New York has 21 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials. They include 9 State University of New York (SUNY) campuses, 3 City University of New York (CUNY) campuses, 4 private colleges, the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, and 4 community colleges. Doctoral study is available at the University at Buffalo and Syracuse University (Ph.D. in Geography) and at the CUNY Graduate Center (Ph.D. in Earth and Environmental Sciences with a geography specialization). Verified fully online options are the University at Albany’s M.S. in Geographic Information Science, Stony Brook’s geospatial certificate, Farmingdale State’s B.S. in GIS, and three programs at Monroe Community College.
Quick picks for New York
- Lowest resident bachelor’s tuition: Hunter College and Lehman College (CUNY), $6,930 per year.
- Lowest-cost GIS credential: Monroe Community College Geospatial Information Science and Technology Certificate, $5,352 total for New York residents.
- Online degrees: University at Albany (M.S. in Geographic Information Science), Farmingdale State (B.S. in GIS), and Monroe Community College (Geography A.S., GIST A.A.S.).
- Online graduate certificate: Stony Brook University Advanced Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Science, $7,065 total for residents.
- Ph.D. programs: University at Buffalo, Syracuse University, and the CUNY Graduate Center.
Rates are resident tuition before fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.
New York Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance
Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates at Four-Year Schools
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University at Albany | Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geography | Campus (Albany) | Major: 36 | Introduction to Geospatial Technologies required; Geographic Thought capstone |
| University at Buffalo | B.A. in Geography (Earth Systems Science and Urban and Regional Analysis concentrations) Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geographic Information Science B.S. in AI and Geospatial Analytics | Campus (Buffalo) | B.A. major: 37 GIS B.S.: 37 geography credits plus math and computer science AI B.S.: Not verified | New AI and geospatial B.S. with a capstone |
| Binghamton University | B.A. in Geography (five tracks, including GIS) | Campus (Binghamton) | Major: 40 (10 courses) | GIS track adds programming, raster GIS, and remote sensing |
| SUNY Geneseo | B.A. in Geography | Campus (Geneseo) | Major: 41 | GIS and cartography required; semester program in the Netherlands |
| SUNY Cortland | B.S. in Geographic Information Systems | Campus (Cortland) | 120 total | Three concentrations, including Computer Techniques |
| SUNY New Paltz | B.A. in Geography | Campus (New Paltz) | Major: 42–45 | GIS and Digital Map Design required |
| SUNY Oneonta | B.S. in Geography (General, Advanced GIS, and Sustainable Planning and Development tracks) | Campus (Oneonta) | Major: 30 | Drone (UAV) course option; 4000-level capstone |
| Farmingdale State College | B.S. in Geographic Information Systems | Online or in person | 121–122 total | Practicum and senior seminar or internship |
| Hunter College (CUNY) | B.A. in Geography Spatial Data Science Certificate (undergraduate) | Campus (Manhattan) | Not verified | Digital Mapping and GIScience concentration |
| Lehman College (CUNY) | B.A. in Geography Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate) | Campus (Bronx) | Not verified | Certificate can stand alone or add to a degree |
| Syracuse University | B.A. in Geography | Campus (Syracuse) | Major: 30; 120 total | Community geography and senior thesis options |
| Colgate University | Geography major Environmental Geography major | Campus (Hamilton) | 9 courses / 12 courses | GIS course and senior seminar required |
| Vassar College | Geography major Geography-Anthropology major | Campus (Poughkeepsie) | Geography: 11 units | Senior seminar; GIS methods courses |
| Hofstra University | B.A. in Geography (general or GIS specialization) B.S. in Geographic Information Systems | Campus (Hempstead) | Major: 30 each | B.S. requires an 18-credit professional or technical core |
| U.S. Military Academy | Geography major Geospatial Science major | Campus (West Point) | Not stated | Geospatial Science accredited by USGIF |
Graduate Degrees and Certificates
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University at Albany | Master of Science (M.S.) in Geographic Information Science Certificate of Graduate Study in Geospatial Artificial Intelligence and Big Data Analytics | M.S.: online or campus Certificate: partially online | M.S.: 36 Certificate: 15 | GIS Project Development capstone |
| University at Buffalo | Master of Arts (M.A.) in Geography (GIS concentration available) M.S. in Geography M.S. in Geographic Information Science Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography | In person (Buffalo) | M.A.: 30 M.S.: 36 each Ph.D.: 72 | Funded Ph.D. students receive at least a $20,000 stipend |
| Binghamton University | M.A. in Geography (four tracks, including Cartography and GIS) | Campus (Binghamton) | 40 | Thesis or project; GRE not required |
| Stony Brook University | Advanced Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Science | Fully online | 15 | Can be completed in one year |
| Hunter College (CUNY) | M.A. in Geography M.S. in GeoInformatics Advanced Certificate in GIS | Campus (Manhattan); many evening courses | M.A.: 31 or 36 M.S.: 34 Certificate: 15 | Thesis or exam (M.A.); thesis or internship (M.S.) |
| Lehman College (CUNY) | M.S. in Geographic Information Science Advanced Certificate in Geographic Information Science | Campus (Bronx) | M.S.: 40 Certificate: 17–20 | 8-credit capstone: thesis or applied project with internship |
| CUNY Graduate Center | Ph.D. in Earth and Environmental Sciences (Geography specialization) | Full-time (Manhattan) | Not verified | Most geography courses meet at the Graduate Center |
| Syracuse University | M.A. in Geography Ph.D. in Geography Certificate of Advanced Study (CAS) in GIS and Spatial Analysis | Campus (Syracuse) | M.A.: 30 Ph.D.: 72 CAS: 12 | Ph.D. students fully funded; most M.A. students funded |
Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs and program pages. Minors and microcredentials are not listed.
Community College Degrees and Certificates
| College | Credential | Units | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monroe Community College Rochester | Geography, Associate in Science (A.S.) Geospatial Information Science Technology (GIST), Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) GIST Certificate | A.S.: 61–63 A.A.S.: 61–62 Certificate: 24–25 | All three can be completed 100% online |
| Borough of Manhattan Community College (CUNY) | Geographic Information Science, A.S. | 60 | Not stated (Manhattan) |
| Cayuga Community College Auburn and Fulton | Geographic Information Systems, A.S. | 61 | Not stated |
| Mohawk Valley Community College Utica | Geospatial Technology, A.A.S. | 64 | Not stated |
Monroe’s Geography A.S. follows the SUNY transfer path for geography. BMCC’s A.S. is designed to transfer 60 credits to the Hunter or Lehman geography B.A., and Cayuga has a GIS articulation agreement with SUNY Cortland.
Related Urban Planning Programs
Hunter College’s 48-credit Master of Urban Planning requires an introductory GIS course, and Buffalo State University’s B.S. in Urban and Regional Planning includes courses in GIS. These are planning degrees, not geography or GIS degrees. The University at Albany’s Master of Regional Planning requires a computer applications course but no named GIS course. See our urban planning guide.
Online Geography and GIS Programs in New York
An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.
Verified fully online options
- University at Albany M.S. in Geographic Information Science: listed as “Online or On Campus” on the program page, with a fully online option in the university’s graduate program list.
- Stony Brook University Advanced Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Science: the program says its courses are fully online and that full-time students can complete the certificate remotely in one year.
- Farmingdale State College B.S. in Geographic Information Systems: the program page says it is offered both online and in person, and the college lists it among the online programs eligible for its online out-of-state tuition rate.
- Monroe Community College: the catalog says 100% of the Geography A.S., the GIST A.A.S., and the GIST Certificate can be completed online.
Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program
- University at Albany Geospatial Artificial Intelligence and Big Data Analytics Certificate: the university labels it “Partially Online.”
- University at Buffalo graduate degrees: the Graduate School lists the M.A., M.S., and Ph.D. programs as 100 percent in person.
- Hunter College M.S. in GeoInformatics: many courses meet in the evening, but the program is campus based.
No CUNY geography degree and no private-college geography degree in New York is described as fully online. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.
New York School Summaries
University at Albany
Albany’s Department of Geography, Planning, and Sustainability offers a 36-credit B.A. in Geography. The core is Introduction to the Physical Environment, Introduction to Human Geography, Introduction to Geospatial Technologies, and a Geographic Thought capstone, plus electives from three thematic clusters, with at least 21 elective credits at the 300 level or above.
The 36-credit M.S. in Geographic Information Science can be taken online or on campus. Its core covers spatial statistics, two remote sensing courses, advanced cartography, advanced GIS, and a GIS seminar, and it ends in a GIS Project Development capstone. Applicants submit transcripts and three letters, and fall admission is rolling. The department says there is no departmental assistantship consideration for the program. The 15-credit Certificate of Graduate Study in Geospatial Artificial Intelligence and Big Data Analytics, called Geographic Information Systems and Spatial Analysis before fall 2023, is partially online. The department’s current program list does not include a geography M.A. or Ph.D.
Sources: undergraduate bulletin; M.S. program page; M.S. bulletin; certificate; graduate program list.
University at Buffalo
UB offers a B.A. in Geography (37 geography credits) with optional Earth Systems Science and Urban and Regional Analysis concentrations, and a B.S. in Geographic Information Science that requires 37 geography credits plus a math course and Introduction to Computer Science. GIS majors take cartography, GIS, and multivariate statistics and choose electives such as GIS and Machine Learning, Remote Sensing, and GIS Design. A new B.S. in AI and Geospatial Analytics combines machine learning, GIS, and remote sensing and ends in a capstone.
Graduate options are a 30-credit M.A. in Geography (including a GIS concentration), a 36-credit M.S. in Geography, a 36-credit M.S. in Geographic Information Science that ends in a project or portfolio, and a 72-credit Ph.D. in Geography with concentrations including Geographic Information Science. M.S. GIS applicants should already have calculus, statistics, and introductory GIS. Master’s applicants need a 2.9 GPA and Ph.D. applicants a 3.0, with three letters. The department does not fund master’s students. Most funded Ph.D. students receive a minimum $20,000 stipend and a full tuition scholarship.
Sources: B.A.; GIS B.S.; AI and Geospatial Analytics B.S.; M.S. GIS; Graduate School listing; Ph.D.; admissions; funding.
Binghamton University
Binghamton’s B.A. in Geography is a 10-course (40-credit) major with five tracks: General Geography, Computer Applications in Human-Environmental Analysis (GIS), Environmental and Resource Management, Urban and Regional Planning, and an Urban Economic/Retailing emphasis. The GIS track requires a programming course, Advanced Raster GIS and GPS, GIS and Spatial Analysis, and Remote Sensing and GIS.
The 40-credit M.A. in Geography has four tracks, including Cartography and GIS, and requires a defended thesis or project. Applicants need a 3.0 GPA and two letters; the GRE is not required. Binghamton says master’s students are generally self-funded. A 4+1 B.A./M.A. route is also offered.
Sources: Geography B.A.; Geography M.A.; M.A. admissions; graduate program page.
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook has no geography degree, but its 15-credit Advanced Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Science is offered online. It requires GIS Fundamentals I and II and GIS Project Management, plus two electives such as Geodatabase Design, Applied Spatial Analysis, Remote Sensing, or a GIS internship. Stand-alone applicants need a bachelor’s degree with a 3.0 GPA and two letters; the GRE is not required.
Sources: Advanced Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Science.
SUNY Geneseo
Geneseo’s 41-credit B.A. in Geography requires Human Geography, Physical Geography with a lab, Statistics in Geography, Introduction to GIS, and Cartography, plus 18 credits of advanced electives such as Advanced GIS. Majors finish with a senior seminar that carries the department’s writing requirement. The department also runs a semester program at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands.
Sources: 2026–27 bulletin: Geography B.A..
SUNY Cortland
Cortland’s geography program is now its bachelor’s degree in Geographic Information Systems (120 credits). It combines an 18-credit geography core with a 12-credit GIS core of GIS for Community Planning, Intermediate GIS, and Advanced GIS. Students then choose an Advanced Geospatial Applications, Computer Techniques, or Environmental Science concentration, with options such as GIS programming, web GIS, remote sensing, and an applied geography internship.
Sources: 2026–27 catalog: GIS major.
SUNY New Paltz
New Paltz’s B.A. in Geography is a 42–45 credit major. Its core includes Human, Physical, and Economic Geography, Introduction to GIS, and Digital Map Design, plus a statistics course and a science cognate. Electives include Remote Sensing, GIS Applications, urban planning courses, and an internship.
Sources: 2026–27 catalog: Geography major.
SUNY Oneonta
Oneonta offers a 30-credit B.S. in Geography with General, Advanced GIS, and Sustainable Planning and Development tracks. The core includes two GIS courses, one geospatial technology course (remote sensing, drone operation, or cartography), and a 4000-level capstone. The Advanced GIS track adds environmental applications and advanced methods courses. The major follows the SUNY transfer path for geography.
Sources: 2026–27 catalog: Advanced GIS track.
Farmingdale State College
Farmingdale’s 121–122 credit B.S. in Geographic Information Systems is offered online and in person on Long Island. Required courses include Geovisualization, Spatial Analysis, Geoprocessing, Geodatabase Management, a GIS practicum, and a senior seminar or internship. Electives include remote sensing, location modeling, and drone mapping. The college says the degree counts toward the education requirement for GIS Professional (GISP) certification.
Sources: GIS B.S. curriculum.
Hunter College (CUNY)
Hunter’s B.A. in Geography offers three concentrations: Cities and Globalization, Digital Mapping and Geographic Information Science, and Sustainability. Hunter also has an undergraduate Spatial Data Science Certificate that covers GIS, Python, and machine learning for students in any major.
The M.A. in Geography takes 31 credits (thesis) or 36 credits (exam). Applicants need a B-minus average and two letters. The 34-credit M.S. in GeoInformatics requires courses in GeoComputation, remote sensing, and advanced geoinformatics and ends in a thesis or internship. Its applicants need a 3.0 GPA, GRE scores, two letters, and prior statistics and programming. The 15-credit Advanced Certificate in GIS requires Introduction to GIS and Advanced Geoinformatics plus three electives. Hunter says many courses meet in the evening.
Sources: Geography B.A.; Spatial Data Science Certificate; Geography M.A.; GeoInformatics M.S.; GIS certificate.
Lehman College (CUNY)
Lehman’s Department of Earth, Environmental and Geospatial Sciences offers a B.A. in Geography and an undergraduate Geographic Information Science Certificate, which the college says can stand alone or supplement a bachelor’s or associate degree.
The 40-credit M.S. in Geographic Information Science has four core courses, five or six electives, and an 8-credit capstone: a traditional thesis or an applied research project combined with an internship. The 17–20 credit Advanced Certificate in Geographic Information Science is aimed at working professionals, and its courses can later count toward the M.S.
Sources: Geography B.A.; GIS certificate; M.S. in GIScience; advanced certificate.
CUNY Graduate Center
The Graduate Center’s full-time Ph.D. in Earth and Environmental Sciences has a Geography specialization, with faculty in geography, geology, atmospheric science, and environmental psychology. Students take four or five core courses, and most geography courses meet at the Graduate Center in Manhattan. Admission is for fall only, with a December 15 deadline. CUNY’s geography master’s degrees are at Hunter and Lehman.
Sources: Earth and Environmental Sciences program.
Syracuse University
Syracuse’s B.A. in Geography requires at least 30 geography credits, 18 of them upper division, within a 120-credit degree. Majors can do community-based research, internships, and senior theses.
The Maxwell School’s 30-credit M.A. in Geography ends in a thesis or two master’s papers with a formal defense, and the catalog says most M.A. students are fully funded. The 72-credit Ph.D. in Geography covers human, nature-society, community, and physical geography and geospatial methods, and its students are fully funded. The 12-credit CAS in GIS and Spatial Analysis requires a GIS course plus three electives such as Remote Sensing and GeoAI, Map Design, and drone applications.
Sources: Geography B.A.; Geography M.A.; Geography Ph.D.; CAS in GIS and Spatial Analysis.
Colgate University
Colgate’s nine-course Geography major requires two introductory courses, Geography of the Physical Environment, Geographic Information Systems with its lab, four electives, and a senior seminar. The 12-course Environmental Geography major pairs five environmental studies courses with seven geography courses and a student-chosen theme, such as GIS or climatology.
Sources: Geography major; Environmental Geography major.
Vassar College
Vassar’s Department of Earth Science and Geography offers a Geography major of 11 units, including one methods course (Cartography with GIS, GIS: Spatial Analysis, or a research methods course), eight electives, a senior seminar, and an intensive. An interdisciplinary Geography-Anthropology major is also offered.
Sources: Geography major; Geography-Anthropology major.
Hofstra University
Hofstra’s 30-credit B.A. in Geography can be taken as a general major or with a GIS specialization, and requires Introduction to Digital Mapping and a methodology seminar. The B.S. in Geographic Information Systems has a 30-credit major built on intermediate and advanced GIS, plus math, natural science, and methods courses. B.S. students also complete an 18-credit professional, scientific, or technical core outside geography, such as a minor or second major.
Sources: Geography B.A.; GIS B.S..
U.S. Military Academy at West Point
West Point’s Department of Geography and Earth Sciences offers a Geography major covering human, physical, and human-environment geography with GIS and remote sensing, and a Geospatial Science major. The geospatial program is recognized by the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency as a Center of Academic Excellence and is accredited by the U.S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation (USGIF). Tuition, room, and board are covered. Graduates serve at least five years on active duty as Army officers, plus three years in the reserve component.
Sources: Geography major; Geospatial Science major; tuition and service commitment.
Community Colleges
Monroe Community College in Rochester offers three geography programs that its catalog says can be completed 100% online. The Geography A.S. is a transfer degree. The GIST A.A.S. includes web mapping, scripting, an internship, a capstone, and a portfolio. The 24–25 credit GIST Certificate covers cartography, remote sensing, and spatial analysis and ends in a capstone.
Borough of Manhattan Community College is the only CUNY community college with a GIS degree. Its Geographic Information Science A.S. is designed to transfer 60 credits to the Hunter or Lehman geography B.A., and students have interned with city and federal agencies. Cayuga Community College offers a 61-credit GIS A.S., and Mohawk Valley Community College offers a 64-credit Geospatial Technology A.A.S. that pairs GIS with surveying, GPS, and CAD courses and ends in a GIS capstone.
Sources: Monroe Geography A.S.; Monroe GIST A.A.S.; Monroe GIST Certificate; BMCC GIS A.S.; Cayuga GIS A.S.; Mohawk Valley Geospatial Technology A.A.S..
Schools not included
- Registered with the state but not in current catalogs: Buffalo State’s Geography B.A., Environmental Geography B.S., and GIS certificate; SUNY Cortland’s Geography B.A.; SUNY Potsdam’s Geographic Information Science B.S.; Onondaga Community College’s Geospatial Science and Technology A.A.S.; and Paul Smith’s College’s GIS certificate. The College of Staten Island’s Geography B.A. also appears in the state inventory, but no current program page was found.
- No geography- or GIS-named credential: Columbia, New York University, Cornell, Fordham, and the University of Rochester. Brooklyn College, Queens College, and City College teach geography within earth and environmental science programs.
- Minors or microcredentials only: SUNY Plattsburgh (Geography and Applied GIS minors), SUNY Potsdam (an 8-credit GIS microcredential), and Buffalo State (a Geospatial Techniques microcredential). Geneseo’s GIS microcredential and Farmingdale’s geospatial microcredential are also not listed.
- Related but not geography- or GIS-named: SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry offers Geospatial Engineering as a study area within its Environmental Resources Engineering M.P.S., M.S., and Ph.D. Pratt Institute has an advanced certificate in Spatial Analysis and Design.
- Surveying programs: Alfred State’s B.S. in Surveying and Geomatics Engineering Technology focuses on surveying, not GIS.
Tuition Comparison
Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.
Undergraduate and associate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University at Albany B.A. in Geography | $7,070 per year (resident, 12+ credits) $29,130 per year (out-of-state) | One academic year | $7,070 resident per year $29,130 out-of-state per year | $3,646 per year |
| University at Buffalo B.A. and B.S. degrees | $3,535 per semester (resident) $14,535 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $7,070 resident per year $29,070 nonresident per year | $1,982.77 per semester |
| Binghamton University B.A. in Geography | $3,535 per semester (resident) $14,920 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $7,070 resident per year $29,840 nonresident per year | $1,758.50 per semester |
| SUNY Geneseo B.A. in Geography | $3,535 per semester (resident) $9,165 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $7,070 resident per year $18,330 nonresident per year | $982.50 per semester |
| SUNY Cortland B.S. in GIS | $3,535 per semester (resident) $8,590 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $7,070 resident per year $17,180 nonresident per year | $902 per semester; new student fee $175 or $140 for transfers |
| SUNY New Paltz B.A. in Geography | $3,535 per semester (resident) $8,835 per semester (out-of-state) | Two semesters | $7,070 resident per year $17,670 out-of-state per year | $750.75 per semester |
| SUNY Oneonta B.S. in Geography | $7,070 per year (resident) $18,020 per year (out-of-state) | One academic year | $7,070 resident per year $18,020 out-of-state per year | $1,761 per year |
| Farmingdale State College B.S. in GIS | $3,535 per semester (resident) $8,780 per semester (nonresident, campus) $4,240 per semester (nonresident, online program) | Two semesters | $7,070 resident per year $17,560 nonresident per year $8,480 online nonresident per year | $768 per semester for campus students |
| Hunter College and Lehman College (CUNY) B.A. in Geography | $3,465 per semester (resident) $620 per credit (nonresident) | Resident: two semesters Nonresident: 30 credits | $6,930 resident per year $18,600 nonresident per year | $125 technology fee and $15 consolidated fee per semester, plus a college activity fee of about $60–$180 |
| Syracuse University B.A. in Geography | $34,590 per semester (12–19 credits) | Two semesters | $69,180 per year | Health and wellness fee of $454 per semester; student activity fee |
| Colgate University Geography majors | $76,828 per year | One academic year | $76,828 per year | $462 student activity fee per year |
| Vassar College Geography majors | $76,140 per year | One academic year | $76,140 per year | $380 student activity fee and $640 health service fee per year |
| Hofstra University B.A. in Geography; B.S. in GIS | $30,468 per term (12–17 credits) | Two terms | $60,936 per year | University, technology, and activity fees each term |
| U.S. Military Academy Geography and Geospatial Science majors | No tuition; room and board also covered | Service commitment of at least five years on active duty | $0 | None charged; a cadet salary covers other fees |
| Monroe Community College Geography A.S.; GIST A.A.S. | $2,675 per semester (New York resident, full-time) $5,350 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $5,350 resident per year $10,700 nonresident per year | $782 per semester (student life, technology, transportation, and capital fees) |
| Monroe Community College GIST Certificate | $223 per credit (resident, part-time) $446 per credit (nonresident) | 24 credits | $5,352 resident total $10,704 nonresident total | Fees scale by credit load |
| Borough of Manhattan Community College (CUNY) GIS A.S. | $2,400 per semester (New York City resident, full-time) $210 per credit (resident, part-time) $320 per credit (nonresident) | Resident: two semesters Nonresident: 30 credits | $4,800 resident per year $9,600 nonresident per year | $125 technology fee and $15 consolidated fee per semester, plus an activity fee |
| Cayuga Community College GIS A.S. | $2,808 per semester (resident) $5,616 per semester (out-of-state) | Two semesters | $5,616 resident per year $11,232 out-of-state per year | $17 activity fee and $32 technology fee per credit |
| Mohawk Valley Community College Geospatial Technology A.A.S. | $2,740 per semester (resident) $4,110 per semester (out-of-state) | Two semesters | $5,480 resident per year $8,220 out-of-state per year | $515 per semester (support, activity, and technology fees) |
Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.
Graduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University at Albany (campus) M.S. in GIScience; graduate certificate | $5,655 per semester at 12 credits (resident) $13,245 per semester (out-of-state) | Two semesters | $11,310 resident per year $26,490 out-of-state per year | $1,299 per semester |
| University at Albany (online) M.S. in GIScience | $6,785 per semester at 12 credits, resident or out-of-state | 36 credits as three 12-credit semesters | $20,355 total | $882.50 per semester |
| University at Buffalo M.A., M.S., and Ph.D. | $471 per credit (resident) $13,255 per semester, full-time (nonresident) | Resident: 36-credit M.S. Nonresident: two semesters | $16,956 resident total (M.S.) $26,510 nonresident per year | $1,659.86 per semester. Funded Ph.D. students receive a tuition scholarship. |
| Binghamton University M.A. in Geography | $5,655 per semester (resident) $13,565 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $11,310 resident per year $27,130 nonresident per year | $1,320 per semester |
| Stony Brook University (online) Advanced Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Science | $471 per credit (resident) $1,158 per credit (nonresident) | 15 credits | $7,065 resident total $17,370 nonresident total | Campus fees vary by credit load |
| Hunter College (CUNY) M.S. in GeoInformatics; M.A. in Geography | $470 per credit (resident) $855 per credit (nonresident) | M.S. 34 credits; M.A. 31 credits (thesis option) | M.S.: $15,980 resident total; $29,070 nonresident total M.A.: $14,570 resident total; $26,505 nonresident total | Technology, consolidated, and activity fees each semester |
| Hunter College and Lehman College (CUNY) Advanced certificates in GIS | $470 per credit (resident) $855 per credit (nonresident) | Hunter 15 credits; Lehman 17–20 credits | Hunter: $7,050 resident total; $12,825 nonresident total Lehman: $7,990–$9,400 resident total | Technology, consolidated, and activity fees each semester |
| Lehman College (CUNY) M.S. in GIScience | $470 per credit (resident) $855 per credit (nonresident) | 40 credits | $18,800 resident total $34,200 nonresident total | Technology, consolidated, and activity fees each semester |
| Syracuse University M.A. in Geography; CAS in GIS and Spatial Analysis | $2,086 per credit | M.A. 30 credits; CAS 12 credits | M.A.: $62,580 total CAS: $25,032 total | Health and wellness fee for full-time students. Ph.D. students are fully funded. |
Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.
Why some rates do not compare directly
- SUNY resident tuition is the same at every state-operated campus, but nonresident tuition and campus fees vary. Out-of-state undergraduates pay $17,180–$18,330 a year at the SUNY colleges listed here and $29,070–$29,840 at Albany, Buffalo, and Binghamton.
- Some SUNY campuses charge out-of-state students a lower rate in programs designated as fully online: Albany’s online M.S. costs the same for residents and nonresidents, and Farmingdale charges online B.S. in GIS students $4,240 per semester.
- CUNY’s rates are set systemwide. Its tuition page lists 2026–27 cost-of-attendance budgets alongside these rates, and college activity fees vary by campus.
- Community college resident rates require proof of New York residency, and Cayuga charges its fees per credit.
- The CUNY Graduate Center Ph.D. is not in the table because program-level tuition and funding were not verified.
How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in New York
Broad geography or technical GIS
Geography B.A. programs at Albany, Binghamton, Geneseo, New Paltz, Hunter, Lehman, Syracuse, and the private colleges cover human and physical geography with required GIS or mapping courses. More technical bachelor’s options include UB’s GIScience and AI and Geospatial Analytics degrees, Cortland’s and Farmingdale’s GIS degrees, Hofstra’s B.S. in GIS, and West Point’s Geospatial Science major. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.
Starting at a community college
Monroe’s Geography A.S. follows the SUNY transfer path, BMCC’s GIS A.S. is built to transfer to Hunter or Lehman, and Cayuga has a GIS agreement with Cortland. Community college tuition runs $4,800–$5,616 a year for residents. Compare bachelor’s programs nationally.
Master’s or Ph.D.
Research-oriented geography master’s degrees are at Buffalo, Binghamton, Hunter, and Syracuse, and GIS-focused master’s degrees are at Albany, Buffalo, Hunter, and Lehman. Ph.D. options are at Buffalo, Syracuse, and the CUNY Graduate Center. Students considering a Ph.D. should check research preparation and admissions requirements. A thesis can help demonstrate research experience. See master’s programs.
Online or campus
Albany’s M.S. in GIScience is the only verified fully online geography or GIS master’s degree in New York, and Stony Brook offers a fully online graduate certificate. At the undergraduate level, Farmingdale’s B.S. in GIS and Monroe’s associate degrees and certificate can be completed online. See online geography schools.
Funding
- Syracuse: Ph.D. students are fully funded, and the catalog says most M.A. students are fully funded.
- University at Buffalo: most funded Ph.D. students receive at least a $20,000 stipend and a full tuition scholarship. The department does not fund master’s students at admission.
- Albany and Binghamton: Albany offers no departmental assistantships for its M.S. or certificate, and Binghamton says master’s students are generally self-funded.
Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont, or browse all state guides.
Sources and Review Date
Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages. The starting school list was checked against the New York State Education Department’s Inventory of Registered Programs. Tuition comes from each system’s or school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule unless a row notes otherwise.
- SUNY university centers: Albany undergraduate, Albany graduate, Albany online, Buffalo, Binghamton, Stony Brook graduate rates
- SUNY colleges: Geneseo, Cortland, New Paltz, Oneonta, Farmingdale
- CUNY: tuition and fees
- Private colleges: Syracuse, Colgate, Vassar, Hofstra
- Community colleges: Monroe, Cayuga, Mohawk Valley
Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.