Idaho has 6 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: 3 public universities, 1 private university, and 2 community colleges. The University of Idaho offers the state’s only Ph.D. in geography, along with a B.S. in GIS and two master’s degrees. Idaho State University offers an M.S. in Geographic Information Science. The verified fully online options are University of Idaho graduate programs and College of Western Idaho’s GIS certificate and geography associate degree.
Quick picks for Idaho
- Lowest-cost GIS credential: College of Southern Idaho, an 8-credit Geospatial Technology certificate at $155 per credit, or $1,240 total for in-district students.
- Fully online GIS certificate: College of Western Idaho, 16–19 credits at $172 per credit for in-district students.
- Online master’s degree: University of Idaho M.S. in Geographic Information Science, 30 credits at $655 per credit for students taking only online courses, regardless of residency.
- Bachelor’s degree in GIS: University of Idaho B.S. in Geographical Information Systems, $9,824 per year in resident tuition and fees.
- Ph.D. program: University of Idaho (Moscow).
Rates are resident or in-district rates before extra fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.
Idaho Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance
Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates at Universities
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Idaho | Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geographical Information Systems B.S. in Earth and Spatial Sciences, Geography and Global Sustainability option GIS Undergraduate Academic Certificate | Campus (Moscow) | GIS B.S. major: 86–88 Earth and Spatial Sciences major: 61–67 Certificate: 15 Degrees: 120 total | GIS B.S. requires GIS programming, two remote sensing courses, and a senior capstone |
| Idaho State University | B.S. in Earth and Environmental Systems, Geospatial Systems concentration | Campus (Pocatello) | Major: 70–71 Degree: 120 total | Accelerated pathway into the M.S. in Geographic Information Science |
| Brigham Young University–Idaho | GIS (Geographic Information Systems) Certificate | Not stated (Rexburg campus) | 13–15 | Web and mobile GIS, remote sensing, and drone mapping options |
Graduate Degrees and Certificates
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Idaho | Master of Science (M.S.) in Geographic Information Science M.S. in Geography Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography GIS Graduate Academic Certificate | M.S. degrees: campus (Moscow) or online (non-thesis) Ph.D.: campus Certificate: campus or online | M.S. degrees: 30 Ph.D.: Not stated Certificate: 15 | Seven M.S. in GIS application areas, from remote sensing to geospatial intelligence |
| Boise State University | Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Analysis | Not stated (Boise campus) | 15 | Open to students not enrolled in a degree program |
| Idaho State University | M.S. in Geographic Information Science Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science | Campus (Pocatello); the state program inventory lists hybrid delivery | M.S.: 30 minimum Certificate: 19 | Research or professional concentration; GRE not required |
Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs and program pages. Idaho schools use the semester system, so credits are semester credits. Minors are not listed.
Community College Degrees and Certificates
| College | Credential | Units | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| College of Southern Idaho Twin Falls | Geospatial Technology, Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) Geospatial Technology, Basic Technical Certificate | 60 8 | Not stated |
| College of Western Idaho Nampa | Geographic Information Systems, Academic Certificate Geography, Associate of Arts (A.A.) | 16–19 60 | Fully online available |
North Idaho College and College of Eastern Idaho do not list a GIS credential. The State Board of Education’s program inventory also lists a Geography A.A. at the College of Southern Idaho, but it does not appear in CSI’s 2026–27 catalog.
Related Urban Planning Programs
Boise State University’s B.A. in Urban Studies and Community Development requires Introduction to Geographic Information Systems in its 83-credit major, along with urban politics, planning, infrastructure, and a capstone seminar. Boise State’s 9-credit undergraduate Certificate in Planning includes a GIS for Planning Applications course. No Idaho university lists a master’s degree in planning in its 2026–27 catalog. See our urban planning guide.
Online Geography and GIS Programs in Idaho
An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.
Verified fully online options
- University of Idaho M.S. in Geographic Information Science: offered in Moscow and online. The university says the program lets students complete coursework part-time or full-time “from anywhere.” Most online students choose the non-thesis track.
- University of Idaho M.S. in Geography (non-thesis professional option): the catalog says this option “can be completed via face-to-face or by online delivery.” The thesis option is campus-based.
- University of Idaho GIS Graduate Academic Certificate: listed for Moscow and online, with in-person and online students taking the same 15 credits.
- College of Western Idaho GIS Academic Certificate and Geography A.A.: the catalog says “all requirements for this degree or certificate may be completed fully online” for both programs.
Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program
- Idaho State University M.S. and Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science: the State Board of Education’s program inventory lists both as hybrid, but ISU’s program pages do not say either can be completed online.
- College of Southern Idaho Geospatial Technology A.A.S.: the state inventory lists “some portion online.” The program includes GPS fieldwork, drone operations, and an internship.
- University of Idaho undergraduate programs: the GIS B.S. and the undergraduate GIS certificate are listed for the Moscow campus only.
No Idaho school offers a geography or GIS bachelor’s degree that it describes as fully online. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.
Idaho School Summaries
University of Idaho
The Department of Earth and Spatial Sciences in Moscow offers a B.S. in Geographical Information Systems with an 86–88 credit major. Required courses include Foundations of GIS, Cartographic Design and Geovisualization, Intermediate GIS, GIS Programming, a Python course, and a senior capstone in geography. Students also choose three GIS application courses, two remote sensing courses (drone options included), and a data analytics course, and need a C or better in all geography courses. The B.S. in Earth and Spatial Sciences has a Geography and Global Sustainability option that includes Global Climate Change, Cartographic Design, Geopolitics and Conflict or Sustainability of Global Development, and the same senior capstone.
The 15-credit undergraduate GIS certificate requires Foundations of GIS and Intermediate GIS plus nine elective credits; at least 9 of the 15 credits must come from the university’s geography courses. Future teachers can add a 28-credit geography teaching major endorsement through the College of Education.
At the graduate level, the 30-credit M.S. in Geographic Information Science combines core courses in spatial analysis, remote sensing, and cartography with one of seven application areas: remote sensing, GIS programming, natural hazards and emergency planning, sustainable planning, geotechnician, habitat assessment, or geospatial intelligence. Thesis students take 6 thesis credits, and non-thesis students take 2 research credits. The 30-credit M.S. in Geography offers a research thesis or an applied professional project, and the Ph.D. in Geography requires a master’s degree and an original dissertation. Starting in fall 2026, thesis M.S. geography students appointed as teaching assistants receive in-state tuition and health insurance coverage. The 15-credit GIS Graduate Academic Certificate requires a B or better in each course.
Sources: GIS B.S.; Earth and Spatial Sciences B.S.; undergraduate GIS certificate; M.S. in GIS; M.S. in Geography; Ph.D. in Geography; graduate GIS certificate.
Boise State University
Boise State’s Department of Geosciences offers a 15-credit Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Analysis. Students take Introduction to Geographic Information Systems and Remote Sensing and GIS Applications, then at least 9 elective credits with a geospatial or data analysis component, approved by the graduate program coordinator. The department says students do not need to be in a degree program to earn the certificate, and students in degree programs can count courses from their degrees. Boise State has no geography degree; its undergraduate Geospatial Information Analysis credential is a minor.
Sources: certificates and endorsements; graduate GIS certificate; 2026–27 graduate catalog.
Idaho State University
ISU’s Department of Geosciences offers a B.S. in Earth and Environmental Systems with a Geospatial Systems concentration (70–71 major credits). Beyond geoscience and biology core courses, it requires Principles of GIS, Advanced GIS, GPS/GNSS Applications in Research, Remote Sensing, Information Technology for GIS, and Programming for GIS. Electives include drone systems and a GeoTechnology internship. An accelerated track leads into the M.S.
The M.S. in Geographic Information Science requires at least 30 credits, 15 of them at the 6600 level, with a research (thesis) or professional concentration. Professional students finish with a written and oral capstone exam. The GRE is not required. ISU says it typically funds one or two teaching assistantships a year, and the program takes part in the Western Regional Graduate Program, which reduces out-of-state tuition for residents of participating states. The 19-credit Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science has 14 credits of core courses in GIS, GPS, and remote sensing plus 5 elective credits, and can be taken alone or with another ISU graduate degree.
Sources: Geospatial Systems B.S.; M.S. in GIScience catalog; M.S. program page; graduate certificate.
Brigham Young University–Idaho
BYU–Idaho’s 13–15 credit GIS (Geographic Information Systems) Certificate, offered through the Department of Geology and Environmental Science, covers Spatial Thinking, Spatial Analysis, Web and Mobile GIS, Remote Sensing, and an applied GIS course for social sciences or STEM. Students add one course from databases, programming, drone-based mapping, or a GIS internship, and need a C- or better in required courses. The 23–25 credit GIS minor includes the full certificate and prepares students for the FAA remote pilot exam. BYU–Idaho has no geography or GIS major; geography is offered as a minor.
Sources: 2026–27 BYU–Idaho catalog (GIS certificate and GIS minor entries); tuition and expenses.
College of Southern Idaho
CSI’s 60-credit Geospatial Technology A.A.S. covers GIS, GPS and basic surveying, remote sensing, drones, and AutoCAD. Required courses include Fundamentals of GIS, Spatial Analysis with GIS, Introduction to GPS with a surveying lab, UAS/Drone Operations, physical and cultural geography, and an internship. Students then take at least 25 elective credits from a Data Management and Analysis pathway or a Field Spatial Data Acquisition pathway, and prepare for the FAA Part 107 drone exam. The 8-credit Geospatial Technology Basic Technical Certificate covers Introduction to GPS, Fundamentals of GIS, and Spatial Analysis with GIS over two semesters.
Sources: Geospatial Technology program; A.A.S. catalog; certificate catalog.
College of Western Idaho
CWI’s 16–19 credit Geographic Information Systems Academic Certificate covers Web GIS, Fundamentals of GIS, Cartography, Spatial Analysis with GIS, and Remote Sensing/GIS Integration, with Python Scripting for GIS as an optional elective. The 60-credit Geography A.A. is a transfer degree that meets general education requirements at Idaho public universities. It requires Global Climate Change and Fundamentals of GIS, and students can complete the GIS certificate within the A.A.’s 60 credits by using their electives. Both programs can be completed fully online.
Sources: GIS certificate catalog; Geography A.A. catalog; geography program page.
Schools not included
- Lewis-Clark State College: offers a GIS minor (in Lewiston, in Coeur d’Alene, and online) but no GIS degree or certificate.
- Minor only: Boise State (Geospatial Information Analysis), Idaho State (Geotechnology), BYU–Idaho (Geography; the GIS minor includes the certificate listed above), and the University of Idaho (Geography).
- Related but not geography or GIS degrees: Boise State and Idaho State Ph.D. and M.S. programs in geosciences, the University of Idaho’s B.S. in Climate Science and Solutions, and BYU–Idaho’s Environmental Geoscience B.S. Idaho State’s Surveying and Geomatics Engineering Technology program is a surveying credential.
- No geography or GIS credential: The College of Idaho (Environmental Studies B.A. only) and Northwest Nazarene University.
- Community colleges: North Idaho College teaches geography courses and offers a Natural Resources A.S., but no GIS credential. College of Eastern Idaho’s program list has no GIS or geography program.
Tuition Comparison
Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” Idaho’s public universities publish a combined tuition and fees rate, so their rows include mandatory fees; other rows are tuition only. None includes housing, books, or course-specific fees.
Undergraduate and associate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Idaho B.S. in Geographical Information Systems or Earth and Spatial Sciences | $4,912 per semester tuition and fees (resident, 10–20 credits) $14,650 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $9,824 resident per year $29,300 nonresident per year | Mandatory fees included; course fees vary |
| University of Idaho GIS Undergraduate Academic Certificate | $491 per credit tuition and fees (resident, 1–9 credits) $1,465 per credit (nonresident) | 15 credits, part-time | $7,365 resident total $21,975 nonresident total | Mandatory fees included; course fees vary |
| Idaho State University B.S. in Earth and Environmental Systems, Geospatial Systems | $4,669.50 per semester tuition and consolidated fees (resident, 12+ credits) $14,387 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $9,339 resident per year $28,774 nonresident per year | Consolidated fees of $1,410.38 per semester included; course fees vary |
| Brigham Young University–Idaho GIS Certificate | $212 per credit (Church member) $424 per credit (non-member) | 13–15 credits | $2,756–$3,180 member total $5,512–$6,360 non-member total | Not stated |
| College of Southern Idaho Geospatial Technology Basic Technical Certificate | $155 per credit (in-district) $308 per credit (out-of-state) | 8 credits | $1,240 in-district total $2,464 out-of-state total | Out-of-district Idaho residents add $50 per credit (up to $500 per semester); course fees vary |
| College of Southern Idaho Geospatial Technology A.A.S. | $155 per credit (in-district) $308 per credit (out-of-state) | 60 credits | $9,300 in-district total $18,480 out-of-state total | Out-of-district Idaho residents add $50 per credit (up to $500 per semester); course fees vary |
| College of Western Idaho GIS Academic Certificate | $172 per credit (in-district) $336 per credit (nonresident) | 16–19 credits | $2,752–$3,268 in-district total $5,376–$6,384 nonresident total | $55 per semester at 6+ credits; out-of-district Idaho residents add $50 per credit (up to $500 per semester) |
| College of Western Idaho Geography A.A. | $172 per credit (in-district) $336 per credit (nonresident) | 60 credits | $10,320 in-district total $20,160 nonresident total | $55 per semester at 6+ credits; out-of-district Idaho residents add $50 per credit (up to $500 per semester) |
All rates are 2026–27.
Graduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Idaho (campus) M.S. and Ph.D. in Geography, M.S. in GIS | $5,898 per semester tuition and fees (resident, 9–20 credits) $15,636 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $11,796 resident per year $31,272 nonresident per year | Mandatory fees included; course fees vary |
| University of Idaho (online) M.S. in GIS or M.S. in Geography (non-thesis) | $655 per credit tuition and fees for students in online courses only, any residency (1–8 credits) | 30 credits | $19,650 total | $35 per credit web course fee ($1,050 for 30 credits) |
| University of Idaho (online) GIS Graduate Academic Certificate | $655 per credit, any residency | 15 credits | $9,825 total | $35 per credit web course fee |
| Boise State University Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Analysis | $570 per credit tuition and fees (resident, 1–8 credits) $1,037 per credit (nonresident) | 15 credits, part-time | $8,550 resident total $15,555 nonresident total | Mandatory fees included; course fees vary |
| Idaho State University M.S. in Geographic Information Science | $5,820 per semester tuition and consolidated fees (resident, 9+ credits) $15,474.50 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $11,640 resident per year $30,949 nonresident per year | Consolidated fees of $1,410.38 per semester included; course fees vary |
| Idaho State University Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science | $613 per credit tuition and consolidated fee (resident, part-time) $1,524 per credit (nonresident) | 19 credits, part-time | $11,647 resident total $28,956 nonresident total | Consolidated fee of $98.88 per credit included; course fees vary |
All rates are 2026–27.
Why some rates do not compare directly
- The University of Idaho, Boise State, and Idaho State publish tuition and mandatory fees as one rate. Community college and BYU–Idaho rows are tuition only.
- Idaho’s community colleges charge the lowest rate to residents of their taxing district. CSI’s in-district rate covers Jerome, Twin Falls, Ada, Canyon, Bonneville, and Kootenai counties; other Idaho residents pay $50 more per credit, up to $500 per semester.
- University of Idaho students who take only online courses pay the same rate whatever their residency, so the online M.S. costs nonresidents far less than the campus rate.
- Idaho State’s M.S. in Geographic Information Science is part of the Western Regional Graduate Program, which reduces out-of-state tuition for residents of participating western states.
- BYU–Idaho charges a lower rate to members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Idaho
Broad geography or technical GIS
The University of Idaho is the only Idaho school with degrees named for geography and GIS at the bachelor’s level, and its Earth and Spatial Sciences option adds climate and sustainability. Idaho State’s Geospatial Systems concentration places GIS inside an earth and environmental science degree. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.
Certificate, associate, or bachelor’s
Undergraduate GIS certificates range from 8 credits at CSI to 19 credits at CWI. CSI’s A.A.S. is a career degree with fieldwork and drones, while CWI’s Geography A.A. is built for transfer to an Idaho public university. Compare bachelor’s programs nationally.
Master’s or Ph.D.
Both the University of Idaho and Idaho State offer a 30-credit M.S. in Geographic Information Science with thesis and non-thesis routes. The University of Idaho also offers an M.S. and Ph.D. in geography. Students considering a Ph.D. should check research preparation and admissions requirements, since the University of Idaho requires a master’s degree before Ph.D. admission. See master’s programs.
Online or campus
Working professionals can take the University of Idaho’s online M.S. degrees or graduate GIS certificate at one rate regardless of residency, or start with CWI’s fully online GIS certificate. All of Idaho’s geography and GIS bachelor’s degrees are campus-based. See online geography schools for degrees based in other states.
Funding
- University of Idaho Geography M.S.: starting in fall 2026, thesis students appointed as teaching assistants receive full in-state tuition and health insurance coverage. Assistantships are not typically available to online non-thesis students.
- Idaho State M.S. in GIScience: the program typically funds one or two teaching assistantships a year, and most thesis students are funded through research assistantships. The assistantship application deadline is January 15.
- Idaho State Graduate Certificate: the department says it cannot offer funding for the certificate.
Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Washington, Oregon, Montana, Utah, Wyoming, and Nevada, or browse all state guides.
Sources and Review Date
Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule. The Idaho State Board of Education’s program inventory was used to check for programs at all public colleges.
- University of Idaho: 2026–27 per-semester tuition and fee schedule, cost of attendance
- Boise State University: 2026–27 graduate tuition and fees
- Idaho State University: undergraduate tuition, graduate tuition, 2026–27 cost of attendance
- Brigham Young University–Idaho: tuition and expenses
- College of Southern Idaho: 2026–27 tuition and fees
- College of Western Idaho: tuition and fees
Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.