State guide · Reviewed October 1, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Arkansas Geography Degree Programs

Compare geography and GIS programs at 5 Arkansas universities, from online GIS certificates to UCA's online master's and the U of A Ph.D., with 2026–27 tuition.

Arkansas has five universities with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: the University of Arkansas, the University of Central Arkansas, Arkansas State, Arkansas Tech, and UA Monticello. Online options include UCA’s Master of GIS, Arkansas State’s GIS and Precision Agriculture bachelor’s degree, and geospatial certificates from the University of Arkansas and UCA.


Arkansas Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of ArkansasBachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geography
Certificate of Proficiency in Geospatial Technologies (undergraduate)
B.S.: campus (Fayetteville)
Certificate: 100% online
B.S.: 120
Certificate: 12–18
General, Human, and Technical Geography concentrations
University of Central ArkansasB.S. in Geography (Geospatial Technology concentration available)Campus (Conway)120 (major 39, plus a required minor)Python for GIS and remote sensing in the concentration
Arkansas State UniversityB.S. in Agriculture, GIS and Precision Agriculture
GIS Certificate (undergraduate)
B.S.: campus (Jonesboro) or 100% online
Certificate: not stated
B.S.: 120
Certificate: 15
GIS taught through the College of Agriculture
Arkansas Tech UniversityBachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Anthropology and GeographyNot stated (Russellville)120Combined major with a geography track
UA MonticelloB.S. in Natural Resources Management, Geospatial Science OptionNot stated (Monticello)120GIS, GPS, and remote sensing applied to natural resources

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of ArkansasMaster of Science (M.S.) in Geography
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geosciences
Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Technologies
M.S. and Ph.D.: campus
Certificate: 100% online
M.S.: 30
Ph.D.: 42 beyond a master’s
Certificate: 18
Thesis-only M.S.; certificate taught by spatial technology center faculty
University of Central ArkansasMaster of Geographic Information Systems (MGIS)
Graduate Certificate in GIS
Fully onlineMGIS: 30
Certificate: 15
Thesis or portfolio option; flat online tuition
Arkansas State UniversityGIS Graduate CertificateNot stated12Python scripting and raster modeling courses

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs. Minors are not listed. No Arkansas two-year college lists a stand-alone GIS credential; see schools not included.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Arkansas

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.

Verified fully online options

  • University of Central Arkansas: the Master of GIS is described as fully online, and the 15-credit Graduate Certificate in GIS is an online program.
  • Arkansas State University: the B.S. in Agriculture in GIS and Precision Agriculture is offered 100% online as well as on campus.
  • University of Arkansas: the undergraduate Certificate of Proficiency in Geospatial Technologies and the Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Technologies are both 100% online.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • University of Arkansas: a 15-hour geography minor can be completed online, but the B.S. in Geography is a campus degree.
  • Arkansas State GIS certificates: neither the undergraduate nor the graduate certificate has a stated delivery format.

No Arkansas university offers a geography bachelor’s degree online. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Arkansas School Summaries

University of Arkansas

The Department of Geosciences in Fayetteville offers a B.S. in Geography with General, Human, and Technical Geography concentrations. All students take Geospatial Applications and Information Science and a research or field methods course. Technical courses include Principles of Remote Sensing, Spatial Analysis Using ArcGIS, GIS Analysis and Modeling, and Geospatial Unmanned Aircraft Systems.

The M.S. in Geography is a 30-hour, thesis-only degree. The catalog lists three letters and GRE scores for admission. The Ph.D. in Geosciences includes a geoinformatics research area covering GIS, remote sensing, and geospatial analysis. It requires 42 hours beyond a master’s degree and acceptance by an adviser. Applicants who want an assistantship should apply by January 15.

  • Undergraduate certificate: the online Certificate of Proficiency in Geospatial Technologies takes 18 hours, and up to 6 can be waived by exam. Applicants need an associate degree, two years of college, or equivalent work experience.
  • Graduate certificate: the 18-hour online Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Technologies requires no GRE. It is taught by faculty from the Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies. The university says certificate programs are not eligible for financial aid.

Sources: Geography B.S. catalog; graduate catalog; undergraduate certificate; graduate certificate.


University of Central Arkansas

UCA’s B.S. in Geography has a 39-hour major and a required minor. The core includes Earth Systems Science, Quantitative Methods in Geography, GIS I, GIS II, and a Research Seminar capstone. The Geospatial Technology concentration adds Introduction to Remote Sensing and Image Interpretation and Python for GIS.

The 30-hour Master of GIS is fully online and offers a thesis option or a non-thesis option with a graduate portfolio. Courses include Digital Image Processing for GIS, Technical Issues in GIS, and Spatial Analysis and Modeling. Admission requires a 3.00 GPA, a statement of purpose, and either one college GIS course or a job that uses GIS. The online Graduate Certificate in GIS takes five courses and has the same admission requirements.

Sources: Geography B.S. bulletin; Master of GIS; graduate bulletin; graduate GIS certificate.


Arkansas State University

Arkansas State has no geography major. Its GIS programs sit in the College of Agriculture. The B.S. in Agriculture in GIS and Precision Agriculture includes Fundamentals of GIS/GPS, Remote Sensing, Geospatial Data Applications, and Unmanned Aircraft Systems, and ends in a capstone. It is offered in Jonesboro and 100% online.

The 15-credit undergraduate GIS Certificate and the 12-credit GIS Graduate Certificate cover GIS fundamentals, Python scripting, cartography, and spatial analysis. Neither has program-specific admission requirements beyond university admission.

Sources: GIS and Precision Agriculture B.S.A.; online B.S.A.; undergraduate GIS certificate; graduate GIS certificate.


Arkansas Tech University

Arkansas Tech offers a combined B.A. in Anthropology and Geography, not a stand-alone geography degree. Students on the geography track take GIS II – Planning Applications and a Geography Seminar. Other courses include Regional Geography of the World, Introduction to GIS, Physical Geography, and Urban Geography. An internship course is available but not required.

Sources: Anthropology and Geography B.A..


University of Arkansas at Monticello

UA Monticello’s B.S. in Natural Resources Management offers a Geospatial Science Option that combines GIS, GPS, and remote sensing with natural resources coursework. Option courses include Advanced GIS, Remote Sensing, Global Navigation Satellite Systems, and database management. The degree ends in a natural resources practicum. UA Monticello also offers land surveying degrees that include GIS courses.

Sources: Natural Resources Management, Geospatial Science Option; college degree list.


Schools not included

  • UA Little Rock, UA Fort Smith, Southern Arkansas, and Harding offer geography or GIS minors only.
  • Henderson State and UA Pine Bluff list no geography or GIS credential.
  • UCA’s B.A. in Geography is not accepting new students; the B.S. is the current degree.
  • Two-year colleges: none lists a stand-alone GIS certificate or degree in its 2026–27 catalog. UA Community College at Morrilton’s surveying program and North Arkansas College’s drone program each include a GIS course.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs unless the row says so.

Undergraduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Arkansas
B.S. Geography
$277.84 per credit (resident)
$1,020.11 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$8,335.20 resident per year
$30,603.30 nonresident per year
$86.03 per credit
University of Arkansas (online)
Certificate of Proficiency in Geospatial Technologies
$277.84 per credit, regardless of residency12–18 credits, depending on waived courses$3,334.08–$5,001.12 total$55.38 per credit in online fees
University of Central Arkansas
B.S. Geography
$267 per credit (resident)
$534 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$8,010 resident per year
$16,020 nonresident per year
$105.70 per credit, plus $101.50 per semester
Arkansas State (campus)
B.S.A. and undergraduate GIS certificate
$337 per credit (in-state)
$626 per credit (out-of-state)
B.S.A.: 30 credits per year
Certificate: 15 credits
B.S.A.: $10,110 in-state per year; $18,780 out-of-state per year
Certificate: $5,055 in-state total; $9,390 out-of-state total
College of Agriculture fee $27 per credit; athletic fee $23 per credit; activity fee $25 per term
Arkansas State (online)
B.S.A. GIS and Precision Agriculture
$302 per credit for all U.S. residents, fees included (no academic year printed)30 credits per year; 120 credits for the degree$9,060 per year
$36,240 total
Included in the rate
Arkansas Tech
B.A. Anthropology and Geography
$264.99 per credit (in-state)
$529.98 per credit (out-of-state)
30 credits per year$7,949.70 in-state per year
$15,899.40 out-of-state per year
$115.16 per credit
UA Monticello
B.S. Natural Resources Management
$198.50 per credit (resident)
$400 per credit (out-of-state)
30 credits per year$5,955 resident per year
$12,000 out-of-state per year
$133.25 per credit

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Arkansas (campus)
M.S. Geography and Ph.D. Geosciences
$473.47 per credit (resident)
$1,287.74 per credit (nonresident)
24 credits per year$11,363.28 resident per year
$30,905.76 nonresident per year
$2,058 per year
University of Arkansas (online)
Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Technologies
$473.47 per credit, regardless of residency12–18 credits, depending on waived courses$5,681.64–$8,522.46 total$55.38 per credit in online fees
University of Central Arkansas (online)
Master of GIS and Graduate Certificate
$378 per credit flat rate for fully online graduate programsMGIS 30 credits; certificate 15 creditsMGIS: $11,340 total
Certificate: $5,670 total
None itemized for the flat rate; $20 graduate certificate fee
Arkansas State
GIS Graduate Certificate
$411 per credit (in-state)
$754 per credit (out-of-state)
12 credits$4,932 in-state total
$9,048 out-of-state total
College of Agriculture fee $27 per credit; athletic fee $23 per credit; activity fee $25 per term

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • The University of Arkansas charges in-state tuition to all students in its approved online programs, so its online certificates cost the same for nonresidents.
  • UCA’s fully online graduate programs use one flat rate with no separate fees itemized, while campus programs add per-credit fees.
  • Arkansas State’s online bachelor’s rate includes fees, but its campus rates do not.
  • Arkansas Tech and UA Monticello waive out-of-state tuition for some students from neighboring states.
  • Per-credit fees range from $50 at Arkansas State to $133.25 at UA Monticello, which adds roughly $1,500 to $4,000 to a 30-credit year.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Arkansas

Broad geography or technical GIS

The University of Arkansas and UCA offer the state’s two geography bachelor’s degrees, and both have a technical concentration. Arkansas State and UA Monticello teach GIS within agriculture and natural resources degrees, which suits students headed for those fields. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.

Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree

Students who already hold a degree can add GIS skills through a 12–18 credit graduate certificate at the University of Arkansas, UCA, or Arkansas State. The University of Arkansas’s undergraduate certificate is open to applicants with two years of college or equivalent work experience. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.

Online or campus

Online students can earn UCA’s Master of GIS, Arkansas State’s GIS and Precision Agriculture bachelor’s, or a geospatial certificate. The geography bachelor’s degrees, the University of Arkansas’s M.S., and its Ph.D. are campus programs.

Thesis or applied graduate work

The University of Arkansas’s M.S. in Geography requires a thesis. UCA’s Master of GIS offers a thesis or a portfolio. Students considering a Ph.D. should check research preparation and admissions requirements. A thesis can help demonstrate research experience.

Funding

The University of Arkansas considers graduate applicants for assistantships when they apply by January 15, and it does not publish stipend amounts. UCA and Arkansas State do not advertise assistantships for their GIS programs. The University of Arkansas’s certificates are not eligible for financial aid.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 1, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule unless a row notes otherwise.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.