State guide · Reviewed October 14, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Texas Geography Degree Programs

Compare 26 Texas schools with geography and GIS programs, from community college certificates to Ph.D.s, with online options and 2026–27 tuition.

Texas has 26 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: 16 public universities, 1 private university, and 9 community colleges. The list was checked against the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board program inventory and each school’s own catalog. Doctoral programs are at UT Austin, Texas A&M, Texas State, and UT Dallas. Fully online options include bachelor’s degrees at Texas State, UTSA, Tarleton State, and Texas A&M–Corpus Christi; graduate degrees and certificates at UT Dallas, Texas A&M, and Texas State; and GIS associate degrees and certificates at Houston City College. Most other programs are campus-based.

Quick picks for Texas

  • Online bachelor’s degrees: Texas State (B.S. in Geography and Environmental Studies, $407 per credit), UTSA (B.A. in Geography and Environmental Sustainability), Tarleton State (Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences in GIS), and Texas A&M–Corpus Christi (B.S. in Geospatial Science).
  • Online GIS master’s degrees: UT Dallas (M.S. in Geospatial Information Sciences) and Texas A&M (Master of Geoscience, about $10,328 in resident tuition for 36 credits).
  • Low-cost certificates: Collin College GIS Level 1 Certificate ($1,105 in-district tuition for 17 credits, 2025–26 rate) and Tyler Junior College Surveying and Geomatics Level One Certificate ($888 in-district tuition for 24 credits, plus fees).
  • Ph.D. programs: UT Austin, Texas A&M, Texas State (three doctorates), and UT Dallas.
  • Online GIS associate degree: Houston City College A.A.S. in Geographic Information Science, 60 credits, $5,070 at the in-district rate.

Rates are resident tuition before fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.


Texas Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates at Universities

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
UT AustinBachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geography
Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Environmental Science, Geographical Sciences major
Campus (Austin)B.A.: 120Optional geographic information science concentration in the B.A.
Texas A&MB.S. in Geography
B.S. in Geographic Information Science and Technology (GIST)
Campus (College Station)120 each3+2 routes into the M.S. in Geography or Master of Geoscience
Texas StateB.A. in Human Geography
B.S. in Geography, Physical Geography, or Geographic Information Science
B.S. in Geography with Natural Resources and Environmental Studies, Urban and Regional Planning, or Water Resources majors
B.S. in Geography and Environmental Studies
Campus (San Marcos)
Geography and Environmental Studies: 100% online
120 eachEight geography bachelor’s majors, one fully online
University of North TexasB.A. and B.S. in Geography (including Earth Systems and Environmental Studies options)
B.S. in GIS and Computer Science
GIS Certificate (undergraduate)
On campus (Denton)Degrees: 120
Certificate: 15
GIS degree paired with computer science
UT DallasB.S. in Geospatial Information Sciences
B.S. in Computational and Geospatial Science
Certificate in Geospatial Intelligence
Campus (Richardson)Degrees: 120
Certificate: 15
Offered by the School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences
Texas TechB.A. in Geography and the Environment
GIST Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Lubbock)Major: 31
Certificate: 4 courses
Certificate can be finished in one academic year
UTSAB.A. in Geography and Environmental Sustainability
Certificate in GIS (undergraduate)
Campus (San Antonio) or 100% onlineB.A.: 120 (major 37)
Certificate: 15
Online format has the same requirements as the campus degree
UT ArlingtonB.A. in Geology, GIS option
GIS Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Arlington)B.A.: 120
Certificate: 12
Certificate built for non-earth-science majors
Texas A&M–Corpus ChristiB.S. in Geospatial Science
Geomatics Post-Baccalaureate Certificate
B.S.: online or on campus
Certificate: not stated
B.S.: 120–123
Certificate: 33
Combines GIS with land surveying; leads toward Texas surveyor licensure
Texas A&M–KingsvilleGIS Certificate (undergraduate)Not stated4 coursesC or better required in every course
Sam Houston StateB.A. and B.S. in Geography (Environment, Culture, and Development)
B.S. in Geography (Geo-Spatial Information Sciences)
Geospatial Applications Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Huntsville), with online instruction listedB.S.: 120
Certificate: 16–17
GIS programming and GIS for law enforcement electives
Stephen F. Austin StateB.S. in Geospatial Science (cultural resources, natural resources, or surveying concentration)Campus (Nacogdoches)120Housed in a college of forestry and agriculture
Lamar UniversityGIS Certificate (undergraduate)Not stated15Can be built into the Earth Science B.S.
Tarleton StateB.S. in Geography and GIS
Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences (B.A.A.S.) in GIS
Certificate in GIS
B.S. in Environmental Science, Geospatial Information Science concentration
B.S.: campus (Stephenville)
B.A.A.S.: online or Fort Worth campus
Degrees: 120
Certificate: 18
B.A.A.S. built for students with military or technical credit
Texas SouthernB.S. in Biology (GIS Certificate)Campus (Houston)Not verifiedGIS certificate built into a biology degree
TCUB.A. and B.S. in Geography
GIS Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Fort Worth)Degrees: not verified
Certificate: 13
Private university; certificate includes a research presentation

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
UT AustinMaster of Arts (M.A.) in Geography (earned on the way to the Ph.D.)
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography
CampusM.A.: 30 (thesis) or 36 (report)
Ph.D.: 30 minimum beyond the M.A.
No admission to the master’s alone
Texas A&MMaster of Science (M.S.) in Geography
Master of Geoscience (MGS)
Ph.D. in Geography
Graduate certificates in GIS and Geospatial Intelligence
M.S. and Ph.D.: campus
MGS and certificates: online (MGS also on campus)
M.S.: 32 (thesis) or 36
MGS: 36
Ph.D.: 64 with a master’s
Certificates: 12 / 15
Online MGS with a GIST track
Texas StateMaster of Applied Geography (M.A.Geo.) with majors in Geography, Geographic Information Science, and Natural Resources and Environmental Studies
M.A.Geo. in Geography, Geographic Education concentration
M.S. in Geography
Ph.D. in Geography, Geographic Information Science, or Geographic Education
Campus; Geographic Education M.A.Geo. and Ph.D. online; GIS and Natural Resources M.A.Geo. more than 50% onlineM.A.Geo.: 33
M.S.: 30 (thesis)
Ph.D.: 46 beyond the master’s
Three doctorates; GRE not required
University of North TexasM.S. in Geography (professional and research tracks)
GIS Certificate (graduate)
On campusM.S.: 36
Certificate: 12
Professional track focused on GIScience
UT DallasM.S. in Geospatial Information Sciences
Ph.D. in Geospatial Information Sciences
Graduate certificates in GIS, Geospatial Intelligence, Remote Sensing, Spatial Data Science, and Crime Mapping and Analysis
Campus; M.S. and the GIS, Remote Sensing, and Geospatial Intelligence certificates also 100% onlineM.S.: 30
Ph.D.: 75 beyond the bachelor’s
GIS certificate: 13–15
GIS-named doctorate; GRE temporarily waived
Texas TechM.S. in Geography and the Environment
Graduate Certificate in GIST
Ph.D. in Geosciences (geography track)
CampusM.S.: 30
Certificate: 12
GRE optional
UTSAM.A. in Geography and Environmental Sustainability
M.S. in Geoinformatics
Graduate Certificate in GIS
CampusM.A.: 33 (thesis) or 36
M.S.: 31
Certificate: 15
Geoinformatics master’s covering GIS and remote sensing
UT ArlingtonPost-Baccalaureate Certificate in GISCampus; can be completed within an accelerated online MPA15No GRE; up to 12 credits count toward the planning master’s
UTEPGraduate Certificate in Geospatial Information Science and Technology (GIST)Not stated15Open to students from any discipline with a 3.0 GPA
Texas A&M–Corpus ChristiM.S. in Geospatial Systems EngineeringSome courses offered online30Tracks in drones and geomatics or geospatial data science
Texas A&M–KingsvilleGIS Academic Certificate (graduate)Not stated9Shortest graduate GIS certificate on this page
Stephen F. Austin StateGeospatial Analyst Certificate (graduate)Not stated15Five graduate GIS courses with a 3.0 GPA
Lamar UniversityM.S. in Geospatial Sciences
GIS Certificate (graduate)
Not statedM.S.: 30 (thesis) or 36
Certificate: 15
Geospatial master’s in Southeast Texas

Community College GIS Credentials

CollegeCredentialCreditsFormat
Austin Community College
Austin
GIS A.A.S.
GIS Level 1 and Level 2 Certificates
Geospatial Engineering A.A.S. and Level 1 and Level 2 Certificates
GIS A.A.S.: 60–62
GIS certificates: 21 / 40–41
Geospatial Engineering A.A.S.: 60–61
Certificates: 20 / 33
Not stated
Collin College
Collin County
A.A.S. in Geospatial Information Science
GIS Level 1 and Level 2 Certificates
A.A.S.: 60
Certificates: 17 / 30
Many classes available online
Dallas College
Dallas
GIS Specialist A.A.S.
GIS Technician Certificates (C1 and C2)
GIS Technician Advanced Technical Certificate
GIS Technology Occupational Skills Award
A.A.S.: 60
C1: 18; C2: 45
Advanced Technical Certificate: 17
Brookhaven Campus
Del Mar College
Corpus Christi
GIS A.A.S.
GIS Associate of Science (A.S.)
GIS Analyst Level II Certificate
GIS Occupational Skills Awards
A.A.S.: 60–63
A.S.: 60
Level II: 41
Not stated
Houston City College
Houston
A.A.S. in Geographic Information Science
GIS Technician Certificate (C1)
GIS Analyst Certificate (C2)
A.A.S.: 60
C1: 22; C2: 38
Online (Global Online Campus)
Lone Star College
Houston area
GIS A.A.S.
GIS Technician Certificate (Level I)
GIS Analyst Certificate (Level II)
A.A.S.: 60
Certificates: 18 / 36
Full program at LSC-CyFair and LSC-Cypress Center
Tarrant County College
Fort Worth
GIS A.A.S.
Basic GIS Skills Certificate (Level 1)
GIS Programmer Certificates (Levels 1 and 2)
A.A.S.: 60
Certificates: 20, 39, and 45
Trinity River Campus
South Texas College
McAllen area
Surveying and Geospatial Technology Certificate
Surveying and Geospatial Technology A.A.S.
Certificate: 26
A.A.S.: 60
Not stated
Tyler Junior College
Tyler
Surveying and Geomatics A.A.S.
Surveying and Geomatics Level One Certificate
Surveying and Geomatics Professionals’ Certificate
Occupational Skills Award
A.A.S.: 60
Level One: 24
Professionals’: 18
A.A.S.: Central Campus
Professionals’ Certificate: online only

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs or program pages. Credits are semester credit hours. Minors are not listed. Several community colleges, including Austin Community College, Blinn College, Houston City College, and San Antonio College, also offer associate of arts degrees or majors in geography designed for transfer; these are not counted separately.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Texas

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.

Verified fully online options

  • Texas State: the B.S. in Geography and Environmental Studies through the Accelerated Online Program has “100% online course work,” 8-week terms, and pay-by-the-course tuition. The M.A.Geo. in Geography with a Geographic Education concentration is described as “100% online,” and the Ph.D. in Geographic Education is listed among Texas State’s online graduate programs. See our Texas State University Online Geography Degrees profile.
  • UTSA: the B.A. in Geography and Environmental Sustainability “is also offered in a 100% online format.” The Social Studies Teaching Track is not available online.
  • UT Dallas: students “can now earn your MS in GIS entirely online,” and the graduate certificates in GIS, Remote Sensing, and Geospatial Intelligence “can be also completed 100% online.”
  • Texas A&M: the Master of Geoscience distance modality is delivered “via asynchronous distance education technology,” with a GIST track. The online program page calls it a “completely online carousel model.” The GIS and Geospatial Intelligence graduate certificates are also offered online. The catalog lists a residence requirement that can be waived by petition, so confirm with the department.
  • Tarleton State: the Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences in GIS “is offered only online and on the Fort Worth campus.” It includes a 45-hour credit-for-prior-learning component for students with military, technical, or vocational credit.
  • Houston City College: the A.A.S. in Geographic Information Science and the GIS Technician and Analyst certificates list their program format as online through the Global Online Campus.
  • Tyler Junior College: the 18-credit Surveying and Geomatics Professionals’ Certificate is “taught online-only” and has selective admission for industry professionals.
  • Texas A&M–Corpus Christi: the B.S. in Geospatial Science is “available both in person and online,” and the program site says its degrees are available 100% online. Several surveying courses include labs and field measurement, so ask how online students complete them. See our Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi Online B.S. in Geospatial Science profile.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • Texas State M.A.Geo. in Geographic Information Science and in Natural Resources and Environmental Studies: listed as hybrid programs with “more than 50% online” coursework.
  • Texas A&M–Corpus Christi M.S. in Geospatial Systems Engineering: the catalog marks some courses as online offerings but does not state that the whole degree can be completed online.
  • Sam Houston State B.A. and B.S. in Geography: the program page lists online and face-to-face instruction but does not say the degree can be finished fully online.
  • UT Arlington Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in GIS: students can complete it as part of UTA’s accelerated online MPA. A stand-alone online route is not described.
  • Collin College GIS programs: “many of the program’s classes are available online.”

UT Austin, UNT, Texas Tech, and the other community college programs did not describe their geography or GIS credentials as online. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Texas School Summaries

University of Texas at Austin

UT Austin’s Department of Geography and the Environment offers a 120-hour B.A. in Geography. Majors choose a concentration, and geographic information science is one of the options; the degree also requires a minor or certificate. A science-heavy alternative is the B.S. in Environmental Science with a Geographical Sciences major, which has its own admission requirements in biology, chemistry, calculus, and geology.

Graduate study leads to the Ph.D. in Geography. The M.A. in Geography (30 hours with a thesis, 36 with a report) is usually earned on the way to the doctorate, and the department does not admit students for the master’s alone. Doctoral students must show proficiency in a second language and in a quantitative or qualitative method.

Sources: Geography B.A.; Geographical Sciences B.S.; Geography M.A.; Geography Ph.D..


Texas A&M University

Texas A&M’s Department of Geography offers a B.S. in Geography and a B.S. in Geographic Information Science and Technology (GIST), each 120 hours. The GIST degree includes 53 hours of GIST coursework. Both have 3+2 routes into a master’s degree.

The M.S. in Geography requires 32 hours with a thesis or 36 without, and the Ph.D. in Geography requires 64 hours beyond a master’s or 96 beyond a bachelor’s. The non-thesis, 36-hour Master of Geoscience runs on campus and online; the online version has a GIST track and a petroleum data management track, with courses starting five times a year. Graduate certificates in GIS (12 hours) and Geospatial Intelligence (15 hours, with the Bush School) are also offered online.

Sources: undergraduate geography catalog; graduate geography catalog; online Master of Geoscience.


Texas State University

Texas State’s Department of Geography and Environmental Studies offers a B.A. in Human Geography and B.S. degrees in Geography, Geographic Information Science, Physical Geography, Natural Resources and Environmental Studies, Urban and Regional Planning, and Water Resources. Each is 120 hours. The B.S. in Geography and Environmental Studies runs through the Accelerated Online Program, with 8-week terms and up to 90 transfer credits.

The 33-hour Master of Applied Geography (M.A.Geo.) has majors in Geography, Geographic Information Science, and Natural Resources and Environmental Studies, plus an online Geographic Education concentration. The 30-hour M.S. in Geography requires a thesis. Texas State also offers three 46-hour doctorates: the Ph.D. in Geography, Geographic Information Science, and Geographic Education, which is online. The GRE is not required for any of these programs.

Sources: undergraduate catalog; graduate catalog; online B.S.; online M.A.Geo..


University of North Texas

UNT offers a B.A. in Geography, a B.S. in Geography with Earth Systems and Environmental Studies options, and a B.S. in GIS and Computer Science that pairs geospatial mapping with coding and data science. A 15-hour undergraduate GIS certificate can be added to any major.

The 36-hour M.S. in Geography has a non-thesis professional track focused on GIScience and a research track with a thesis for students heading to a Ph.D. A 12-hour graduate GIS certificate is open to non-degree students and working professionals. UNT has no geography Ph.D.; geographers take part in the Ph.D. in Environmental Science and a Ph.D. in Philosophy with a human geography concentration.

Sources: undergraduate programs; graduate programs; M.S. in Geography; graduate GIS certificate.


University of Texas at Dallas

UT Dallas runs its Geospatial Information Sciences program across its social science, natural science, and engineering schools. Undergraduates can choose a 120-hour B.S. in Geospatial Information Sciences or a B.S. in Computational and Geospatial Science, and add a 15-hour Geospatial Intelligence certificate. Future teachers can take a B.A. in Education with a 7–12 Social Studies geography concentration.

The 30-hour M.S. in Geospatial Information Sciences has a professional track ending in a GIS project and a thesis track, and can be completed entirely online. The Ph.D. in Geospatial Information Sciences requires 75 hours beyond the bachelor’s and a dissertation. Graduate certificates cover GIS, Geospatial Intelligence, Remote Sensing, Spatial Data Science, and Crime Mapping and Analysis. GRE scores are temporarily waived.

Sources: B.S. catalog; M.S. and Ph.D. catalog; graduate certificates; GIS program page.


Texas Tech University

Texas Tech’s geography program sits in the Department of Geosciences. The B.A. in Geography and the Environment requires 31 hours of geography. The undergraduate GIST certificate takes GIST 3300, 4302, and 4304 plus one GIST elective and can be completed in one academic year.

The 30-hour M.S. in Geography and the Environment has thesis and non-thesis options, and the GRE is optional. A 12-hour Graduate Certificate in GIST is separate from the degree programs. Doctoral students enroll in the Ph.D. in Geosciences with a geography track. The department says teaching assistantships generally go to M.S. students.

Sources: geography program; undergraduate advising; graduate advising.


University of Texas at San Antonio

UTSA’s B.A. in Geography and Environmental Sustainability requires 120 hours, including 37 in geography, and is offered on campus or in a 100% online format. A Social Studies Teaching Track is available on campus. The Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences adds a 15-hour undergraduate Certificate in GIS open to any major.

Graduate options are the M.A. in Geography and Environmental Sustainability (33 hours with a thesis, 36 without), the 31-hour M.S. in Geoinformatics with thesis and non-thesis options, and a 15-hour Graduate Certificate in GIS that combines remote sensing and GIS programming.

Sources: B.A. catalog; M.A. catalog; Geoinformatics M.S. and GIS certificate.


University of Texas at Arlington

UT Arlington has no geography degree, but its B.A. in Geology has a Geographic Information Systems option, and a 12-hour undergraduate GIS certificate serves students outside earth science. The city planning program offers a 15-hour Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in GIS that does not require the GRE; up to 12 of its credits can count toward the Master of City and Regional Planning. UTA also offers an M.S. in Applied Data Science with a GIS emphasis.

Sources: Geology B.A., GIS option; undergraduate GIS certificate; post-baccalaureate GIS certificate.


University of Texas at El Paso

UTEP’s 15-hour Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Information Science and Technology requires Introduction to GIST and Advanced GIST plus three electives, such as remote sensing, spatial analysis, and machine learning in geoscience. Students from any discipline can apply with a 3.0 GPA, either alone or alongside another graduate program. UTEP offers geography only as an undergraduate minor.

Sources: GIST certificate.


Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi

TAMUCC’s 120–123 hour B.S. in Geospatial Science combines GIS with land surveying, geodesy, satellite positioning, and remote sensing, and ends in a capstone project. The program says the degree is accredited by ABET’s Applied Science Accreditation Commission and gives graduates a path toward Registered Professional Land Surveyor or GIS Professional status. It is offered online or in person.

The 33-hour Geomatics Post-Baccalaureate Certificate prepares degree holders from other fields for the Texas surveying exams. The 30-hour M.S. in Geospatial Systems Engineering has a drone and geomatics track and a geospatial data science track, each with thesis and coursework options.

Sources: Geospatial Science B.S.; Geomatics certificate; Geospatial Systems Engineering M.S.; program site.


Texas A&M University–Kingsville

Kingsville offers two GIS certificates. The undergraduate certificate requires Introduction to GIS, Advanced GIS, and Remote Sensing plus one elective, with a C or better in each course. The 9-hour graduate GIS Academic Certificate covers GIS, remote sensing, and advanced GIS and is open to all majors and professionals.

Sources: undergraduate GIS certificate; graduate GIS certificate.


Sam Houston State University

Sam Houston State offers a B.A. and B.S. in Geography with an Environment, Culture, and Development focus, and a B.S. in Geography with a Geo-Spatial Information Sciences concentration. The 16–17 hour undergraduate Geospatial Applications Certificate starts with Introduction to GIS and Applied GIS, then adds three electives from cartography, GIS programming, remote sensing, and GIS for public health or law enforcement. A separate certificate in Crime Analysis and Mapping pairs GIS with criminal justice courses.

Sources: Geography B.S., Geo-Spatial Information Sciences; Geospatial Applications Certificate; program page.


Stephen F. Austin State University

SFA’s Department of Environmental and Geospatial Sciences offers a 120-hour B.S. in Geospatial Science with a required concentration in cultural resources, natural resources, or surveying. Students can earn the Geospatial Analyst Certificate by completing 15 hours (five courses) of graduate-level GISC courses with a 3.0 GPA.

Sources: Geospatial Science B.S.; Geospatial Analyst Certificate.


Lamar University

Lamar’s Department of Earth and Space Sciences offers an M.S. in Geospatial Sciences: 30 credits with a thesis, including six thesis hours, or 36 credits without. Courses include a geospatial research project and a seminar covering GIS, remote sensing, and drone photogrammetry. Lamar also offers 15-credit undergraduate and graduate GIS certificates, and Earth Science B.S. students can fold the undergraduate certificate into their degree.

Sources: M.S. (thesis); M.S. (non-thesis); undergraduate GIS certificate; graduate GIS certificate.


Tarleton State University

Tarleton’s Department of History, Geography and GIS offers a 120-credit B.S. in Geography and GIS and a 120-credit Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences (B.A.A.S.) in GIS. The B.A.A.S. is designed for nontraditional students with military, technical, or vocational credit, includes a 45-hour credit-for-prior-learning component, and is offered only online and on the Fort Worth campus. An 18-credit Certificate in GIS is also available.

Separately, the B.S. in Environmental Science offers a Geospatial Information Science concentration aimed at land-use planning and environmental monitoring.

Sources: History, Geography and GIS catalog; Environmental Science catalog.


Texas Southern University

Texas Southern offers a B.S. in Biology with a built-in Geographic Information Systems Certificate. It is a biology degree, so students who want broad geography training should compare other schools on this page.

Sources: Biology B.S. (GIS Certificate).


Texas Christian University

TCU’s AddRan College of Liberal Arts offers a B.A. and a B.S. in Geography, plus a Bachelor of General Studies with a geography emphasis. Its Department of Geological Sciences offers an undergraduate GIS certificate: 12 course credits plus a research presentation, for 13 in all. Certificate students take Introduction to GIS and a Python or programming course, then two electives such as spatial analysis, remote sensing, applied GIS, or a GIS internship. A grade of B or better is required.

Sources: Geography B.S.; Geography B.A.; GIS certificate requirements.


Austin Community College

ACC’s School of Applied Technologies offers two geospatial programs. The GIS A.A.S. (60–62 credits) stacks a 21-credit Level 1 Certificate and a 40–41 credit Level 2 Certificate that adds geospatial programming and web applications. The Geospatial Engineering A.A.S. (60–61 credits) trains surveying technicians and prepares graduates to become surveyors-in-training, with 20- and 33-credit certificates along the way.

Sources: GIS program; Geospatial Engineering program; GIS A.A.S. award plan.


Collin College

Collin offers a 60-credit A.A.S. in Geospatial Information Science, a 17-credit Level 1 Certificate, and a 30-credit Level 2 Certificate. Students receive ArcGIS Pro and ArcGIS Online licenses while enrolled, and many classes are available online.

Sources: GIS program.


Dallas College

Dallas College offers its GIS programs at the Brookhaven Campus: a 60-credit GIS Specialist A.A.S., GIS Technician Certificates of 18 credits (C1) and 45 credits (C2), a 17-credit GIS Technician Advanced Technical Certificate for students who already hold a degree, and a GIS Technology Occupational Skills Award.

Sources: GIS program; GIS Specialist A.A.S. catalog.


Del Mar College

Del Mar offers a 60–63 credit GIS A.A.S. that ends with GIS programming and an internship, a 60-credit GIS Associate of Science for students planning to transfer, a 41-credit GIS Analyst Level II Certificate, and short GIS and GIS-drafting Occupational Skills Awards.

Sources: GIS A.A.S.; GIS A.S.; GIS Analyst Level II Certificate.


Houston City College

Houston City College (formerly Houston Community College) runs its Geographic Information Science program online through its Global Online Campus. Options are a 60-credit A.A.S. in Geographic Information Science, a 38-credit GIS Analyst Certificate (C2), and a 22-credit GIS Technician Certificate (C1). Students with 36 months of GIS work experience can apply for up to 15 hours of advanced placement. HCC also offers a transfer-oriented Multidisciplinary Studies degree with a geography major.

Sources: GIS program.


Lone Star College

Lone Star’s 60-credit GIS A.A.S. is offered in full at LSC-CyFair and the LSC-Cypress Center. The pathway includes an 18-credit GIS Technician Certificate (Level I) and a 36-credit GIS Analyst Certificate (Level II), with courses in raster GIS, cartography, and data acquisition, plus a choice of programming or drafting courses.

Sources: GIS A.A.S.; A.A.S. pathway plan (PDF).


Tarrant County College

TCC’s Trinity River Campus offers a 60-credit GIS A.A.S., a 20-credit Basic GIS Skills Certificate, and GIS Programmer Certificates of 39 and 45 credits. Students must be college-ready under the Texas Success Initiative to take the A.A.S. courses.

Sources: GIS program.


South Texas College

South Texas College offers a 26-credit Surveying and Geospatial Technology Certificate and a 60-credit A.A.S. Coursework covers GPS, GIS, and drones, and the programs can meet the educational requirements for the Surveyor in Training exam. The A.A.S. includes a cooperative education course.

Sources: Surveying and Geospatial Technology.


Tyler Junior College

TJC’s 60-credit Surveying and Geomatics A.A.S. on its Central Campus is accredited by ABET’s Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission. It covers boundary and geodetic surveying, GIS, GPS, CADD, and remote sensing, and includes an internship. A 24-credit Level One Certificate and an Occupational Skills Award are also offered. The 18-credit Professionals’ Certificate is taught online only, with selective admission, for working professionals who need surveying coursework toward Texas licensure. TJC has transfer agreements with UT Tyler and Stephen F. Austin.

Sources: Surveying and Geomatics program; A.A.S. catalog; Professionals’ Certificate.


Schools not included

  • Baylor University offers geology, geophysics, and earth science degrees, not geography or GIS credentials.
  • University of Houston offers an M.S. and Ph.D. in Geosensing Systems Engineering and Sciences. These are engineering degrees without geography, GIS, or geospatial in the name, so they are not counted.
  • UH–Clear Lake still has a Geography B.S. web page, but the degree does not appear in its 2026–27 catalog or in the state program inventory.
  • Texas A&M International offers geography as a minor only. East Texas A&M lists geography courses but no geography or GIS degree or certificate in its 2026–27 catalog.
  • UTRGV, UT Tyler, UT Permian Basin, UH–Downtown, Midwestern State, West Texas A&M, Angelo State, Sul Ross State, and Prairie View A&M have no geography or GIS degree in the state program inventory.
  • Lee College, Weatherford College, and Howard College’s Southwest Collegiate Institute for the Deaf are listed with GIS certificates in the state program inventory, but no current GIS program page was found on their websites. Weatherford’s Drone 4-D Mapping training is non-credit.
  • Lone Star College (Land Surveying and Mapping Technology) and Northwest Vista College (Land Surveying Technician) offer surveying programs that are not geospatial- or GIS-named.
  • Laredo College‘s drone and GIS Occupational Skills Award is limited to off-site locations. Midland College‘s ArcGIS training is non-credit continuing education.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” Some Texas schools publish tuition and required fees as one figure; those rows say so. None includes housing, books, or other costs.

Undergraduate and associate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
UT Austin
Bachelor’s degrees
$10,858–$13,576 per year (resident, varies by college)
$42,554–$51,106 per year (nonresident)
Fall and spring semesters, full time$10,858–$13,576 resident per year
$42,554–$51,106 nonresident per year
Not itemized in UT’s cost-of-attendance estimate
Texas A&M
B.S. in Geography or GIST
Tuition and required fees per semester at 12 or more hours: $5,775.35 (resident, variable plan), $6,237.41 (resident, locked 2026–27 plan), $20,018 (nonresident)Two semesters$11,550.70 resident (variable) per year
$12,474.82 resident (locked) per year
$40,036 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Texas State
Campus bachelor’s degrees
Tuition and fees per semester at 15 hours: $6,129.45 (resident), $12,549.45 (nonresident)Two semesters at 15 hours$12,258.90 resident per year
$25,098.90 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Texas State
Online B.S. in Geography and Environmental Studies
$407 per credit120 credits$48,840 totalFees are added each semester
University of North Texas
Bachelor’s degrees and GIS certificate
$280.11 per credit (resident: $50 statutory plus $230.11 designated tuition, Traditional plan)
$708.11 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$8,403.30 resident per year
$21,243.30 nonresident per year
Required fees per semester
UT Dallas
Bachelor’s degrees
$7,332 per term at 12 or more hours (resident, variable plan)
$20,082 per term (nonresident)
Two terms$14,664 resident per year
$40,164 nonresident per year
Supplemental designated tuition by school and some fees, listed separately by UT Dallas
Texas Tech
B.A. in Geography and the Environment
$284 per credit (resident: $50 state, $213 designated, and $21 Arts and Sciences differential tuition, variable plan)
$712 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$8,520 resident per year
$21,360 nonresident per year
Mandatory fees, such as $23.50 per credit for information technology and $21 per credit for the library
UTSA
B.A. in Geography and Environmental Sustainability
Tuition and fees per year: $11,476 (resident), $28,318 (nonresident)
Online-only students: $14,580 per year
15 credits per term, fall and spring$11,476 resident per year
$28,318 nonresident per year
$14,580 online-only per year
Included in the published figure
UT Arlington
B.A. in Geology (GIS option) and GIS certificate
Average tuition and fees for a full-time student: $12,208 (resident), $27,494 (nonresident)Fall and spring, full time$12,208 resident per year
$27,494 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
UTEP
Undergraduate students
Tuition and fees, full time: $8,800 (resident), $22,000 (nonresident)Fall and spring, full time (hours not stated)$8,800 resident per year
$22,000 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Texas A&M–Corpus Christi
B.S. in Geospatial Science
Tuition and fees: $10,031 (resident), $24,469 (nonresident)12 credits per semester, fall and spring$10,031 resident per year
$24,469 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Texas A&M–Kingsville
Undergraduate GIS certificate
Tuition and fees: $9,097 (resident), $21,994 (nonresident)12 credits per semester, fall and spring$9,097 resident per year
$21,994 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Sam Houston State
Geography degrees and certificate
Tuition and fees: $11,370 (resident), $23,810 (nonresident)15 credits per semester, fall and spring$11,370 resident per year
$23,810 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Stephen F. Austin
B.S. in Geospatial Science
Tuition and fees: $12,938 (resident), $25,774 (nonresident)12 credits per term, fall and spring$12,938 resident per year
$25,774 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Lamar University
Undergraduate GIS certificate
$259.49 per credit (resident)
$687.49 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$7,784.70 resident per year
$20,624.70 nonresident per year
Fees of $1,554.65 per semester at 15 credits
Tarleton State
B.S. in Geography and GIS, B.A.A.S. in GIS
Tuition and fees: $10,181 (resident), $23,021 (nonresident)15 credits per semester, fall and spring$10,181 resident per year
$23,021 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Texas Southern
B.S. in Biology (GIS Certificate)
Tuition and fees: $9,174 (resident), $21,416 (nonresident)
2027–28 estimate, the only year published
Fall and spring$9,174 resident per year
$21,416 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
TCU
Bachelor’s degree with GIS certificate
$66,520 per year, same for residents and nonresidentsFall and spring, 12–18 hours$66,520 per year$90 Student Government Association fee per year
Austin Community College
GIS and Geospatial Engineering A.A.S. and certificates
Tuition and fees per credit: $85 (in-district: $67 tuition plus $18 fees)
$286 (out-of-district Texas resident)
$218 or $419 (out of state, in or out of district)
GIS A.A.S. 60 credits; GIS Level 1 Certificate 21 creditsGIS A.A.S.: $5,100 in-district, $17,160 out-of-district total
Level 1: $1,785 in-district total
Included in the published figure
Collin College
GIS A.A.S. and certificates
$65 per credit (Collin County resident)
$125 per credit (other Texas residents)
$200 per credit (out of state)
2025–26 schedule
A.A.S. 60 credits; Level 1 certificate 17 credits; Level 2 certificate 30 creditsA.A.S.: $3,900 in-district total
Level 1: $1,105 in-district total
Level 2: $1,950 in-district total
$2 per credit student activity fee
Dallas College
GIS A.A.S. and certificates
$99 per credit (Dallas County)
$169 per credit (out of county)
$250 per credit (out of state)
A.A.S. 60 credits; C1 certificate 18 creditsA.A.S.: $5,940 in-county, $10,140 out-of-county, $15,000 out-of-state total
C1: $1,782 in-county total
Additional charges apply to repeated courses and excess hours
Del Mar College
GIS A.A.S., A.S., and certificates
Fall 2026 tuition and fees per semester at 15 credits: $1,750 (district), $2,500 (out of district), $3,055 (out of state)A.A.S. as four 15-credit semesters$7,000 district total
$10,000 out-of-district total
$12,220 out-of-state total
Included in the published figure
Houston City College
GIS A.A.S. and certificates (online)
$84.50 per credit (in-district)
$180.50 per credit (out of district)
$227 per credit (out of state)
A.A.S. 60 credits; C1 certificate 22 creditsA.A.S.: $5,070 in-district, $10,830 out-of-district, $13,620 out-of-state total
C1: $1,859 in-district total
HCC publishes a separate 2026–27 fee breakdown
Tarrant County College
GIS A.A.S. and certificates
Total tuition and fees as listed on TCC’s program page for 2026–27A.A.S. 60 credits; certificates 20, 39, and 45 creditsA.A.S.: $4,440 total
Basic GIS Skills: $1,480 total
GIS Programmer: $2,886 and $3,330 total
Included in the published figure (2026–27, in-county rates)
Lone Star College
GIS A.A.S. and certificates
Tuition and fees per credit: $111 (in-district), $249 (out-of-district Texas resident), $313 (out of state)30 credits (one full-time year)$3,330 in-district per year
$7,470 out-of-district per year
$9,390 out of state per year
Included in the published figure
South Texas College
Surveying and Geospatial Technology
$164 per credit (in-district)
$174 per credit (out-of-district Texas resident)
$254 per credit (nonresident)
Certificate 26 credits; A.A.S. 60 creditsCertificate: $4,264 in-district total
A.A.S.: $9,840 in-district, $10,440 out-of-district, $15,240 nonresident total
Some programs and courses carry additional fees
Tyler Junior College
Surveying and Geomatics A.A.S. and certificates
$37 per credit tuition (in-district)
$100 per credit (out of district, including a $60 surcharge)
$125 per credit (out of state, including a $60 surcharge)
A.A.S. 60 credits; Level One Certificate 24 creditsA.A.S.: $2,220 in-district, $6,000 out-of-district, $7,500 out-of-state total
Level One: $888 in-district total
Fall 2026 fees: $42 per credit general education fee, $15 per credit technology fee, $2 per credit student life fee (up to $26), plus $35 health service and $45 registration fees per term

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
UT Austin
M.A. and Ph.D. in Geography
$8,684–$10,554 per year (resident)
$17,312–$19,340 per year (nonresident)
Fall and spring semesters, full time$8,684–$10,554 resident per year
$17,312–$19,340 nonresident per year
Not itemized in UT’s cost-of-attendance estimate
Texas A&M
M.S., Master of Geoscience, and graduate certificates
$286.89 per credit (resident)
$836.40 per credit (nonresident)
Master of Geoscience or non-thesis M.S. 36 credits; GIS certificate 12 credits36 credits: $10,328.04 resident, $30,110.40 nonresident total
GIS certificate: $3,442.68 resident, $10,036.80 nonresident total
Required fees, listed separately in the Texas A&M tuition calculator
Texas State
Campus master’s and Ph.D. programs
Tuition and fees per semester at 9 hours: $4,511.49 (resident), $8,364.49 (nonresident)Two semesters at 9 hours$9,022.98 resident per year
$16,728.98 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Texas State
Online M.A.Geo. and Ph.D. in Geographic Education
$502 per credit (from fall 2026)M.A.Geo. 33 credits; Ph.D. 46 creditsM.A.Geo.: $16,566 total
Ph.D.: $23,092 total
Texas State Online does not list fees with this rate
University of North Texas
M.S. in Geography and graduate GIS certificate
$352.79 per credit (resident)
$780.79 per credit (nonresident)
M.S. 36 credits; certificate 12 creditsM.S.: $12,700.44 resident, $28,108.44 nonresident total
Certificate: $4,233.48 resident, $9,369.48 nonresident total
Required fees per semester
UT Dallas
M.S., Ph.D., and graduate certificates
$7,594 per term at 9 hours (resident, variable plan)
$14,784 per term at 9 hours (nonresident)
Two terms at 9 hours$15,188 resident per year
$29,568 nonresident per year
Supplemental designated tuition by school and some fees, listed separately by UT Dallas
Texas Tech
M.S. in Geography and the Environment and GIST certificate
$334 per credit (resident: $50 state, $213 designated, $21 Arts and Sciences differential, and $50 graduate tuition)
$762 per credit (nonresident)
M.S. 30 credits; certificate 12 creditsM.S.: $10,020 resident, $22,860 nonresident total
Certificate: $4,008 resident, $9,144 nonresident total
Mandatory fees, plus a graduate professional development fee of up to $10 per credit
UTSA
Graduate programs
Tuition and fees per year: $9,930 (resident), $28,988 (nonresident)
Online-only students: $12,312 per year
9 credits per term, fall and spring$9,930 resident per year
$28,988 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
UT Arlington
Post-baccalaureate GIS certificate
Average tuition and fees for a full-time graduate student: $11,044 (resident), $23,486 (nonresident)Fall and spring, full time$11,044 resident per year
$23,486 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
UTEP
GIST graduate certificate
Tuition and fees, full time: $7,696 (resident), $17,530 (nonresident)Fall and spring, full time; year not labeled on UTEP’s page$7,696 resident per year
$17,530 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Texas A&M–Corpus Christi
M.S. in Geospatial Systems Engineering
Tuition and fees: $7,178 (resident), $16,031 (nonresident)6 credits per semester, fall and spring$7,178 resident per year
$16,031 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Texas A&M–Kingsville
Graduate GIS certificate
Tuition and fees: $6,157 (resident), $14,291 (nonresident)9 credits per semester, fall and spring$6,157 resident per year
$14,291 nonresident per year
Included in the published figure
Lamar University
M.S. in Geospatial Sciences and graduate GIS certificate
$359.49 per credit (resident)
$787.49 per credit (nonresident)
M.S. 30 or 36 credits; certificate 15 creditsM.S. (36): $12,941.64 resident, $28,349.64 nonresident total
M.S. (30): $10,784.70 resident total
Certificate: $5,392.35 resident total
Fees of $1,085.74 per semester at 9 credits

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • Most Texas public universities publish tuition and required fees as one figure, but on different bases: 12 credits per term at Texas A&M–Corpus Christi, Texas A&M–Kingsville, and Stephen F. Austin; 15 credits at Texas State, UTSA, Sam Houston State, and Tarleton; and an unstated full-time load at UTEP and UT Arlington. UNT, Texas Tech, Lamar, Collin, and Tyler Junior College list fees separately, so their rates look lower. For these reasons, this page does not name a single lowest-cost bachelor’s degree.
  • Texas A&M and UT Dallas offer locked or guaranteed tuition plans as well as variable plans. Rates differ by plan and by entering year.
  • Community college tuition depends on whether you live in the college district. Collin’s rates are from its 2025–26 schedule, the most recent it publishes; Austin Community College does not label a year on its rate table.
  • Graduate tuition for Stephen F. Austin’s Geospatial Analyst Certificate and rates for Texas Southern’s 2026–27 year were not published in a form we could verify. Texas Southern’s row uses its 2027–28 estimate. Check each school’s bursar or tuition calculator.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Texas

Broad geography or technical GIS

UT Austin, Texas State, UNT, Texas Tech, UTSA, and Sam Houston State offer geography degrees that mix human and physical geography with GIS courses. More technical options include Texas A&M’s B.S. in GIST, UT Dallas’s B.S. in Geospatial Information Sciences, UNT’s B.S. in GIS and Computer Science, and Texas State’s B.S. in Geographic Information Science. Students interested in surveying can compare Texas A&M–Corpus Christi, Stephen F. Austin, Austin Community College, South Texas College, and Tyler Junior College. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.

Starting at a community college

Nine community colleges offer GIS or geospatial associate degrees and shorter certificates aimed at technician jobs. Del Mar’s GIS Associate of Science is the one built for transfer; the others are applied (A.A.S.) degrees. The A.A.S. is built for employment, so ask any university you may transfer to how its credits will count. Compare bachelor’s programs nationally.

Master’s or Ph.D.

UT Austin admits geography graduate students only for the Ph.D. Texas A&M, Texas State, UNT, Texas Tech, UTSA, UT Dallas, and Lamar offer master’s degrees with thesis and non-thesis or professional options. A thesis helps students who plan to apply to a doctoral program. See master’s programs.

Online or campus

Texas State, UTSA, Tarleton State, and Texas A&M–Corpus Christi offer online bachelor’s degrees; UT Dallas and Texas A&M offer online GIS master’s degrees and certificates; and Houston City College offers an online GIS associate degree. Confirm any residency, lab, or fieldwork requirements before enrolling. Browse online geography schools for programs in other states.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Oklahoma, Louisiana, New Mexico, and Arkansas, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 14, 2026. The school list was checked against the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board program inventory. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule unless a row notes otherwise.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.