State guide · Reviewed September 30, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Arizona Geography Degree Programs

Compare geography and GIS programs at ASU, the University of Arizona, NAU, and four community and tribal colleges, with online options and 2026–27 tuition.

Arizona’s three public universities, ASU, the University of Arizona, and NAU, offer geography and geographic information systems (GIS) programs from the bachelor’s through the doctoral level. Each offers at least one online degree. Four community and tribal colleges add lower-cost associate degrees and GIS certificates.

Quick picks for Arizona

Rates are resident tuition before fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.


Arizona Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
ASUBachelor of Arts (B.A.) in GeographyOnline or Tempe120Second-language requirement
ASUBachelor of Science (B.S.) in GeographyOnline or Tempe120Statistics and science requirements
ASUB.S. in Geography (Meteorology-Climatology)Tempe120Calculus, physics, and dynamic meteorology
ASUB.S. in Geographic Information ScienceOnline or Tempe120Two-course GIS programming sequence
ASUUndergraduate certificate in Geographic Information ScienceOnline or Tempe20Open to post-baccalaureate students
University of ArizonaB.A. in GeographyTucson120Senior capstone
University of ArizonaB.S. in GeographyTucson120Choice of three emphases
University of ArizonaB.S. in Geographic Information Systems Technology (GIST)Online12045-unit GIS major
University of ArizonaUndergraduate certificate in Geographic Information ScienceOnline13Includes a practicum
NAUB.S. in Geography, Environment, and SocietyFlagstaff120Combines geography with city planning
Maricopa Community CollegesAssociate in Arts (A.A.), Emphasis in GeographyIn person at 9 colleges, some online courses60–64Mapped to geography bachelor’s degrees at ASU, NAU, and the University of Arizona
Maricopa Community CollegesAssociate in Science (A.S.), Emphasis in Geography – MeteorologyIn person at 8 colleges60–64Mapped to ASU’s Meteorology-Climatology B.S.
Arizona Western CollegeA.S. in GeographyNot stated60Transfer degree
Arizona Western CollegeBasic and Advanced Geospatial Technology certificates (undergraduate)Not stated4 eachEntry-level GIS skills
Tohono O’odham CCA.A. in Geographic Information ScienceNot stated60–61Required GIS internship
Tohono O’odham CCAssociate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Geographic Information ScienceNot stated60Designed for direct employment
Tohono O’odham CCCertificate in Geographic Information Science (undergraduate)Not stated31Includes remote sensing and GPS
Diné CollegeCertificate in Geographic Information Systems (undergraduate)Not stated30Environmental GIS focus

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
ASUMaster of Arts (M.A.) in GeographyOnline or Tempe30Thesis or capstone
ASUDoctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in GeographyTempe84 (54 with a master’s)Up to four years of funding
ASUPh.D. in Geographic Information ScienceTempe84 (54 with a master’s)Doctorate focused on GIScience
ASUGraduate certificate in Geographic Information ScienceTempe15For ASU master’s students or professionals with a master’s
University of ArizonaMaster of Science (M.S.) in GISTOnline30Master’s project instead of a thesis
University of ArizonaM.A. in GeographyTucson33Fall admission only
University of ArizonaPh.D. in GeographyTucson66Master’s degree required first
University of ArizonaProfessional GIST graduate certificateOnline9Any three GIST graduate courses
University of ArizonaGraduate certificate in Geographic Information ScienceTucson14Includes a practicum
NAUM.S. in Geographic Information Science with Remote SensingOnline30One-year option for full-time fall starters
NAUM.S. in GeographyFlagstaff30Thesis or practicum
NAUGraduate certificate in Geographic Information SystemsFlagstaff or online16Choice of eight GIS courses

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs. Minors are not listed.

Related Urban Planning Programs

These planning credentials use GIS but are not geography or GIS degrees.

  • ASU: Bachelor of Science in Planning (B.S.P.) in Urban Planning (online or Tempe, 120 credits). Master of Urban and Environmental Planning (MUEP; online or Tempe, 47 credits, accredited by the Planning Accreditation Board). Ph.D. in Urban Planning (Tempe).
  • University of Arizona: B.S. in Urban and Regional Development (Tucson or online, 120 units).
  • NAU: graduate certificate in Community Planning (Flagstaff, 15 units), which can also count toward NAU’s M.S. in Geography.

ASU’s online MUEP charges $605 per credit in base tuition plus a $410 per credit program fee, which comes to $47,705 in full-program tuition for 47 credits before fees. Online MUEP students must complete the Planning Workshop practicum. ASU states that online MUEP students are not eligible for its funding packages. See our urban planning guide.


Which Geography or GIS Degree Should You Choose?

Requirements vary by university. The letters in a degree title do not tell you how technical a program is. A B.S. is not always more technical than a B.A., and an M.S. is not always more technical than an M.A., so compare the required courses.

Degree or credentialMain purposeWhat to check before enrolling
Associate in Arts (A.A.) and Associate in Science (A.S.)Transfer preparation: general education plus introductory geography or GIS coursesWhich university programs the degree is mapped to, and how the receiving school applies your courses
Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.)Applied training for employmentTransfer options vary, so ask each target university how it evaluates applied courses
Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)Geography with liberal arts requirementsLanguage, minor, and methods requirements
Bachelor of Science (B.S.)Geography or GIS with science, math, or technical requirementsMath prerequisites, required emphases, and software or computer requirements
Undergraduate certificateFocused GIS training (4–31 credits in Arizona), alone or alongside a degreeWhether non-degree students can enroll, and whether financial aid applies
Master of Arts (M.A.) and Master of Science (M.S.)Advanced study after a bachelor’s degreeThesis or project options, GIS depth, and funding for your delivery format
Graduate certificateFocused GIS training after a bachelor’s degree (9–16 credits in Arizona)Eligibility rules and whether credits count toward a master’s
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)Advanced research and preparation for university teachingWhether a master’s is required first, funding terms, and faculty research areas

A.A./A.S. vs. A.A.S.

A.A. and A.S. degrees are built to transfer: they combine general education with introductory courses in the major. An A.A.S. puts more of its credits into job-ready technical training, and fewer of them may count toward a bachelor’s degree.

Tohono O’odham Community College (TOCC) offers both. Its A.A. in Geographic Information Science includes the 33-credit Arizona General Education Curriculum (AGEC) block. TOCC’s catalog says a completed AGEC with a 2.5 GPA or higher transfers as a block to Arizona’s public universities. The AGEC does not replace major prerequisites, and TOCC publishes no GIS-specific agreement with ASU, the University of Arizona, or NAU. TOCC describes its A.A.S. as a direct-employment degree. Its catalog says A.A.S. credits may transfer but that transfer is not the degree’s purpose, and the degree may not meet a university’s general education requirements.

B.A. vs. B.S.

At ASU, the B.A. and B.S. in Geography share a core in GIS, physical geography with lab, human geography, and research methods. Both total 120 credits and are available online. The B.A. requires a second language through the intermediate level (16 credits). The B.S. instead adds Statistics for Geography and Planning, an upper-division GIS course, and 6 credits of science and society coursework.

The University of Arizona draws the line differently. Its B.S. requires an emphasis, one of which is Geographic Information Science, while its B.A. ends in a senior capstone. Compare bachelor’s programs nationally.

Geography Master’s vs. GIS Master’s

Geography master’s programs cover human, environmental, and physical geography, with research methods and a thesis or project. ASU’s online M.A. includes Geodesign and Urban Planning and GIS for Climate Change Science, and ASU says it offers only a foundational introduction to GIS. NAU’s M.S. in Geography and the University of Arizona’s M.A. are research-oriented campus programs.

GIS master’s programs focus on technical skills. The University of Arizona’s M.S. in GIST covers programming, web GIS, geo-databases, and remote sensing. NAU’s M.S. in Geographic Information Science covers programming for GIS, enterprise geodatabases, remote sensing, and geovisualization. Both end in a professional project rather than a thesis. Read more about GIScience, geospatial technology, and master’s programs.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Arizona

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.

Verified fully online options

  • ASU Online: B.A. and B.S. in Geography, B.S. in Geographic Information Science, the undergraduate GIS certificate, and the M.A. in Geography. Online classes run in 7.5-week sessions. The GIS B.S. requires an applied experience: an approved internship, supervised research, or a capstone seminar.
  • University of Arizona (Arizona Online): B.S. in GIST, M.S. in GIST, the Professional GIST graduate certificate, and the undergraduate GIS certificate. GIST courses use Esri software, which requires a Windows computer.
  • NAU: M.S. in Geographic Information Science with Remote Sensing (online in the catalog) and the graduate GIS certificate (Flagstaff or online).

Online coursework, but not a verified online program

  • NAU M.S. in Geography: NAU’s FAQ says it can be completed online, but the 2026–27 catalog lists Flagstaff only. Confirm the format with NAU before applying.
  • Maricopa geography associate degrees: some courses run online, but no college states that the degree can be finished online. Rio Salado, Maricopa’s online-focused college, does not offer several required courses.

ASU’s program is also profiled in our ASU online geography guide. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Arizona School Summaries

Arizona State University

ASU’s School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning offers the most geography and GIS credentials in the state. Its B.A. and B.S. in Geography share a core; the differences are explained under B.A. vs. B.S. above.

  • B.S. in Geographic Information Science: GIScience I–III, Programming Principles in GIS I and II, and Advanced Statistics for Geography and Planning, plus a required applied experience.
  • B.S. in Geography (Meteorology-Climatology): Synoptic, Physical, and Dynamic Meteorology plus calculus and physics. ASU says the degree meets National Weather Service requirements for meteorologist positions.
  • M.A. in Geography: 30 credits with a thesis or a capstone, online or in Tempe.
  • Ph.D. programs: separate doctorates in Geography and Geographic Information Science in Tempe.
  • Graduate certificate: 15 credits in Tempe, open only to ASU master’s students or to working professionals who already hold a master’s.
  • Graduate admissions: a 3.00 GPA in the last 60 hours. The M.A. requires one letter of recommendation and the Ph.D.s require three. The GRE is not required.
  • Funding: ASU states that the M.A. does not provide funding and that assistantships for M.A. students are rare, case-by-case appointments. Ph.D. students can receive up to four years of support with tuition remission, health insurance, and a stipend whose amount ASU does not publish.

ASU suits students who want an online geography or GIS bachelor’s from a research university, or a Ph.D. focused on GIScience. Its Master of Advanced Study in GIS is not currently accepting applications. See tuition.

Sources: SGSUP online degrees; GIS B.S.; B.A. checksheet; B.S. checksheet; Geography M.A.; graduate funding.


University of Arizona

The University of Arizona offers campus geography degrees and online GIS technology degrees. Its B.A. in Geography ends in a senior capstone. Its B.S. in Geography requires an emphasis in Geographic Information Science, Physical Geography, or Water, Environment and Society. Both require a minor. For its online programs, see our University of Arizona Online M.S. in GIS Technology profile.

  • B.S. in GIST: Map Science, Cartographic Design and Production, Python Programming for GIST, Geo-Databases, Advanced GIS, and a senior capstone. A minor or second major is required.
  • M.S. in GIST: an emphasis in Geospatial Analysis (remote sensing, raster and vector analysis) or Geospatial Data Science (geovisualization, open-source GIS, drone-based mapping). It ends in a 6-unit master’s project with a formal report and presentation.
  • M.S. GIST admissions: a 3.0 GPA, a statement of purpose of 300 words or less, one letter of recommendation, and a résumé. No GRE is required. Online deadlines are July 31 for fall and December 10 for spring.
  • M.A. and Ph.D. in Geography: the M.A. admits for fall only. The Ph.D. requires a master’s and offers an optional Urban Planning emphasis. Neither requires the GRE.
  • Funding: competitive teaching and research assistantships for geography graduate students provide a half-time stipend and can waive nonresident tuition and fees. The university does not advertise assistantships for GIST students.

The University of Arizona suits students who want technical GIS training online at the bachelor’s or master’s level. Its campus geography programs fit students interested in water and environment research. See tuition.

Sources: Geography B.S. catalog; B.S. GIST (online); M.S. GIST catalog; M.S. GIST admissions; M.A. Geography.


Northern Arizona University

NAU’s Department of Geography, Planning, and Recreation offers the B.S. in Geography, Environment, and Society in Flagstaff. The degree combines geography with city planning and requires a minor.

  • B.S. core: Mapping the World; Physical Geography; Human Geography; Introduction to City Planning; Nature and Society; Urban Realm. It also requires an introductory GIS course, a statistics or methods course, and a senior capstone.
  • B.S. applied learning: 3 units from a professional internship, undergraduate research, independent study, or study abroad.
  • M.S. in Geographic Information Science with Remote Sensing: six required 4-unit courses and a graduate capstone, with no thesis. Admission requires a bachelor’s degree with a 3.0 GPA, a personal statement, and recommendations. No GRE or prior GIS experience is required.
  • M.S. in Geography: a thesis or a project-based practicum, followed by an oral defense. Students can count a GIS or Community Planning graduate certificate toward the degree, and an accelerated B.S.-to-M.S. route is available.
  • Funding: NAU offers teaching assistantships with a stipend and tuition waiver to on-campus M.S. in Geography students. Its FAQ says department support is not offered to fully online students.

NAU fits working professionals who want a fast online GIS master’s, and Flagstaff students who want geography combined with planning. See tuition.

Sources: B.S. catalog; M.S. GIScience catalog; M.S. GIScience program page; M.S. Geography catalog; GIS certificate.


Maricopa Community Colleges

The Maricopa district awards two geography associate degrees. The A.A., Emphasis in Geography is offered at nine colleges, including Paradise Valley, Estrella Mountain, Mesa, and Scottsdale. It includes Human Geography, World Geography, Physical Geography with lab, a landforms or meteorology course, and Geographic Information Technologies.

The A.S., Emphasis in Geography – Meteorology adds meteorology, climate, calculus, and university physics. Students must earn a C or better in program courses and may need to take some courses at a second Maricopa college. Admission is open, with no program-specific requirements. See tuition.

Sources: A.A., Emphasis in Geography; A.S., Emphasis in Geography – Meteorology.


Arizona Western College

Arizona Western in Yuma offers an A.S. in Geography transfer degree. It includes Human Geography, World Regional Geography, Introduction to Geospatial Technology, Physical Geography, and a meteorology or climate course.

Two short occupational certificates cover entry-level GIS skills: Basic Geospatial Technology (geospatial technology and spatial analysis) and Advanced Geospatial Technology (cartographic design and data acquisition). AWC does not state a delivery format for these programs. See tuition.

Sources: A.S. Geography; geospatial technology certificates.


Tohono O’odham Community College

TOCC in Sells offers three GIS credentials: a transfer-oriented A.A. in Geographic Information Science, an employment-focused A.A.S., and a certificate. Core courses include Introduction to Geospatial Technology, Introduction to GPS, Introduction to GIS, and Advanced GIS. The A.A. requires an Internship in GIS.

Enrolled members of federally recognized tribes receive a tuition waiver. TOCC’s posted A.A.S. and certificate requirement sheets are dated 2025–26. See tuition.

Sources: TOCC degrees and certifications; enrollment and tuition; 2026–27 catalog (PDF).


Diné College

Diné College in Tsaile offers a Certificate in Geographic Information Systems built around environmental work: Introduction to GIS, GIS with Lab, Geodatabases and Spatial Analysis, and Environmental Sampling and Monitoring. Students present a mini research project at Chinle High School. The college notes that this certificate is not eligible for federal Title IV financial aid. See tuition.

Source: Diné College GIS certificate.


Schools not included

  • ASU’s Master of Advanced Study in GIS is not accepting applications.
  • NAU’s M.S. in Applied Geospatial Sciences stopped admitting students after spring 2022.
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University’s GIS and Remote Sensing certification in Prescott is open only to students in its Uncrewed and Autonomous Systems degree.

Tuition Comparison

All rates are published 2026–27 tuition unless noted. Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from the published rate and the stated basis. Each estimate is labeled as per academic year or full-program tuition, and none includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.

Undergraduate and associate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees not included
ASU (Tempe)
Geography and GIS bachelor’s
$6,089 per semester flat rate at 7+ credits (resident)
$17,858 per semester at 12+ credits (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$12,178 resident per year; $35,716 nonresident per year$679 per semester in university fees plus a college fee of $125 or $595 per semester, depending on tier
ASU Online
Geography and GIS bachelor’s
$580 per credit; resident tuition capped at $6,089 per semester30 credits over two semesters$12,178 resident per year; $17,400 nonresident per year$78 student fee and $100 technology fee per semester, plus a college fee of $45 or $67 per credit
University of Arizona (Tucson)
Geography B.A./B.S.
$6,084 per semester flat rate at 12+ units (resident)
$21,300 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$12,168 resident per year; $42,600 nonresident per year$869 per semester in mandatory fees; Social and Behavioral Sciences college fee of $275 (resident) or $400 (nonresident) per semester
University of Arizona Online
B.S. GIST and undergraduate GIS certificate
$540 per unit on the FY2027 (2026–27) Bursar chart; Arizona Online program pages list $525 (resident or nonresident)30 units per year (B.S.); 13 units (certificate)$15,750–$16,200 per year (B.S.; rate unconfirmed)
$6,825–$7,020 total (certificate; rate unconfirmed)
Online fees of $41.50–$228 per term, depending on units
NAU (Flagstaff)
B.S. Geography, Environment, and Society
$500 per unit, capped at $6,000 per semester (resident)
$15,000 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$12,000 resident per year; $30,000 nonresident per year$1,625 per year in mandatory fees; college fees of $752 (resident) or $1,132 (nonresident) per year
Maricopa Community Colleges
A.A. or A.S., Emphasis in Geography
$97 per credit (Arizona resident)
$372 per credit (out-of-state)
$253 per credit (out-of-state, online courses)
60–64 credits$5,820–$6,208 resident total; $22,320–$23,808 out-of-state total$15 registration fee per semester; course fees vary
Arizona Western College
A.S. in Geography
$105 per credit (resident)
$160 per credit at 7+ credits (out-of-state)
60 credits; out-of-state estimate assumes 7+ credits per semester$6,300 resident total; $9,600 out-of-state totalTechnology fee of $5 per credit; program fees vary
Arizona Western College
Geospatial Technology certificates
$105 per credit (resident)
$120 per credit at 1–6 credits (out-of-state)
4 credits per certificate$420 resident total; $480 out-of-state total (each certificate)Technology fee of $5 per credit
Tohono O’odham Community College
GIS certificate, A.A., A.A.S.
$36 per credit, with tuition waived for enrolled members of federally recognized tribes (no academic year printed)Certificate 31 credits; A.A. 60–61; A.A.S. 60Certificate: $1,116 total
A.A.: $2,160–$2,196 total
A.A.S.: $2,160 total
TOCC does not list fees with the rate
Diné College
GIS certificate
$55 per credit (no academic year or residency split printed)30 credits$1,650 totalNot listed with the rate

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees not included
ASU (Tempe)
M.A. Geography and Ph.D.s
$6,664 per semester flat rate at 7+ credits (resident)
$19,470 per semester at 12+ credits (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$13,328 resident per year; $38,940 nonresident per year$829 per semester in fees for residents at 7+ credits. Funded Ph.D. students receive tuition remission.
ASU Online
M.A. Geography
$605 per credit base tuition plus a $110 per credit program fee30 credits$21,450 totalStudent fee up to $106 per semester; Graduate Student Support Fee of $15 per credit; technology fee up to $100 per semester
University of Arizona (Tucson)
M.A./Ph.D. Geography
$7,750 per semester flat rate at 7+ units (resident)
$17,900 per semester at 9+ units (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$15,500 resident per year; $35,800 nonresident per year$61 per semester in mandatory fees. Assistantships can waive nonresident tuition.
University of Arizona Online
M.S. GIST and Professional GIST certificate
$850 per unit, resident or nonresident30 units (M.S.); 9 units (certificate)M.S.: $25,500 total
Certificate: $7,650 total
Online fees of $26.50–$53 per term. The campus M.S. GIST adds a $150 per unit program fee.
NAU Online
M.S. GIScience and GIS certificate
$698 per unit30 units (M.S.); 16 units (certificate)M.S.: $20,940 total
Certificate: $11,168 total
Information Technology Fee of $208 and Financial Aid Trust Fee of $60 per semester at 7+ units
NAU (Flagstaff)
M.S. Geography
$6,791 per semester flat rate at 7+ units (resident)
$16,900 per semester at 9+ units (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$13,582 resident per year; $33,800 nonresident per year$1,625 per year in mandatory fees

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • ASU’s and the University of Arizona’s online programs charge per credit with no cap for nonresidents, so out-of-state students often pay less online than on campus.
  • Program fees are added to base tuition. ASU’s online M.A. adds $110 per credit. The University of Arizona’s campus M.S. GIST adds $150 per unit, while its online M.S. has no program fee.
  • The University of Arizona’s FY2027 tuition chart lists $540 per unit for Arizona Online undergraduates, up from $525 in FY2026, but the Arizona Online program pages still show $525. Estimates for those programs use both figures until the university confirms the rate for new fall 2026 students.
  • ASU does not state whether geography programs fall in its humanities and social sciences fee tier or its sciences tier, so both college fees are shown.
  • NAU’s guaranteed-rate tuition pledge no longer applies to students admitted after spring 2023. Starting in fall 2027, NAU will charge nonresident Flagstaff undergraduates $16,000 per year.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Arizona

Online or campus

Verified online options in Arizona include ASU’s geography and GIS bachelor’s degrees and M.A., the University of Arizona’s GIST bachelor’s, master’s, and certificates, and NAU’s GIS master’s and graduate certificate. ASU’s meteorology degree, all of the Ph.D.s, the University of Arizona’s geography B.A. and B.S., and NAU’s bachelor’s are campus programs. Online students still have applied requirements, such as ASU’s GIS applied experience and NAU’s summer capstone for one-year completion.

Thesis or applied graduate work

ASU’s M.A. and NAU’s M.S. in Geography offer a thesis or an applied project. The University of Arizona’s M.S. GIST and NAU’s M.S. in GIScience end in a professional project instead of a thesis. Students considering a Ph.D. should check research preparation and admissions requirements. A thesis can help demonstrate research experience.

Funding

  • ASU: Ph.D. students can receive up to four years of funding. ASU states that the M.A. does not provide funding.
  • University of Arizona: competitive assistantships for M.A. and Ph.D. Geography students. Funding for GIST students is not advertised.
  • NAU: teaching assistantships for on-campus M.S. in Geography students. NAU’s FAQ says fully online students do not receive department support.

Cost

Starting at a community college lowers the cost of the first two years: Maricopa charges Arizona residents $97 per credit, compared with university rates of $500 or more. Nonresidents should compare the online per-credit rates at ASU and the University of Arizona, which are much lower than their campus nonresident tuition.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in New Mexico, Utah, Colorado, California, and Nevada, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed September 30, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog, curriculum checksheets, or program pages. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule unless noted.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.