Georgia has 11 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials, all of them public universities and colleges in the University System of Georgia. They range from undergraduate GIS certificates to a Ph.D. The University of Georgia offers the state’s only geography doctorate, and Georgia Tech offers a one-year M.S. in Geographic Information Science and Technology. Fully online options are at Kennesaw State, Georgia Southern, the University of North Georgia, Georgia State, and the University of West Georgia. No Georgia technical college or private university lists a current geography or GIS credential.
Quick picks for Georgia
- Online bachelor’s degrees: Kennesaw State (B.A. in Geography, $192 per credit) and Georgia Southern (B.S. in Geosciences, Geography concentration, $189 per credit).
- Lowest-cost GIS certificate: University of North Georgia Geographic Information Science Certificate, $2,316 total for 12 credits.
- Online graduate GIS certificates: West Georgia ($4,950 total) and Georgia State ($6,032–$6,960 total), with the same rate for every state.
- One-year GIS master’s: Georgia Tech M.S. in Geographic Information Science and Technology (34 hours).
- Ph.D. in Geography: University of Georgia, the only geography doctorate in the state.
Rates are resident tuition before fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.
Georgia Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance
Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Georgia | Bachelor of Arts (A.B.) in Geography Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geography Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate) | Campus (Athens) | Degree totals: Not stated B.S.: 24+ upper-division geography hours Certificate: 12 | Certificate open to any UGA major, with no prerequisites |
| Georgia State University | B.S. in Geosciences, Geography concentration Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies (B.I.S.) in Data Science and Geographic Information Sciences Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate) | Campus (Atlanta) | B.S. and B.I.S.: 120 Certificate: 17–19 | B.I.S. pairs GIS with database and data science courses |
| Kennesaw State University | Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geography B.S. in Geospatial Sciences Geographic Information Sciences Certificate | B.A.: face-to-face or fully online B.S.: face-to-face, online, or hybrid courses Certificate: in class or online | B.A. and B.S.: 120 Certificate: 15 | Land Surveying concentration in the B.S. |
| University of North Georgia | B.S. in Environmental Spatial Analysis Geographic Information Science Certificate Geospatial Intelligence Certificate | Campus (Gainesville) | B.S.: 121 Certificates: 12 / 25 | Geospatial Intelligence Certificate accredited by USGIF |
| Georgia Southern University | B.S. in Geosciences, Geography concentration Certificate in Geographic Information Systems (within the B.S.) | Statesboro, Armstrong (Savannah), or fully online | B.S.: 123 Certificate: 12 | Up to 6 hours of experiential learning count toward the degree |
| University of West Georgia | B.S. in Earth and Environmental Sciences, Geographic Information Science concentration | Campus (Carrollton) | 120 | Faculty-mentored research project and capstone |
| Georgia College & State University | B.A. in Geography Geographic Information Science Certificate | Campus (Milledgeville) | B.A.: 120 Certificate: 15–16 | Certificate awarded only with a bachelor’s degree |
| Valdosta State University | B.S. in Environmental Geosciences, Geography track or Geospatial Technology and Urban Planning track Certificate in Geographic Information Systems and Planning | Campus (Valdosta) | B.S.: 120 Certificate: 15 | Senior thesis or internship capstone |
| Columbus State University | Geographic Information Systems and Science Certificate (undergraduate) | Campus (Columbus) | 16–18 | Open to non-degree students; no prior GIS needed |
| Georgia Gwinnett College | B.A. in History, Geography concentration | Campus (Lawrenceville) | 123 | 15 hours of upper-level geography electives |
Graduate Degrees and Certificates
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Georgia | Master of Arts (M.A.) in Geography Master of Science (M.S.) in Geography Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science | Campus (Athens) | M.A./M.S.: 31–32, with thesis Ph.D.: 32 hours of advanced coursework Certificate: 15 | About 30 assistantships awarded each year; GRE not required |
| Georgia Institute of Technology | M.S. in Geographic Information Science and Technology Graduate Embedded Certificate in GIS (Georgia Tech graduate students) | Campus (Atlanta) | M.S.: 34 Certificate: 12 | One calendar year full-time, ending in a summer capstone |
| Georgia State University | M.S. in Geosciences, Geography concentration Geographic Information Science Graduate Certificate | M.S.: campus (Atlanta) Certificate: fully online | M.S.: 36 Certificate: 13–15 | Certificate courses are asynchronous; GRE not considered for the M.S. |
| University of North Georgia | M.S. in Spatial Information and Data Science Geospatial Science and Technology Certificate (graduate) | M.S.: online Certificate: in person (Gainesville) | M.S.: 30 Certificate: 15 | Thesis or non-thesis M.S.; GRE not required |
| University of West Georgia | Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Geographic Information Systems Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Planning, Public Safety, and GIS | GIS certificate: fully online Planning certificate: Not verified | 15 each | B or better required in every GIS certificate course |
Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs. Minors are not listed. Georgia’s technical colleges have no GIS credential in their current catalogs, and none of the state’s two-year colleges lists a geography associate pathway; see schools not included.
Online Geography and GIS Programs in Georgia
An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.
Verified fully online options
- Kennesaw State University B.A. in Geography: the university says the degree “can be taken either as a face-to-face or fully online degree program.” See our Kennesaw State online profile.
- Kennesaw State University Geographic Information Sciences Certificate: the catalog says the 15-hour certificate “can be completed in-class or online.”
- Georgia Southern University B.S. in Geosciences, Geography concentration: the catalog lists the concentration for Statesboro, Armstrong-Savannah, and online, and lists “Fully Online” as a location for the degree.
- Georgia State University Geographic Information Science Graduate Certificate: “All required coursework to earn the certificate can be completed online.” Courses are asynchronous, with optional workshops on campus.
- University of West Georgia Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in GIS: the catalog says “All courses are delivered online,” and the program page says it is offered entirely online.
- University of North Georgia M.S. in Spatial Information and Data Science: the program page says it “is only offered as an online program.” The graduate catalog lists its location as online but its method of delivery as in person in Gainesville, so confirm the format with UNG.
Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program
- Kennesaw State B.S. in Geospatial Sciences: the program page lists face-to-face, online, and hybrid formats but does not say the full degree can be completed online. The Land Surveying concentration includes lab courses.
- West Georgia B.S. in Earth and Environmental Sciences: the degree can be earned entirely face to face, and students may choose some partially or fully online courses.
- University of Georgia: the geography department offers single online courses, including Introduction to Geographic Information Science, but none of its degrees or certificates is described as online.
For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.
Georgia School Summaries
University of Georgia
UGA’s Department of Geography offers an A.B. and a B.S. in Geography in Athens. The A.B. leans toward human geography and the B.S. toward physical and environmental geography. Both require GEOG 3910 and GEOG 4910 and one methods course, chosen from options that include Geographic Information Science. The B.S. requires at least 24 hours of 3000–4000 level geography. The 12-hour undergraduate GIScience Certificate requires GEOG 4370 and three electives in GIS, remote sensing, or data science and programming, with a 3.0 GPA in certificate courses.
At the graduate level, UGA offers an M.A. and an M.S. in Geography, both with a required thesis, and a Ph.D. in Geography with 32 hours of advanced coursework, comprehensive exams, and a dissertation. The Graduate School lists a 31-hour minimum for the master’s degrees, and the department says 32. Admission is for fall only, with a December 1 deadline and three letters. The GRE is not required, though GIScience applicants are encouraged to submit scores. The department awards about 30 teaching and research assistantships each year. The 15-hour Graduate Certificate in GIScience, which includes an internship or applied project, is open only to degree-seeking UGA students.
Sources: A.B. in Geography; B.S. in Geography; undergraduate GIScience certificate; M.S. in Geography; Ph.D. in Geography; graduate admissions; graduate GIScience certificate.
Georgia Institute of Technology
Georgia Tech has no geography degree, but its School of City and Regional Planning offers a 34-hour M.S. in Geographic Information Science and Technology. Full-time students finish in one calendar year: two semesters plus a summer capstone. The core includes Advanced GIS, Introduction to Remote Sensing, Programming for GIS, GIS Systems Design and Management, and a GIS capstone project. Applicants need basic GIS coursework or a year of professional experience, three letters, and a résumé. The GRE is optional for fall 2026 applicants, and the January 15 priority deadline applies for fellowships and assistantships.
A 12-hour Graduate Embedded Certificate in GIS is available to students already enrolled in Georgia Tech graduate programs, including the Master of City and Regional Planning.
Sources: M.S. GIST catalog; M.S. GIST program page; embedded GIS certificate.
Georgia State University
Georgia State does not offer a degree named Geography. Geography is one of four concentrations in the 120-hour B.S. in Geosciences, with required courses in digital cartography, quantitative spatial analysis, qualitative methods, and a senior seminar, plus an experiential learning course. The 120-hour B.I.S. in Data Science and Geographic Information Sciences combines Introduction to GIS and geospatial data analytics with database systems and data science, and ends in an integrated capstone. The 17–19 hour undergraduate GIScience Certificate is open to any major.
The 36-hour M.S. in Geosciences, Geography concentration has thesis and capstone tracks. Applicants need three letters, and the catalog says the department does not consider the GRE. The department offers teaching assistantships. The 13–15 hour GIScience Graduate Certificate is fully online, requires Digital Cartography and Advanced GIS, and can be finished in two semesters. Applicants need a related bachelor’s degree and an introductory GIS course with a C or better. Georgia State has no geography Ph.D.; its Ph.D. in Sociology offers an Urban Spaces and Geography concentration.
Sources: Geography concentration, B.S.; Data Science and GIS, B.I.S.; undergraduate certificate; M.S. Geography concentration; graduate certificate catalog; online certificate page.
Kennesaw State University
Kennesaw State’s 120-hour B.A. in Geography can be completed face to face or fully online. It requires The Digital Earth, Research Methods, a physical geography lab course, a senior seminar, and an internship or directed applied research, plus 6 hours of world language. Students choose at least one geographic techniques course, such as Cartography, Introduction to GIS, Remote Sensing, or Photogrammetry and Drone Analysis.
The 120-hour B.S. in Geospatial Sciences requires Cartographic Processes, Introduction to GIS, Advanced GIS, Remote Sensing, and Photogrammetry and Drone Analysis. Students then choose a Human-Environmental, Information Systems, or Land Surveying concentration. The first two require a GIS internship. The 15-hour Geographic Information Sciences Certificate includes a GIS practicum and can be completed in class or online. Kennesaw State has no graduate geography or GIS program.
Sources: Geography B.A. catalog; Geography B.A. program page; Geospatial Sciences B.S.; GIS certificate.
University of North Georgia
UNG has no geography bachelor’s degree. Its GIS degree is the 121-hour B.S. in Environmental Spatial Analysis on the Gainesville campus. Required courses include Cartography and Earth Measurement, Global Navigation Satellite Systems, Programming for Geospatial Science and Technology, Remote Sensing of the Environment, and Spatial Analysis, plus surveying. Two undergraduate certificates draw on the same courses: the 12-hour Geographic Information Science Certificate and the 25-hour Geospatial Intelligence Certificate, which ends in a capstone. UNG says the Geospatial Intelligence Certificate is accredited by the United States Geospatial Intelligence Foundation (USGIF).
The 30-hour M.S. in Spatial Information and Data Science has thesis and non-thesis options and seminars in topics such as machine learning and public health. Applicants need a 2.75 GPA, and the GRE is not required. The 15-hour graduate Geospatial Science and Technology Certificate is taught in person in Gainesville and requires a 2.50 GPA and a geospatial background.
Sources: Environmental Spatial Analysis B.S.; GIS certificate; Geospatial Intelligence Certificate; M.S. catalog; M.S. program page; graduate certificate.
Georgia Southern University
Georgia Southern’s 2026–27 catalog lists geography as a concentration in the 123-hour B.S. in Geosciences, offered in Statesboro, at the Armstrong campus in Savannah, and online. The degree core includes Introduction to GIS and Cartography and an introduction to research. Geography electives include Intermediate and Advanced GIS, Remote Sensing, an internship, senior thesis research, and field studies. Students can add an optional 12-hour Certificate in Geographic Information Systems within the degree.
Sources: Geosciences B.S. catalog; Geosciences program page.
University of West Georgia
West Georgia’s undergraduate GIS option is the Geographic Information Science concentration in the 120-hour B.S. in Earth and Environmental Sciences in Carrollton. It requires Remote Sensing and GIS Integration, Geographic Information Systems, and Computer Cartography, plus two applied courses such as GIS Database Design or Programming and Customization in GIS. Every student completes a faculty-mentored research project and a capstone.
The 15-hour Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in GIS is fully online. It requires graduate GIS and remote sensing courses plus two electives, with a B or better in every course. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree with a 2.5 GPA. A separate 15-hour Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Planning, Public Safety, and GIS combines GIS, planning, and public service courses.
Sources: Earth and Environmental Sciences B.S., GIS concentration; GIS certificate catalog; GIS certificate program page; Planning, Public Safety, and GIS certificate.
Georgia College & State University
Georgia College’s 120-hour B.A. in Geography in Milledgeville covers physical, human, and regional geography and requires 3–9 hours of geographic techniques, such as Advanced Geographic Information, Remote Sensing, and Computer Cartography. It ends in an internship, senior thesis, or study abroad, and requires foreign language through the 2002 level. The 15–16 hour Geographic Information Science Certificate includes a capstone and is awarded only with a bachelor’s degree.
Sources: Geography B.A.; GIS certificate.
Valdosta State University
Valdosta State offers geography as tracks in its 120-hour B.S. in Environmental Geosciences. The Geography track requires Computer Cartography and Image Analysis, Advanced GIS, Hydrology, Process Geomorphology, and Statistics for Geoscientists. The Geospatial Technology and Urban Planning track adds regional planning and a choice of GIS applications, urban planning, or remote sensing. Both end in a senior thesis or an internship. The 15-hour Certificate in Geographic Information Systems and Planning requires introductory GIScience, cartography, and advanced GIS, with a C or better in each course.
Sources: Environmental Geosciences B.S.; GIS and Planning certificate.
Columbus State University
Columbus State offers a 16–18 hour undergraduate Geographic Information Systems and Science Certificate. It requires Introduction to GIS and Advanced GIS, plus electives such as a GIS independent study, an internship, GIS and GPS, or introductory data science. A B or better is required in every course. The certificate is open to all majors and non-degree students, needs no prior GIS, and takes two to three semesters on campus.
Sources: certificate catalog; certificate program page.
Georgia Gwinnett College
Georgia Gwinnett College offers a Geography concentration within its 123-hour B.A. in History in Lawrenceville. The major includes a history core with one upper-level geography course and 15 hours of 3000–4000 level geography electives. The concentration does not require a GIS course, so it suits students interested in human and regional geography more than technical GIS.
Sources: History B.A., Geography concentration.
Schools not included
- Gwinnett Technical College: its 16-hour GIS Technology Certificate appears in the 2025–26 catalog but not in the 2026–27 catalog. The statewide technical college listing still showed it for fall 2026, so check with the college about its status.
- Other technical colleges: no GIS-named credential in the Technical College System of Georgia’s program listings. Land surveying, drone, forestry, and civil engineering technology programs at several colleges are not GIS credentials.
- Programs no longer in current catalogs: West Georgia’s B.S. in Geography (last listed 2025–26), Georgia Southern’s B.A. in Geography and M.S. in Applied Geography (last listed 2024–25), and College of Coastal Georgia’s retired spatial analytics program. UNG’s Geospatial Intelligence Graduate Certificate has a program page but is not in the 2026–27 graduate catalog.
- Two-year colleges: Georgia State’s Perimeter College, Georgia Highlands, Gordon State, South Georgia State, Atlanta Metropolitan State, and Georgia Southern’s Swainsboro campus (formerly East Georgia State) list no geography associate pathway.
- Minor only: Fort Valley State University. Spelman College listed a geography minor in its 2020–22 bulletin.
- GIS optional, not required: Augusta University’s online urban planning certificate lets students choose a GIS course or grant writing.
- No geography or GIS credential: Albany State, Savannah State, Clayton State, Georgia Southwestern, Middle Georgia State, Dalton State, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, Emory, Mercer, Berry, Oglethorpe, Agnes Scott, Morehouse, Clark Atlanta, Shorter, Piedmont, LaGrange, Brenau, Reinhardt, Covenant, and Toccoa Falls.
Tuition Comparison
Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.
Undergraduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Georgia A.B. and B.S. in Geography | $5,067 per semester, more than 6 hours (resident) $15,902 per semester (out-of-state) | Two semesters | $10,134 resident per year $31,804 out-of-state per year | $747 per semester |
| Georgia State University B.S. in Geosciences; B.I.S. in Data Science and GIS | $309 per credit, capped at $4,635 for 15+ hours (resident) $1,030 per credit, capped at $15,450 (nonresident) | Two semesters at 15 hours | $9,270 resident per year $30,900 nonresident per year | $660 per semester at 6+ hours |
| Kennesaw State University B.A. in Geography; B.S. in Geospatial Sciences | $192 per credit (resident) $722 per credit (nonresident) | 30 credits per year | $5,760 resident per year $21,660 nonresident per year | $594 per semester |
| Kennesaw State University (online) Geographic Information Sciences Certificate | $192 per credit eTuition (rate for nonresidents not stated) | 15 credits | $2,880 resident total | $594 online learner fee per semester |
| University of North Georgia B.S. in Environmental Spatial Analysis | $193 per credit (in-state) $726 per credit (out-of-state) | 30 credits per year | $5,790 in-state per year $21,780 out-of-state per year | $590 per semester at 7+ hours (Gainesville) |
| University of North Georgia GIS Certificate; Geospatial Intelligence Certificate | $193 per credit (in-state) $726 per credit (out-of-state) | GIS 12 credits; Geospatial Intelligence 25 credits | GIS: $2,316 in-state total; $8,712 out-of-state total Geospatial Intelligence: $4,825 in-state total; $18,150 out-of-state total | Same as above |
| Georgia Southern University B.S. in Geosciences, Geography concentration | $189 per credit (in-state, and out-of-state students taking only online classes) $710 per credit (out-of-state) | 30 credits per year | $5,670 in-state per year $21,300 out-of-state per year | $724 per semester (Statesboro); online learning fee of $412–$724 per semester instead for fully online students |
| University of West Georgia B.S. in Earth and Environmental Sciences | $189 per credit (in-state) $710 per credit ($189 plus a $521 out-of-state premium) | 30 credits per year | $5,670 in-state per year $21,300 out-of-state per year | $800 per semester at 5+ hours |
| Georgia College & State University B.A. in Geography | $3,886 per semester, more than 6 hours (in-state) $14,720 per semester (out-of-state) | Two semesters | $7,772 in-state per year $29,440 out-of-state per year | $755 per semester |
| Valdosta State University B.S. in Environmental Geosciences | $189 per credit (in-state) $710 per credit (out-of-state) | 30 credits per year | $5,670 in-state per year $21,300 out-of-state per year | $818 per semester |
| Valdosta State University GIS and Planning Certificate | $189 per credit (in-state) $710 per credit (out-of-state) | 15 credits | $2,835 in-state total $10,650 out-of-state total | $818 per semester |
| Columbus State University GIS and Science Certificate | $189 per credit (in-state) $710 per credit (out-of-state) | 16–18 credits | $3,024–$3,402 in-state total $11,360–$12,780 out-of-state total | $705 per semester |
| Georgia Gwinnett College B.A. in History, Geography concentration | $138 per credit (in-state; year not stated) $552 per credit (out-of-state) | 30 credits per year | $4,140 in-state per year $16,560 out-of-state per year | $622 per semester at 12–15 hours (tuition calculator) |
Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.
Graduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Georgia M.A., M.S., and Ph.D. in Geography | $5,172 per semester at 12+ hours (in-state) $15,912 per semester (out-of-state) | Two semesters | $10,344 in-state per year $31,824 out-of-state per year | $747 per semester. Assistantships and tuition waivers are available. |
| Georgia Institute of Technology M.S. in GIST | $7,280 per semester at 12+ hours (in-state, Fall 2026) $16,073 per semester (out-of-state) | Fall and spring at the Fall 2026 rate; summer capstone term not included | $14,560 in-state for two semesters $32,146 out-of-state for two semesters | $758 per semester at 4+ hours (Fall 2026) |
| Georgia State University M.S. in Geosciences | $4,944 per semester at 12+ hours (resident) $16,665 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $9,888 resident per year $33,330 nonresident per year | $660 per semester at 6+ hours |
| Georgia State University (online) GIScience Graduate Certificate | $464 per credit, same for all students | 13–15 credits | $6,032–$6,960 total | Online learning fee of $110 per credit, up to $660 per semester |
| University of North Georgia (online) M.S. in Spatial Information and Data Science | $320 per credit, same for all students | 30 credits | $9,600 total | Online learning fee of $167.50–$335 per semester |
| University of North Georgia Geospatial Science and Technology Certificate | $238 per credit (in-state) $1,010 per credit (out-of-state) | 15 credits | $3,570 in-state total $15,150 out-of-state total | Gainesville campus fees per semester |
| University of West Georgia (online) Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in GIS | $330 per credit ($249 tuition plus $81 eTuition), with no out-of-state charge for fully online students | 15 credits | $4,950 total | Online learning fee of $85.60 per credit, up to $428 per semester |
| University of West Georgia Planning, Public Safety, and GIS Certificate | $249 per credit (in-state) $1,032 per credit ($249 plus a $783 out-of-state premium) | 15 credits | $3,735 in-state total $15,480 out-of-state total | $800 per semester at 5+ hours |
Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.
Why some rates do not compare directly
- UGA, Georgia State, Georgia Tech, and Georgia College charge a flat rate above a set number of hours, so the per-year figures assume a full-time load. The other schools charge per credit, and the estimates assume 30 credits per year.
- Several online programs charge one rate regardless of state: Georgia State’s graduate certificate, UNG’s M.S., and West Georgia’s GIS certificate. Georgia Southern and UNG also charge in-state tuition to out-of-state undergraduates taking only online classes.
- Online students at several schools pay an online learning fee in place of campus fees.
- Columbus State and Georgia Gwinnett College offer in-state tuition to undergraduates from Alabama, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
- Georgia Tech’s Spring 2027 rates were not posted when we checked, and the M.S. in GIST also includes a summer term.
How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Georgia
Broad geography or technical GIS
UGA, Georgia College, and Kennesaw State offer degrees named Geography, and Georgia State, Georgia Southern, and Valdosta State offer geography within geosciences degrees. The more technical options are Kennesaw State’s B.S. in Geospatial Sciences, UNG’s B.S. in Environmental Spatial Analysis, West Georgia’s GIS concentration, and Georgia State’s B.I.S. in Data Science and GIS. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.
Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree
Undergraduate GIS certificates run 12 to 19 hours. Some are open to non-degree students, including those at Columbus State and Kennesaw State, while UGA’s and Georgia College’s are only for their own degree students. For graduate study, UGA offers thesis master’s degrees and the Ph.D., Georgia Tech and UNG offer professional GIS master’s degrees, and Georgia State offers a geography M.S. with a thesis or capstone. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.
Online or campus
Kennesaw State and Georgia Southern offer fully online geography bachelor’s degrees at public per-credit rates. Working professionals with a bachelor’s degree can choose the online graduate GIS certificates at West Georgia and Georgia State, or UNG’s online M.S. UGA, Georgia Tech, and Georgia College programs are campus-based. See more online geography programs.
Funding
- UGA: about 30 departmental teaching and research assistantships each year, plus Graduate School fellowships and tuition waivers.
- Georgia Tech: applicants who meet the January 15 priority deadline are considered for fellowships and graduate assistantships.
- Georgia State: the department offers teaching assistantships, and research assistantships come through individual faculty. The funding deadline for fall is February 15.
- UNG: graduate assistant positions are posted on the university’s job site.
Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Alabama, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, and Tennessee, or browse all state guides.
Sources and Review Date
Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages unless noted above. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule unless a row notes otherwise.
- University of Georgia: 2026–27 tuition, mandatory fees
- Georgia Tech: Fall 2026 graduate tuition and fees (PDF)
- Georgia State: tuition breakdown, online certificate tuition
- Kennesaw State: tuition and fees
- University of North Georgia: tuition and fee charts
- Georgia Southern: tuition and fees
- West Georgia: tuition and fees
- Georgia College: tuition and fees
- Valdosta State: tuition and fee schedules
- Columbus State: tuition and fees
- Georgia Gwinnett College: tuition calculator
Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.