State guide · Reviewed October 14, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Massachusetts Geography Degree Programs

Compare 14 Massachusetts schools with geography and GIS programs, from GIS certificates to a Clark Ph.D., with 2026–27 tuition and online options.

Massachusetts has 14 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials. They include 6 public universities (UMass Amherst and five state universities), 6 private universities and colleges, and 2 community colleges with GIS certificates. The only geography-named Ph.D. is at Clark University. No school offers a geography or GIS degree it describes as fully online, but Bridgewater State, Northeastern, and Harvard Extension School offer online GIS certificates.

Quick picks for Massachusetts

Rates are for Massachusetts residents. At Massachusetts public colleges, mandatory fees are larger than tuition, so fees are shown here. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates.


Massachusetts Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates at Universities

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
UMass AmherstBachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geography (six concentrations, including GIST)
Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geography
Geographic Information Science and Technology (GIST) Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Amherst)Majors: Not verified
Certificate: 5 courses, minimum 15
GIST concentration within the B.A.
Salem StateB.A. and B.S. in Geography (two B.S. concentrations)
B.S. in Cartography and Geographic Information Systems
B.S.-M.S. in Cartography and GIS
Certificate in GIS (undergraduate)
Campus (Salem)120 per bachelor’s (major 33–45; Cartography and GIS 36–39)
B.S.-M.S.: 138
Certificate: 15
Bachelor’s named for cartography and GIS
Bridgewater StateB.S. in Geography (two concentrations)
B.A. in Geography (two concentrations)
GIS Foundations Undergraduate Certificate
Campus (Bridgewater)120 minimum (major 31–51)
Certificate: 9
Internship, field, research, or study abroad course in the B.S.
Worcester StateGeography major with five concentrations, including Geographic Information SystemsCampus (Worcester)120 (GIS concentration major: 45)Independent study, research, or internship in the GIS concentration
Framingham StateB.A. in Geospatial and Data AnalysisCampus (Framingham)15 major courses; 120 semester hours to graduateCenter for GIS Outreach projects with public agencies
Fitchburg StateB.A. and B.S. in Geographic Science and TechnologyCampus (Fitchburg)Major: 36 minimumUp to 12 internship credits count toward the major
Clark UniversityB.A. in Geography
Accelerated B.A./M.S. in Geographic Information Science
Campus (Worcester)Major: 11 geography coursesClark advertises a 100% tuition scholarship for the accelerated master’s year
Mount Holyoke CollegeB.A. in GeographyCampus (South Hadley)Major: 36 minimum; 128 to graduateGIS course required in the major
Boston UniversityBachelor’s-to-master’s in Remote Sensing and Geospatial Sciences (for Earth and Environmental Sciences or Environmental Analysis and Policy majors)Campus (Boston)Up to 8 master’s units shared with the bachelor’sNo geography-named bachelor’s degree

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
Clark UniversityMaster of Science (M.S.) in Geographic Information Science
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography
Executive Doctor of Geospatial Leadership (first cohort summer 2027)
Campus; executive doctorate primarily online with residenciesM.S.: 10 or 12 course units, by track
Ph.D.: 8 semesters of credit
Executive doctorate: 12 courses
Only geography-named Ph.D. in the state
UMass AmherstM.S. in Geography (thesis or non-thesis)
One-year M.S. in Geography, GIST concentration
Dual Master of Regional Planning / M.S. in Geography
CampusOne-year M.S.: 30
Others: Not verified
One-year M.S. ends in a 180-hour practicum; GRE not considered
Boston UniversityM.S. in Remote Sensing and Geospatial SciencesCampus; fall start32 (eight courses)Designed for one year; no thesis; GRE optional
Salem StateM.S. in Geo-Information Science
Geo-Information Science Certificate (graduate)
Not statedM.S.: 30–32
Certificate: 15
Certificate courses can lead directly into the M.S.
Bridgewater StateGIS Foundations Graduate CertificateOnline6Can be completed in eight months
Northeastern UniversityGraduate Certificate in Geographic Information SystemsOnline12 semester hoursCompletion in 6–12 months
Tufts UniversityCertificate in Geographic Information Science (graduate)Hybrid (Medford/Somerville)12Part time over 3 to 4 semesters
Harvard Extension SchoolGeographic Information Systems (GIS) Microcertificate (graduate credit)Online2 coursesNo application required

Community College GIS Credentials

CollegeCredentialCreditsFormat
Bristol Community College
Fall River
Geographic Information Systems Certificate (Certificate of Recognition)12Not on Bristol’s online or hybrid certificate lists
Bunker Hill Community College
Boston
Geographic Information Systems Certificate27–28 (sum of the two semesters)On campus required for the GIS-224 lab

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs, except Fitchburg State (2025–26, the latest published). Minors are not listed. The other 13 community colleges offer GIS courses at most, and no college catalog lists a geography transfer pathway.

Related Urban Planning Programs

These planning degrees require a GIS course but are not geography or GIS degrees.

  • UMass Amherst Master of Regional Planning: 48 credits, with RP 625 Geographic Information Systems in the required core. It can be combined with the M.S. in Geography as a dual degree.
  • MIT Master in City Planning: 150 units, including a thesis. Introduction to Spatial Analysis and GIS is a program requirement, though students can test out and replace the units with electives.

See our urban planning guide.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Massachusetts

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the credential is offered online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.

Verified fully online options

  • Bridgewater State: the catalog describes the GIS Foundations Graduate Certificate as “a 6-credit online graduate program.”
  • Northeastern University: the Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Systems is listed with Online as its program type and campus location. It does not meet F-1 visa requirements.
  • Harvard Extension School: the GIS Microcertificate is labeled “(Online)” and takes two courses.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • Tufts Certificate in Geographic Information Science: listed as hybrid. Courses are offered in the evenings, on weekends, and online.
  • Clark Executive Doctor of Geospatial Leadership: “delivered primarily online,” with two one-week, in-person residencies per year. The first cohort begins in summer 2027.

No Massachusetts school offers a geography or GIS degree that it describes as fully online. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Massachusetts School Summaries

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Geography at UMass Amherst is part of the Department of Earth, Geographic and Climate Sciences. The B.A. in Geography has six concentrations: Human Geography, Urban Geography, Climate Change and Society, Globalization and International Studies, Environmental Geography and Sustainability, and Geographic Information Science and Technology (GIST). The B.S. in Geography focuses on physical and environmental change, with a foundation in math, chemistry, physics, geology, and computer science. The GIST Certificate takes five courses and at least 15 credits.

The M.S. in Geography has thesis and non-thesis tracks and is designed to take two years. A 30-credit one-year M.S. with a GIST concentration runs from fall through spring and ends with a 6-credit, 180-hour practicum or internship, usually in summer. The program says it does not consider GRE scores. Some UMass pages still call the one-year degree “proposed,” although it lists 2027 application deadlines. A dual Master of Regional Planning / M.S. in Geography is also offered. There is no geography-named doctorate; geography students take the Ph.D. in Geosciences.

Sources: 2026–27 undergraduate guide; Geography B.A.; GIST Certificate; one-year M.S.; GIST M.S. program details; Geosciences Ph.D..


Clark University

Clark’s B.A. in Geography requires 11 geography courses across human-environment, earth system science, globalization and cities, and GIScience, plus a capstone. Eligible majors can enter the accelerated B.A./M.S. in Geographic Information Science; Clark’s program page advertises a 100% tuition scholarship for the fifth year.

The M.S. in Geographic Information Science has a research track (12 course units, research paper, and conference presentation) and an internship track (10 units and a summer internship). Areas of study are GIS for Development and Environment, Conservation Applications, and Environmental Remote Sensing. The Ph.D. in Geography includes doctoral exams and a dissertation; admitted students receive tuition remission and an assistantship for eight semesters. Clark’s new Executive Doctor of Geospatial Leadership is a low-residency program whose first cohort begins in summer 2027. Clark also awards an M.A. in Geography, but only to students already in the Ph.D.

Sources: Geography major; GIScience M.S.; Geography Ph.D.; accelerated B.A./M.S.; Executive Doctor of Geospatial Leadership.


Boston University

BU’s Department of Earth and Environment offers the M.S. in Remote Sensing and Geospatial Sciences, at least 32 units in eight courses: three core courses (including GIS) and five electives. BU says it is “designed to be complete in one year,” has no thesis, and starts in the fall; the GRE is optional and part-time study is possible. Students majoring in Earth and Environmental Sciences or Environmental Analysis and Policy can take a bachelor’s-to-master’s version. BU has no geography-named bachelor’s degree, and its Ph.D. is in Earth and Environment.

Sources: M.S. program page; bulletin; program FAQ; bachelor’s-to-master’s.


Salem State University

Salem State’s geography majors share a 15-credit core that includes GIS and a geographic research sequence. The B.A. in Geography (42 major credits) requires a world language and a minor; the B.S. in Geography is offered in general, Environmental Sustainability, and Sustainable Tourism versions. The B.S. in Cartography and Geographic Information Systems (36–39 major credits) has electives in GIS programming and internships. A combined B.S.-M.S. in Cartography and GIS totals 138 credits. A 15-credit undergraduate Certificate in GIS is also offered.

At the graduate level, the M.S. in Geo-Information Science (30–32 credits) ends in a thesis or a GIS seminar capstone, with an optional GIS practicum. The 15-credit graduate Geo-Information Science Certificate takes five courses; students who earn a 3.0 in three certificate courses can move directly into the M.S.

Sources: Cartography and GIS B.S.; Geography B.A.; GIS certificate; Geo-Information Science M.S.; graduate certificate.


Bridgewater State University

Bridgewater offers a B.S. in Geography with Environmental Planning and Conservation or Environmental Sustainability and Climate Resilience concentrations, and a B.A. in Geography with Sustainable Global Systems or Geography for Educators concentrations. Every version includes a maps and geodata course and a senior seminar, and the B.S. adds a required field, research, internship, or study abroad course. The 9-credit GIS Foundations Undergraduate Certificate covers GIS and remote sensing or spatial analysis.

The 6-credit GIS Foundations Graduate Certificate is online, can be completed in eight months, and prepares students for an Esri foundation-level certification exam. Bridgewater has no geography or GIS master’s degree.

Sources: geography programs; undergraduate certificate; graduate certificate.


Worcester State University

Worcester State’s Geography major has an 18-credit core ending in a geography seminar, plus one of five concentrations: General Geography, Environmental Studies, Geographic Information Systems, Earth System Science, or Earth Science Education. The 45-credit GIS concentration adds two GIS courses, an independent study, research, or internship, electives, and computer science and math courses. The catalog does not say whether the degree is a B.A. or B.S.

Sources: Geography and Earth Sciences catalog.


Framingham State University

Framingham State’s B.A. in Geospatial and Data Analysis takes 15 major courses, including GIS, cartography, remote sensing, statistics, and a capstone with a thesis. Electives include an internship, drones, and Python. Framingham counts courses rather than credits; graduation takes at least 30 course-credits, equal to 120 semester hours. Its Center for GIS Outreach connects students with projects for MassDOT and the Town of Wellesley. The former geography major is no longer listed; geography is now a minor.

Sources: catalog; program page.


Fitchburg State University

Fitchburg State offers a B.A. and a B.S. in Geographic Science and Technology, each with at least 36 major credits (18 required and 18 elective) plus computer science and math cognates. Up to 12 internship credits can count toward the major, and the B.A. requires intermediate foreign-language proficiency. Fitchburg’s newest published catalog is 2025–26.

Sources: B.A.; B.S..


Mount Holyoke College

Mount Holyoke’s B.A. in Geography, in the Department of Geology and Geography, requires at least 36 credits. These include an introductory geography course, a geology course, a GIS course, four 200-level courses, and two 300-level seminars. The college requires 128 credits to graduate.

Sources: Geography program; degree requirements.


Northeastern University

Northeastern’s College of Professional Studies offers an online Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Systems of 12 semester hours, in six two-credit courses. It enrolls full- or part-time students in fall or spring and takes 6–12 months. The courses can also be applied to a professional studies master’s. Northeastern’s former GIS master’s no longer appears in the 2026–27 catalog.

Sources: catalog; program page.


Tufts University

Tufts’ Department of Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning offers a 12-credit Certificate in Geographic Information Science: introductory and advanced GIS plus two electives. It is designed for part-time study of 3–6 credits per semester and “can be completed in 3 to 4 semesters.” Tufts lists the format as hybrid. A related Certificate in Spatial Data Analytics is also offered.

Sources: admissions page; department page.


Harvard Extension School

Harvard Extension School’s online Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Microcertificate takes two graduate-credit courses: Introduction to GIS plus either Remote Sensing or Project Work in Remote Sensing. No application is required. Students need at least a B in each course and must finish within two years; Harvard says the program takes 8 months to 2 years. Harvard University itself offers no geography degree.

Sources: GIS Microcertificate.


Bristol Community College

Bristol’s 12-credit Geographic Information Systems Certificate takes four courses over two semesters: Introduction to Geography, computer skills, Introduction to GIS, and Applications of GIS. The courses also apply to Bristol’s Environmental Technology degree.

Sources: GIS certificate.


Bunker Hill Community College

Bunker Hill’s two-semester Geographic Information Systems Certificate includes Python programming, introductory and advanced GIS, remote sensing, and a GIS capstone or paid internship. Students must be on campus for the introductory GIS lab. The catalog notes that the certificate “is not yet eligible for federal or state financial aid,” which includes free community college benefits.

Sources: GIS certificate.


Schools not included

  • UMass Boston offers only a Geospatial Analysis and Modeling minor; its former GIS certificate is not in the 2026–27 catalogs. Westfield State offers geography and GIS minors only. UMass Lowell and UMass Dartmouth have no geography or GIS credential.
  • Boston College, Brandeis, Smith, Amherst, Wellesley, Holy Cross, and Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts offer GIS courses, labs, or related environmental programs, but no geography or GIS credential. MIT is listed only under planning.
  • Community colleges: Berkshire, Cape Cod, Holyoke, and Mount Wachusett offer a GIS course within science programs, but no GIS credential. Greenfield, MassBay, Massasoit, Middlesex, North Shore, Northern Essex, Quinsigamond, Roxbury, and Springfield Technical have no GIS credential.
  • Franklin Cummings Tech offers land surveying courses that touch on GIS, not a GIS credential.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs. At Massachusetts public colleges, required fees are much larger than tuition, so read both columns.

Undergraduate and certificate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
UMass Amherst
Geography B.A. and B.S.
$9,108.50 per semester (resident)
$21,152 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters at 12+ credits$18,217 resident per year
$42,304 nonresident per year
$995 per year (student activities and technology fees); $500 one-time new student fee
Salem State
Geography and Cartography and GIS bachelor’s degrees
$37.92 per credit (resident)
$293.75 per credit (nonresident)
24 credits per year$910.08 resident per year
$7,050 nonresident per year
$12,179.52 per year (resident); $13,669.20 per year (nonresident)
Bridgewater State
Geography bachelor’s degrees
About $910 per year (resident)
Nonresident tuition not published separately
One academic yearAbout $910 resident per year
$18,930 nonresident tuition and fees combined per year
$11,880 per year (resident)
Worcester State
Geography major
$970 per year (resident)
$7,050 per year (nonresident)
One academic year$970 resident per year
$7,050 nonresident per year
$11,824 per year
Framingham State
Geospatial and Data Analysis B.A.
$970 per year (resident)
$7,050 per year (nonresident)
One academic year$970 resident per year
$7,050 nonresident per year
$11,620 per year
Fitchburg State
Geographic Science and Technology B.A./B.S.
$970 per year (resident)
$7,050 per year (nonresident)
One academic year$970 resident per year
$7,050 nonresident per year
$10,916 per year (resident total with tuition: $11,886)
Clark University
Geography B.A.
$62,070 per year, same for residents and nonresidentsOne academic year$62,070 per year$1,140 per year (activity and health fees); one-time orientation fee
Mount Holyoke College
Geography B.A.
$71,178 per yearOne academic year$71,178 per year$272 per year student activity fee
Bristol Community College
GIS Certificate
$24 per credit (resident)
$230 per credit (nonresident)
12 credits$288 resident total
$2,760 nonresident total
$230 per credit college fee ($2,760 total); $37 student support fee
Bunker Hill Community College
GIS Certificate
$24 per credit (resident)
$230 per credit (nonresident)
27–28 credits$648–$672 resident total
$6,210–$6,440 nonresident total
$265 per credit in course, technology, and books fees ($7,155–$7,420 total)

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise. Bridgewater publishes resident tuition as “approximately $910” and its nonresident figure only as a tuition-and-fees total.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
UMass Amherst
M.S. in Geography
$8,083 per semester (resident, 9 credits)
$17,806.50 per semester (nonresident, 9 credits)
Two semesters at 9 credits$16,166 resident per year
$35,613 nonresident per year
$1,191 per semester (service, health, and senate fees)
UMass Amherst
One-year M.S., GIST concentration
Program estimate: about $17,000 tuition for 30 credits (resident)30 creditsAbout $17,000 resident totalAbout $2,200 in mandatory fees (program estimate)
Boston University
M.S. in Remote Sensing and Geospatial Sciences
$73,024 per year (full time)
$2,282 per credit (part time)
One full-time year$73,024 total$524 per semester (student services and health fees)
Clark University
M.S. in Geographic Information Science
$5,075 per course unit10 units (internship track) or 12 units (research track)$50,750 or $60,900 total$900 per semester (service, technology, and student council fees); $125 orientation
Salem State
M.S. and graduate certificate in Geo-Information Science
$140 per credit (resident)
$230 per credit (nonresident)
M.S. 30 credits; certificate 15M.S.: $4,200 resident, $6,900 nonresident total
Certificate: $2,100 resident, $3,450 nonresident total
$405.60 per credit (resident); $416.40 per credit (nonresident)
Bridgewater State
GIS Foundations Graduate Certificate
$70 per credit6 credits$420 total$489.75 per credit ($2,938.50 total)
Northeastern University
GIS Graduate Certificate
Estimated total tuition $15,10812 semester hours$15,108 totalNot stated
Tufts University
Certificate in Geographic Information Science
$1,049 per credit12 credits$12,588 totalNot stated
Harvard Extension School
GIS Microcertificate
$3,580 per graduate-credit course2 courses$7,160 totalNot stated for the microcertificate; $40 per term payment-plan fee if used

Rates are 2026–27. Clark Ph.D. students receive tuition remission, so Ph.D. tuition is not shown.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • Massachusetts state universities charge low tuition and large mandatory fees, so resident tuition and fees together run about $11,900 to $13,100 per year.
  • UMass Amherst graduate tuition is not a flat per-credit rate: it rises by credit up to 8 credits, then jumps to a full-time rate at 9 credits.
  • Clark, Mount Holyoke, BU, Northeastern, Tufts, and Harvard Extension charge the same tuition to residents and nonresidents.
  • MassEducate covers community college tuition and fees for eligible Massachusetts residents enrolled in at least 6 credits per term in an eligible program. Bunker Hill says its GIS certificate is not yet eligible for state or federal aid.
  • Students from other New England states may qualify for reduced regional rates at Massachusetts public colleges.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Massachusetts

Broad geography or technical GIS

UMass Amherst, Bridgewater, Worcester State, Clark, and Mount Holyoke offer geography majors with GIS coursework. More technical options include Salem State’s B.S. in Cartography and GIS, Fitchburg State’s Geographic Science and Technology degrees, and Framingham State’s Geospatial and Data Analysis B.A. Read more about GIScience degrees and bachelor’s programs.

Master’s or Ph.D.

For a fast professional degree, BU and UMass Amherst offer one-year GIS-focused master’s programs, and Salem State’s M.S. has the lowest published per-credit tuition. Clark’s M.S. offers a research or internship track. Clark is the only school with a Ph.D. in Geography; UMass Amherst and BU route geography research through broader earth science doctorates. See master’s programs.

Online or campus

Every geography and GIS degree in Massachusetts is campus-based. Working professionals can take an online GIS certificate at Bridgewater State, Northeastern, or Harvard Extension, or the hybrid certificate at Tufts. For online degrees elsewhere, see online geography schools.

Starting with a certificate

Bristol and Bunker Hill community colleges offer GIS certificates that also count toward their environmental degrees. Salem State’s graduate certificate can lead directly into its M.S. Check aid eligibility first, since some short certificates do not qualify.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, Vermont, and Rhode Island, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages, except Fitchburg State (2025–26 catalog). Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.