Delaware Geography Degree Programs

State guide · Reviewed October 14, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Delaware Geography Degree Programs

Compare Delaware's 1 school with geography and GIS programs: UD certificates to a Ph.D., a $13,788 online GIS certificate, and 2026–27 tuition.

Delaware has 1 school with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: the University of Delaware, a public research university in Newark. Its Department of Geography and Spatial Sciences offers two geography bachelor’s degrees, a B.S. in GIScience and Environmental Data Analytics, master’s and doctoral degrees in geography, and two graduate GIS certificates. The only fully online option is UD’s 12-credit Geospatial Data Science Certificate; no online geography degree was verified. Delaware State University, Delaware Technical Community College, and Wilmington University teach GIS courses but offer no geography or GIS-named credential.


Delaware Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of DelawareBachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geography (4 concentrations)
B.A. in Geography Education
Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in GIScience and Environmental Data Analytics (5 concentrations)
Campus (Newark)124 eachGeospatial Techniques concentration in the B.A.; the B.S. combines computer science, electrical engineering, mathematics, and geography

Credentials were verified against the University of Delaware’s 2026–27 undergraduate catalog. Honors versions of the geography and geography education degrees are also listed. Minors are not listed.

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of DelawareMaster of Arts (M.A.) in Geography
Master of Science (M.S.) in Geography
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography
Geographic Information Science Certificate (graduate)
Geospatial Data Science Certificate (graduate)
Degrees and GIS Certificate: campus (Newark)
Geospatial Data Science Certificate: fully online
M.A. and M.S.: 30 minimum (thesis)
Ph.D.: 21 minimum
Certificates: 12 each
Thesis-based master’s degrees; online certificate taught in four 7-week courses

The same department also offers a Ph.D. in Climatology, which is not counted here as a geography or GIS credential. See the University of Delaware summary.

Community Colleges

Delaware’s only community college, Delaware Technical Community College, lists no GIS or geography degree or certificate among its programs of study, so it is not counted. Its Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Civil and Environmental Engineering Technology includes two GIS courses, Introduction to GIS and Spatial Data Analysis/Modeling, in its sample course sequence. See schools not included.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Delaware

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The program below has an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs with no verified online route.

Verified fully online options

  • University of Delaware Geospatial Data Science Certificate: the Department of Geography and Spatial Sciences and UD’s Graduate College describe it as a fully online certificate of four courses, each taught in a 7-week session. It is a 12-credit graduate certificate, not a degree, and no prior GIS experience is required.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • University of Delaware Geographic Information Science Certificate: the department labels this 12-credit graduate certificate as in person, separate from the online Geospatial Data Science Certificate.
  • University of Delaware geography degrees: the B.A., B.S., M.A., M.S., and Ph.D. are campus programs in Newark. UD does not list an online version of any of them.

For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Delaware School Summaries

University of Delaware

UD’s Department of Geography and Spatial Sciences sits in the College of Earth, Ocean, and Environment. The B.A. in Geography is a 124-credit degree with four concentrations: Atmosphere and Earth Systems; Environment and Society; Geospatial Techniques; and Space, Place, and Globalization. All students take Topics in Human-Environment, physical geography with a lab (or Climate and Life), human or world regional geography, two of three methods courses (geographic data analysis, research design and mixed methods, or Introduction to GIS), and a capstone. The Geospatial Techniques concentration adds 12 credits from courses such as Advanced GIS, computer programming for environmental research, satellite climatology, and environmental statistics.

The B.A. in Geography Education (124 credits) prepares students for certification to teach middle and high school social studies, with a student-teaching placement. A 4+1 option pairs it with a master’s in educational technology. The B.S. in GIScience and Environmental Data Analytics (124 credits) combines a technical core of computer science (including data structures and database systems), signals and imaging courses from electrical engineering, three semesters of calculus, linear algebra, and physics with GIS, cartography, remote sensing, and a data analytics capstone. Students choose a concentration in cybersecurity, data mining, environmental data science, management information systems, or remote sensing. A 4+1 option leads to an MBA.

At the graduate level, the M.A. and M.S. in Geography each require at least 30 credits: Prelude to Geography, 21 more credits at the 600 level or above, and at least 6 thesis credits, ending in a public thesis defense. The M.A. leans toward human geography and the M.S. toward physical geography; both list geospatial technologies among their subfields. The Ph.D. in Geography requires a minimum of 21 credits (12 of coursework and 9 of dissertation), comprehensive exams, and a dissertation. Doctoral students master two areas, one topical and one methodological, such as geographic information science or statistical methods. The department also offers a 30-credit Ph.D. in Climatology.

Two 12-credit graduate certificates are open to students with a bachelor’s degree. The in-person Geographic Information Science Certificate starts with Geographic Information Systems and Science, then adds 9 elective credits from courses in advanced GIS, remote sensing, cartography, spatial data analysis, spatial statistics, and machine learning. The fully online Geospatial Data Science Certificate has four set courses: Geographic Information Systems and Science, Advanced GIS, computer programming for environmental research, and spatial data analysis and modeling. Both require a B- or higher in each course, and current UD graduate students can add either certificate.

Sources: Geography B.A. (Geospatial Techniques) catalog; Geography Education B.A. catalog; GIScience and Environmental Data Analytics B.S. catalog; Geography M.A., M.S., and Ph.D. catalog; GIS Certificate and Geospatial Data Science Certificate catalog; department degree programs; GIS certificates page.


Schools not included

  • Delaware State University: no geography or GIS degree, certificate, or concentration in its 2025–26 undergraduate or 2026–27 graduate catalog. It offers Introduction to GIS and a graduate GIS in Natural Resources course within its natural resources programs.
  • Delaware Technical Community College: no GIS or geography credential among its programs of study. GIS courses appear only inside the Civil and Environmental Engineering Technology A.A.S.
  • Wilmington University: no geography or GIS credential in its program list. Its M.S. in Environmental Science includes GIS skills, and it offers a Drone Operations and Applications undergraduate certificate, but neither is a geography or GIS program.
  • Goldey-Beacom College: business-focused; no geography or GIS program in its program finder.
  • University of Delaware urban and policy programs: the M.A. in Urban Analytics and Policy and the Urban Data Science Certificate are policy programs, not planning or GIS credentials. UD has no planning degree, so this page has no planning table.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.

Undergraduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Delaware
B.A. in Geography, B.A. in Geography Education, B.S. in GIScience and Environmental Data Analytics
$7,870 per semester (Delaware resident, 12+ credits)
$21,235 per semester (non-resident)
Part-time: $656 per credit (resident), $1,770 per credit (non-resident)
Two full-time semesters$15,740 resident per year
$42,470 non-resident per year
$1,275 per semester full-time mandatory fees ($2,550 per year)

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Delaware
M.A. or M.S. in Geography
$1,149 per credit, any residency30 credits (catalog minimum)$34,470 totalStudent wellbeing $734, student center $268, and graduate recreation $100 per year in UD’s full-time budget ($1,102 per year)
University of Delaware
Ph.D. in Geography
$1,149 per credit, any residency21 credits (catalog minimum)$24,129 totalSame as above; sustaining status after coursework is $1,347 per semester
University of Delaware
Geographic Information Science Certificate (campus)
$1,149 per credit, any residency12 credits$13,788 totalNot stated for certificate-only students
University of Delaware (online)
Geospatial Data Science Certificate
$1,149 per credit, any residency12 credits$13,788 totalNot stated for online certificate students

All rates are for 2026–27.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • UD charges a flat undergraduate rate for 12 or more credits per semester. The per-credit rate applies to part-time students and summer and winter sessions.
  • $1,149 per credit is UD’s standard 2026–27 graduate rate. UD says a small number of programs charge more or less, and each geography and GIS program page lists this standard rate.
  • The Ph.D. figure is a catalog minimum. Actual credits depend on the student’s prior degree and advisory committee. Doctoral funding was not verified.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Delaware

Broad geography or technical GIS

UD’s B.A. in Geography covers physical and human geography, and its Geospatial Techniques concentration adds advanced GIS and programming. The B.S. in GIScience and Environmental Data Analytics is the more technical option, with a math, computer science, and engineering core. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.

Bachelor’s, master’s, or certificate

Students who already hold a bachelor’s degree can add GIS skills with one of UD’s 12-credit certificates instead of a full master’s. The M.A. and M.S. are thesis degrees aimed at research, and the Ph.D. builds on them. Compare bachelor’s programs and master’s programs nationally.

Online or campus

The only fully online option in Delaware is UD’s Geospatial Data Science Certificate. Every degree on this page is campus-based. For online degrees, see online geography schools.

Teaching geography

UD’s B.A. in Geography Education is the only Delaware program on this page that leads to teacher certification, in middle and high school social studies. It includes a student-teaching placement.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from the University of Delaware’s 2026–27 undergraduate and graduate catalogs and department pages unless noted above. Tuition comes from UD’s 2026–27 rate schedules.

Program-level source links appear at the end of the school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with the school before applying.