two technique courses, and electives. All end in a one-credit senior seminar with a capstone exam and portfolio. The B.A. is also offered through UF Online. For its online programs, see our University of Florida Online Geography Degree profile.
The B.S. in Geomatics, in the School of Forest, Fisheries, and Geomatics Sciences, is ABET-accredited and has specializations in Geospatial Analysis and in Surveying and Mapping. Students must pass a five-part competency exam.
The M.A. and M.S. in Geography require 30 hours, a thesis, a poster presentation, and a public defense. The Ph.D. requires at least 90 hours, of which 30 can come from a master’s degree. Applicants need a 3.0 GPA and three letters, and must name a faculty member who has agreed to advise them. The GRE is not required. Teaching assistantships include a stipend, tuition waiver, and health insurance, but are highly competitive, and incoming master’s students are not prioritized.
- Undergraduate certificates: Geospatial Information Analysis (11–12 credits), Geographic Artificial Intelligence and Big Data (12–13), Medical Geography (12–13), Geomatics (15), and Mapping with Small Unmanned Aerial Systems (9).
- Graduate certificates: Digital Geography and GIS (11 credits), Medical Geography and Global Health (12), GIS for Urban and Regional Planners (12), Geospatial Analysis (9), and Mapping with Unmanned Aerial Systems (9).
- Geomatics M.S.: a 30-credit concentration within the M.S. in Forest Resources and Conservation, with 15 credits of geomatics and GIS courses.
Sources: Geography B.A./B.S.; UF Online Geography B.A.; Geomatics B.S.; graduate catalog; graduate admissions; GIS for planners certificate; geomatics certificates; geomatics graduate programs.
Florida State University
Florida State’s B.A. or B.S. in Geography has a 33-hour major. Students take Geographic Research Methods and Essentials of GIS, choose a track in human and nature-society geography, physical geography, or GIS and technology, and finish with a capstone course and portfolio. A minor is required. The department also offers an Environment and Society major.
The M.S. in Geographic Information Science is a 30-hour, non-thesis degree that can be completed in 12 months. It requires introductory GIS and remote sensing, Advanced GIScience, and a six-hour summer capstone. The M.S. or M.A. in Geography takes 30 hours with a thesis or a coursework track, and the Ph.D. requires at least 48 hours.
Applicants submit three letters. The department waived the GRE for master’s programs through fall 2026 and had not posted a later policy when we checked. It says geography master’s students may receive about $19,650 a year for two years plus a tuition waiver, and Ph.D. students about $21,000 a year, while GIS master’s students are typically self-funded.
Sources: Geography B.A./B.S.; M.S. in GIScience; M.S./M.A. in Geography; Ph.D.; graduate funding; academic program guide.
University of South Florida
USF’s B.A. in Geography and Geographic Information Systems has a 43-hour major. The core includes Mapping and Geovisualization, Geographic Information Systems, Natural Hazards, and a project or internship. Students choose an 18-credit concentration: GIS, which adds research methods and remote sensing; Geography; or Society and Environment.
The M.A. in Geography takes 30 hours with a thesis or 36 hours without, and has concentrations in human geography, environmental geography, and GIScience and spatial analysis. The Ph.D. in Geography and Environmental Science and Policy requires 60 hours after a master’s degree, a 3.20 GPA, and a confirmed advisor. The School of Geosciences does not require the GRE and awards teaching assistantships each year. A 15-credit GIScience Graduate Certificate is scheduled for working professionals.
Sources: Geography and GIS B.A.; B.A. program page; Geography M.A.; Ph.D.; GIScience certificate; graduate programs.
Florida Atlantic University
At FAU, geography is a concentration within the B.A. or B.S. in Geosciences. Both require Introduction to Mapping and GIS, Quantitative Methods, and Human-Environmental Interactions in South Florida. The B.A. adds 33 credits across environmental systems, human systems, and GIScience. The B.S. adds GIS, Remote Sensing, and science courses.
The M.S. in Geosciences takes 31 credits with a thesis or 34 without, with a focus in geology, human environment and sustainability science, or GIScience. The Ph.D. requires 60 credits after a related master’s degree. M.S. applicants need a 3.0 GPA and one letter. The department lists teaching assistant stipends of $26,000 a year for doctoral students and $6,240 a semester for master’s students, with a full tuition waiver. Fees are not covered.
Certificates include undergraduate GIScience (12 credits) and Advanced GIScience (9), and graduate GIScience (15) and Remote Sensing (12).
Sources: Geosciences B.A.; Geosciences B.S.; Geosciences M.S.; Geosciences Ph.D.; online B.A.; online M.S.; graduate funding.
Florida International University
FIU does not list a standalone geography bachelor’s degree. Geography is a major within the B.A. in Global Studies. The 30-credit major includes Geographies of Global Change, a course in cultural, political, or economic geography, Research Methods, and Applications of GIS. No capstone is required. For its online programs, see our FIU Geography Degree Online profile.
FIU also offers an 18-credit undergraduate Certificate in Applied GIS and a 15-credit Graduate Certificate in GIS, both open to degree-seeking students only. At the doctoral level, geography is a major within the 75-credit Ph.D. in Global and Sociocultural Studies. The department awards teaching assistantships with a tuition waiver and stipend.
Sources: Global Studies B.A.; FIU Online; Applied GIS certificate; graduate GIS certificate; Ph.D..
University of West Florida
UWF has no geography degree, but it runs three online GIS programs. The 36-hour M.S. in GIS Administration combines 12 hours of management courses with 24 hours of GIS, including spatial data management, GIS management, and a six-hour capstone for a client. It has no thesis and requires no GRE. Students without a GIS background first take up to 15 hours of foundation courses that do not count toward the degree.
The 24-hour undergraduate GIS certificate covers GIS, cartography, remote sensing, GIS programming, and an internship or directed study. The graduate certificate is 12 hours, plus foundation courses for students new to GIS.
Sources: M.S. in GIS Administration; graduate certificate; undergraduate certificate; graduate catalog.
University of Central Florida
UCF has no geography department. Its undergraduate GIS Certificate (11–14 credits) and GIS Graduate Certificate (12–14 credits) draw GIS courses from anthropology, sociology, political science, public administration, and other departments. The graduate certificate asks only for a bachelor’s degree and an essay.
Sources: undergraduate certificate; graduate certificate.
New College of Florida
New College offers a GIS Certificate that students complete alongside the B.A. It requires at least four courses, including Introduction to GIS and GIS II, an elective in mapping or remote sensing, a GIS project or thesis component, and an Esri online certification exam.
Sources: GIS certificate.
University of Miami
Miami’s Department of Geography and Sustainable Development offers a B.A. and a B.S. under that name. Both require Physical Geography, Geographic Research Methods, Sustainable Development, and a capstone research seminar. The B.S. adds GIS I, GIS II, Remote Sensing of the Environment, and two calculus courses.
The 15-credit Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Technology requires GIS I, GIS II, and Remote Sensing, plus two electives. The bulletin also lists a 30-credit M.A. in Geography with a thesis or two-paper option. The department’s own graduate page does not list the M.A., so confirm that it is admitting students before applying.
Sources: B.A.; B.S.; M.A. in Geography; geospatial certificate.
Jacksonville University
Jacksonville University offers a B.S. in Sustainability, Geography, and Environmental Planning. All students take World Geography, Earth Science, GIS, and two research methods courses. The Geography and GIS concentration adds Python Scripting and Coding for ArcGIS Pro, Advanced GIS, a sustainability capstone, and an internship. The 2026–27 catalog does not list a major named Geography alone.
Sources: program page; 2026–27 catalog.
State Colleges
Broward College has the most complete two-year GIS pathway: a 21-credit GIS Specialist certificate, a 12-credit advanced certificate for students who already hold an associate degree, and a 60-credit A.S. in Computer Information Technology with a GIS track. Courses include two introductory GIS courses, Remote Sensing and Applications, and Applications of GIS.
Miami Dade College, Florida State College at Jacksonville, and the College of Central Florida each offer a 21-credit GIS certificate that pairs GIS courses with database or drafting courses. Seminole State College lists a Geography Pathway within its A.A., built around two geography courses.
Sources: Broward A.S.; Broward GIS Specialist; Miami Dade GIS; FSCJ GIS Technician; Central Florida GIS; Seminole State Geography Pathway; 2+2 articulation.
Schools not included
- Florida A&M University, Florida Gulf Coast University, and Florida Polytechnic University: no geography or GIS credential.
- University of North Florida: offers a GIS minor and a GIS concentration within its business analytics master’s degree, but no geography or GIS degree or certificate.
- Minor only: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Nova Southeastern University, and the University of Tampa.
- Eastern Florida State College: its GIS certificate and GIS degree track are not in the 2026–27 catalog.
- Surveying and drone programs: Valencia College and St. Petersburg College offer surveying credentials with one GIS course. Tallahassee State, Gulf Coast State, and Pasco-Hernando State offer drone degrees with GIS and remote sensing courses. None is a GIS credential.
- No geography or GIS credential: Stetson University, Rollins College, Eckerd College, Flagler College, Florida Southern College, and Florida Institute of Technology.
Tuition Comparison
Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” Florida’s public universities and state colleges publish one per-credit rate that combines tuition and required fees, so those rows include required fees. No row includes housing, books, or other costs.
Undergraduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Florida Geography B.A. or B.S. (campus) | $214.54 per credit (Florida resident) $1,153.88 per credit (nonresident) | 30 credits per year | $6,436.20 resident per year $34,616.40 nonresident per year | None; the published rate includes required fees |
| University of Florida Geography B.A. (UF Online) | $129.18 per credit (Florida resident) $552.62 per credit (nonresident) | 30 credits per year | $3,875.40 resident per year $16,578.60 nonresident per year | None; the published rate includes required fees. An optional campus fee package costs more. |
| Florida State University Geography B.A. or B.S. | $215.55 per credit (resident) $855.07 per credit (out-of-state) | 30 credits per year | $6,466.50 resident per year $25,652.10 out-of-state per year | $20 per semester facility fee |
| University of South Florida Geography and GIS B.A. | $210.19 per credit (resident) $670.42 per credit (nonresident) | 30 credits per year | $6,305.70 resident per year $20,112.60 nonresident per year | $37 per term |
| Florida Atlantic University Geosciences B.A. or B.S. | $203.29 per credit (resident) $799.72 per credit (nonresident) | 30 credits per year | $6,098.70 resident per year $23,991.60 nonresident per year | $30 per credit on online courses; $76.90 per term transportation fee |
| Florida International University Global Studies B.A., Geography major (online) | $235.57 per credit (in-state) $758.38 per credit (out-of-state) | 30 credits per year | $7,067.10 in-state per year $22,751.40 out-of-state per year | Rate includes the online course fee; additional fees may apply |
| University of West Florida (online) GIS Certificate (undergraduate) | $220.23 per credit (Florida resident) $714.03 per credit (non-Florida) | 24 hours | $5,285.52 resident total $17,136.72 non-Florida total | None; the published rate includes required fees |
| University of Central Florida GIS Certificate (undergraduate) | $212.28 per credit (in-state) $891.07 per credit (out-of-state) | 12 credits | $2,547.36 in-state total $10,692.84 out-of-state total | None; the published rate includes required fees |
| New College of Florida B.A. with GIS Certificate | $6,724 per year (Florida resident) $32,471 per year (out-of-state) | One academic year, as published | $6,724 resident per year $32,471 out-of-state per year | None; the published figure is tuition and fees |
| University of Miami Geography and Sustainable Development B.A. or B.S. | $33,156 per semester (12–20 credits) | Two semesters | $66,312 per year | $1,460 per semester |
| Jacksonville University B.S. in Sustainability, Geography, and Environmental Planning | $48,500 per year | One academic year, as published | $48,500 per year | $1,500 per year |
| Broward College GIS Specialist certificate; A.S., GIS track | $117.90 per credit (resident) $373.00 per credit (nonresident) | Certificate 21 credits; A.S. 60 credits | Certificate: $2,475.90 resident total; $7,833 nonresident total A.S.: $7,074 resident total; $22,380 nonresident total | None; the published rate includes required fees |
| Miami Dade College GIS College Credit Certificate | $118.22 per credit (resident) $402.51 per credit (nonresident) Rates listed as current; no year stated | 21 credits | $2,482.62 resident total $8,452.71 nonresident total | $63 course fee on each GIS course |
| Florida State College at Jacksonville GIS Technician certificate | $104.88 per credit (in-state) $401.27 per credit (nonresident) Rates unchanged since 2018–19 | 21 credits | $2,202.48 in-state total $8,426.67 nonresident total | None; the published rate includes required fees |
| College of Central Florida GIS certificate | $112.92 per credit (resident) $438.20 per credit (nonresident) | 21 credits | $2,371.32 resident total $9,202.20 nonresident total | $20.67 per credit materials fee in some courses |
| Seminole State College Geography Pathway A.A. | $104.08 per credit (resident) $381.57 per credit (nonresident) | 60 credits | $6,244.80 resident total $22,894.20 nonresident total | None; the published rate includes required fees |
Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.
Graduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Florida M.A. or M.S. in Geography | $532.52 per credit (Florida resident) $1,449.28 per credit (nonresident) | 30 hours | $15,975.60 resident total $43,478.40 nonresident total | None; the published rate includes required fees. Teaching assistants receive a tuition waiver. |
| University of Florida (online) GIS for Urban and Regional Planners certificate | $675 per credit, any residency (year not stated) | 12 credits | $8,100 total | None; the rate includes tuition and fees |
| Florida State University M.S. in GIScience; M.S. or M.A. in Geography | $479.32 per credit (resident) $1,278.04 per credit (out-of-state) | 30 hours | $14,379.60 resident total $38,341.20 out-of-state total | $20 per semester facility fee |
| University of South Florida M.A. in Geography; GIScience certificate | $430.43 per credit (resident) $994.29 per credit (nonresident) | M.A. 30 hours (thesis); certificate 15 credits | M.A.: $12,912.90 resident total; $29,828.70 nonresident total Certificate: $6,456.45 resident total; $14,914.35 nonresident total | $37 per term |
| Florida Atlantic University M.S. in Geosciences; GIScience graduate certificate | $371.82 per credit (resident) $1,125.06 per credit (nonresident) | M.S. 34 credits (non-thesis); certificate 15 credits | M.S.: $12,641.88 resident total; $38,252.04 nonresident total Certificate: $5,577.30 resident total; $16,875.90 nonresident total | $30 per credit on online courses |
| University of West Florida (online) M.S. in GIS Administration; graduate GIS certificate | M.S.: $425 per credit Certificate: $630 per credit | M.S. 36 hours; certificate 12 hours | M.S.: $15,300 total Certificate: $7,560 total | None listed. Foundation courses, if needed, add cost. |
| Florida International University Graduate Certificate in GIS | $455.64 per credit (in-state) $1,146.38 per credit (out-of-state) | 15 credits | $6,834.60 in-state total $17,195.70 out-of-state total | Per-term fees of about $199 |
| University of Central Florida GIS Graduate Certificate | $369.65 per credit (in-state) $1,276.48 per credit (out-of-state) | 12 credits | $4,435.80 in-state total $15,317.76 out-of-state total | None; the published rate includes required fees |
| University of Miami M.A. in Geography; Geospatial Technology certificate | $2,763 per credit | M.A. 30 credits; certificate 15 credits | M.A.: $82,890 total Certificate: $41,445 total | Graduate fees apply each semester |
Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.
Why some rates do not compare directly
- UF Online charges a lower rate than the Gainesville campus and leaves out most campus fees.
- The University of West Florida’s GIS programs and the University of Florida’s online planning GIS certificate are priced as separate programs, with one rate for most students regardless of residency.
- Florida Atlantic and Florida International add a $30 per credit fee to online courses.
- Florida International does not publish a static rate table. Its figures come from the university’s tuition calculator and its online program page.
- Miami Dade, Florida State College at Jacksonville, and some other colleges post current rates without an academic-year label.
How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Florida
Broad geography or technical GIS
The University of Florida and Florida State offer geography-named bachelor’s degrees with several tracks. USF builds GIS into the name and core of its degree. At Florida Atlantic and Florida International, geography sits inside geosciences and global studies degrees. For surveying and mapping, the University of Florida’s Geomatics B.S. is the specialized option. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.
Certificate, associate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree
GIS certificates run from 9 to 24 credits at the universities and 21 credits at four state colleges. Broward College offers a GIS associate degree. Five universities offer doctoral study in or including geography. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.
Online or campus
Online bachelor’s degrees are available from the University of Florida, Florida Atlantic, and Florida International. Online master’s options are the University of West Florida’s GIS Administration degree and Florida Atlantic’s non-thesis geosciences degree. Florida State and USF programs are campus-based.
Research or professional master’s
The University of Florida’s geography master’s degrees require a thesis. Florida State, USF, and Florida Atlantic offer thesis and non-thesis routes. Florida State’s GIScience degree and the University of West Florida’s GIS Administration degree are professional programs that end in a capstone. Students considering a Ph.D. should check research preparation and admissions requirements. A thesis can help demonstrate research experience.
Funding
- University of Florida: teaching assistantships are competitive, and incoming master’s students are not prioritized.
- Florida State: funding with a tuition waiver may be available for geography master’s and Ph.D. students. GIS master’s students are typically self-funded.
- Florida Atlantic: publishes stipend amounts and a full tuition waiver for funded students.
- USF and Florida International: award teaching assistantships but do not publish stipend amounts.
- University of West Florida: no assistantships are advertised for its online GIS programs.
Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Georgia and Alabama, or browse all state guides.
Sources and Review Date
Reviewed October 2, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages unless noted above. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 schedule unless a row notes otherwise.
- University of Florida: 2026–27 tuition and fees, UF Online tuition
- Florida State: tuition and fees
- USF: tuition rates
- Florida Atlantic: tuition breakdown
- Florida International: tuition calculator
- West Florida: tuition
- UCF: undergraduate rates, graduate rates
- New College: tuition and fees
- University of Miami: tuition and fees
- Jacksonville University: undergraduate tuition
- State colleges: Broward, Miami Dade, FSCJ, Central Florida, Seminole State
Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.