Indiana has 7 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: 6 public universities and 1 private university. No Indiana community college currently lists a GIS-named credential. Doctoral study is available at Indiana University Bloomington, which offers a Ph.D. in Geography, and at Indiana State University, whose Ph.D. in Spatial and Earth Sciences has a geography concentration. Purdue University offers the state’s only verified fully online degree, an M.S. in Applied Geospatial Analytics, and Ball State University offers a fully online undergraduate GIScience certificate.
Quick picks for Indiana
- Lowest resident bachelor’s tuition: Indiana University Southeast, $7,716.78 per year for the B.S. with a Geosciences major.
- Online degree: Purdue University M.S. in Applied Geospatial Analytics, $22,500 total for Indiana residents (30 credits).
- Lowest-cost online certificate: Ball State University undergraduate Certificate in GIScience, $5,190 total for residents (15 credits).
- Professional GIS master’s on campus: Indiana University Bloomington Master of GIS, $13,308 total for residents (30 credits), with a required internship.
- Ph.D. programs: Indiana University Bloomington in geography and Indiana State University in Spatial and Earth Sciences (geography concentration).
Rates are resident tuition before fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.
Indiana Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance
Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indiana University Bloomington | Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Earth, Geography, and the Environment, Geography major Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Earth, Geography, and the Environment, Geography major Area Certificate in GIS and Remote Sensing | Campus (Bloomington) | Degrees: 120 (major 30 B.A., 32 B.S.) Certificate: 24 | Senior capstone required in both majors; B.S. adds spatial statistics and geospatial computing |
| Indiana University Southeast | B.S. in Physical Sciences, Geosciences major | Hybrid (New Albany) | 120 | Requires a GIS course; replaced the B.A. in Geosciences in 2026–27 |
| Indiana University Indianapolis | Certificate in Geographic Information Science (undergraduate) | Not stated (Indianapolis) | 21 | Open to students not enrolled at IU Indianapolis |
| Ball State University | B.A. or B.S. in Geography (Tourism and Human Geography, Geospatial Science and Technology, or Meteorological Studies concentration) Certificate in GIScience (undergraduate) | Major: campus (Muncie) Certificate: fully online or campus | Major: 42–54 Certificate: 15 | Tourism and geospatial concentrations require a professional or practical experience course |
| Indiana State University | Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate) | Campus (Terre Haute) | 12 | Ends with an internship, research, or seminar experience |
| Valparaiso University | B.A. in Geography (four concentrations) B.S. in Geospatial Sciences B.A. in Geography Education | Campus (Valparaiso) | 124 (major 32, 42, and 48) | B.S. includes cartography, Python, web GIS, and database courses |
Graduate Degrees and Certificates
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indiana University Bloomington | Master of Arts (M.A.) in Geography Master of Science (M.S.) in Geography Master of GIS (professional) Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography Graduate Certificate in GIS and Remote Sensing | Campus (Bloomington) | M.A. and M.S.: 30 Master of GIS: 30 Ph.D.: 90 Certificate: 15 | Master of GIS requires an internship or practicum; certificate open only to enrolled degree students |
| Indiana University Indianapolis | Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science | Not stated (Indianapolis) | 15 | Includes a seminar in geographic information science |
| Purdue University | M.S. in Applied Geospatial Analytics Geospatial Information Sciences Post-Baccalaureate Certificate Spatial Data Science Post-Baccalaureate Certificate | M.S.: fully online Geospatial certificate: campus (West Lafayette) Spatial Data Science: fully online | M.S.: 30 Certificates: 12 each | M.S. students can earn three graduate certificates along the way |
| Ball State University | Certificate in Geographic Information Science (graduate) | Campus (Muncie) | 15 | Core in remote sensing and advanced GIS analysis |
| Indiana State University | Ph.D. in Spatial and Earth Sciences (Geography concentration) | Campus (Terre Haute) | 83 minimum | Includes supervised college teaching |
Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs and bulletins. Minors are not listed.
Community Colleges
Neither Ivy Tech Community College nor Vincennes University lists a geography- or GIS-named credential in its 2026–27 catalog, so no community college is counted on this page. Both offer surveying technology programs, and Vincennes has a Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences A.S. with a geoscience concentration for transfer students.
Online Geography and GIS Programs in Indiana
An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.
Verified fully online options
- Purdue University M.S. in Applied Geospatial Analytics: Purdue describes the 30-credit degree as 100% online. The catalog lists West Lafayette and online as locations.
- Purdue University Spatial Data Science Post-Baccalaureate Certificate: Purdue Agriculture calls it a fully online graduate certificate that can be finished in two semesters. Its four courses cover GIS applications, remote sensing, environmental informatics, and spatial ecology.
- Ball State University Certificate in GIScience (undergraduate): Ball State Online describes it as an entirely online 15-credit certificate. The department says it is also offered in person.
Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program
- Purdue Geospatial Information Sciences Post-Baccalaureate Certificate: the catalog lists West Lafayette and online locations, but the School of Information Studies gives the delivery method as residential.
- Indiana University Southeast B.S. in Physical Sciences, Geosciences major: the program page describes it as hybrid, a combination of in-person and online classes.
- Ball State graduate Certificate in GIScience: the department lists it as on campus.
For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.
Indiana School Summaries
Indiana University Bloomington
IU Bloomington’s Department of Geography offers its undergraduate major under the umbrella degree Earth, Geography, and the Environment. The B.A. major requires at least 30 credits, including Environment and Society, a mapping or GIS methods course, a methods elective, 6 credits at the 400 level, and a senior capstone or honors research. The B.S. major requires at least 32 credits, adding Computing in the Geospatial Sciences and Applied Spatial Statistics, plus calculus and 9 credits in a related science or quantitative field. Both are 120-credit degrees.
The 24-credit Area Certificate in GIS and Remote Sensing requires Environmental Remote Sensing, GIS, an advanced remote sensing course, and 15 elective credits. It cannot be combined with the geography B.A. or B.S.
Graduate options include a 30-credit M.A. and M.S. in Geography with a thesis or two research papers, and a Ph.D. in Geography of at least 90 credits with an outside minor, qualifying exams, and a dissertation. Fields include Climate and Environmental Change, GIS and Remote Sensing, Food and Agriculture, Water Resources, and Cities, Development and Justice. The 30-credit Master of GIS is a professional degree with a 12-credit core in GIS, advanced GIS, remote sensing, and geospatial programming, plus a required internship or practicum. A 4+1 option lets bachelor’s students count 9 graduate credits toward both degrees. A 15-credit Graduate Certificate in GIS and Remote Sensing is open only to students already in a degree program.
Graduate applicants need a 3.0 GPA, and the GRE is optional. The Master of GIS requires a 2.8 GPA on the last 60 credits. The department says M.A. and M.S. students are normally funded for 2 years and Ph.D. students for 4 or 5 years, through assistantships and fellowships that include a stipend, fee scholarship, and health insurance. No funding statement was found for the Master of GIS.
Sources: B.A. major; B.S. major; area certificate; graduate bulletin; Master of GIS; admissions; funding.
Indiana University Indianapolis
Geography at IU Indianapolis is part of the School of Liberal Arts, which now lists two GIS certificates and a geography minor. A geography bachelor’s degree and an M.S. in Geographic Information Science do not appear in the 2026–27 bulletin. The 21-credit undergraduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science requires Remote Sensing, Computer Cartography and Graphics, GIS, Advanced Remote Sensing, and Advanced GIS, plus 6 elective credits. Applicants need 55 completed credits and a 2.5 GPA, and students not enrolled at IU Indianapolis can be admitted.
The 15-credit Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science requires remote sensing, introductory GIS, and a seminar in geographic information science, plus two electives, with a B- or better in each course. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree with a 3.0 GPA, three letters, and a personal statement. Neither certificate’s delivery format is stated.
Sources: geography program; undergraduate certificate; graduate certificate.
Indiana University Southeast
IU Southeast’s 2026–27 bulletin replaces its B.A. in Geosciences with a 120-credit B.S. in Physical Sciences with a Geosciences major. The major is built on geography and geology courses. It requires Geographic Information Systems and a capstone chosen from a senior seminar, an internship, or advanced field and research courses, and electives include Advanced GIS and a seminar in GIS. The program page describes the format as hybrid. Kentucky residents of 10 nearby counties pay in-state tuition.
Sources: 2026–27 bulletin; program page.
Purdue University
Purdue’s West Lafayette campus has no geography degree, and its geospatial credentials are graduate level. The 30-credit M.S. in Applied Geospatial Analytics is 100% online. Its interdisciplinary core includes environmental informatics, remote sensing of land resources, GIS applications, spatial ecology and GIS, and two strategic communication courses. Purdue estimates 24 months to completion, and students can earn graduate certificates in Applied Data Analytics, Spatial Data Science, and Strategic Communication Management along the way. Purdue prefers a 3.0 GPA and three years of professional experience, though the experience is not mandatory. The bursar notes that students in professional online programs cannot receive fee remission.
The 12-credit Geospatial Information Sciences Post-Baccalaureate Certificate, run by Purdue Libraries and the School of Information Studies, includes an introductory GIS course, an advanced topics course, an application course, and a GIS capstone. It is open to degree-seeking and non-degree students with a bachelor’s degree. The fully online 12-credit Spatial Data Science Post-Baccalaureate Certificate uses four of the M.S. core courses and asks for a 3.0 GPA.
Sources: M.S. catalog; online M.S.; Geospatial Information Sciences certificate; certificate department page; Spatial Data Science certificate.
Ball State University
Ball State’s School of Earth, Atmosphere, and Sustainability offers a B.A. or B.S. in Geography with a 42–54 credit major. All students take a 15-credit core that includes Introduction to GIS, then choose a concentration. Tourism and Human Geography requires a professional or practical experience course. Geospatial Science and Technology adds five advanced GIS and remote sensing courses, the same experience requirement, and advanced GIScience electives. Meteorological Studies includes a 6-credit severe storms field course. The major is offered on campus in Muncie.
The 15-credit undergraduate Certificate in GIScience requires introductory and advanced GIS and remote sensing courses plus one elective, with a C or better. It is offered entirely online as well as in person, and it is not open to geography majors in the geospatial concentration. The 15-credit graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science has a 6-credit core in remote sensing and advanced GIS analysis and is offered on campus. Ball State no longer lists a geography master’s degree.
Sources: geography major; program page; undergraduate certificate; online certificate; graduate certificate.
Indiana State University
Indiana State no longer offers a geography bachelor’s degree; its 2026–27 catalog lists geography and GIScience minors. The undergraduate Geographic Information Science Certificate is 12 credits in the catalog: Introduction to Geospatial Technologies, Fundamentals of Remote Sensing, a directed elective, and a culminating internship, research, or seminar course. The program page describes it as on campus and open to working professionals as well as enrolled students. It gives the length as 15 credits, so confirm the total with the department.
The Ph.D. in Spatial and Earth Sciences requires at least 83 credits, including an 18-credit dissertation and a 9-credit Geography or Earth Science concentration, plus supervised teaching in the department. It is an on-campus program. The GRE is required, along with three letters, a CV, and a statement naming faculty. Teaching assistantships include a stipend and partial tuition waiver.
Sources: GIS certificate; certificate page; Ph.D. catalog; Ph.D. page.
Valparaiso University
Valparaiso’s Department of Geography and Meteorology offers three 124-credit bachelor’s degrees. The B.A. in Geography has a 32-credit minimum major with an 11-credit core that includes Introduction to GIS, followed by a 21-credit concentration in Geography, Sustainability, Earth Systems, or Urban Planning. Each concentration includes a field study, internship, or research component. The B.S. in Geospatial Sciences requires at least 42 major credits in cartography, Python or a related course, statistics, databases, web GIS, advanced GIS, remote sensing, and a capstone or field experience. The B.A. in Geography Education prepares social studies teachers.
All three are campus programs. Valparaiso also offers a GIS minor, but no GIS certificate or graduate geography degree.
Sources: Geography B.A.; Geospatial Sciences B.S.; Geography Education B.A.; program page.
Schools not included
- Purdue University Fort Wayne: no geography or GIS degree, minor, or certificate in the 2026–27 catalog; only a few geography courses remain.
- Minor only: University of Southern Indiana, Taylor University, Butler University (Geography and Urban Planning minor), Grace College, and Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology.
- Geography courses but no credential: Purdue Northwest, IU Northwest, IU East, IU Kokomo, and IU Columbus.
- Surveying, not GIS-named: Surveying Technology certificates at Ivy Tech and Vincennes, and Vincennes’ surveying associate and bachelor’s options.
- Planning degrees without a required GIS course: Ball State’s Bachelor of Urban Planning and Development and Master of Urban and Regional Planning list GIS as an elective or recommended certificate. See our urban planning guide.
- No geography or GIS credential: University of Indianapolis, DePauw, Notre Dame, Wabash, Hanover, Indiana Wesleyan, Goshen, Trine, Indiana Tech, University of Saint Francis, Saint Mary’s College, Earlham, IU South Bend, and IU Fort Wayne.
Tuition Comparison
Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.
Undergraduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indiana University Bloomington B.A. or B.S., Geography major | $5,310.92 per term (in-state, 12 or more credits) $20,590.29 per term (out-of-state) | Two terms | $10,621.84 resident per year $41,180.58 nonresident per year | Student services fee $761.02 per term (more than 6 credits) |
| Indiana University Southeast B.S. in Physical Sciences, Geosciences major | $3,858.39 per term (in-state, 12–18 credits; $257.23 per credit otherwise) $11,273.89 per term (out-of-state) | Two terms | $7,716.78 resident per year $22,547.78 nonresident per year | Student services fee $353.67 per term (more than 6 credits) |
| Indiana University Indianapolis Certificate in Geographic Information Science | $317.26 per credit (in-state) $1,144.10 per credit (out-of-state) | 21 credits | $6,662.46 resident total $24,026.10 nonresident total | Student services fee up to $621.92 per term; Liberal Arts program fee $118 per term at 12 or more credits |
| Ball State University B.A. or B.S. in Geography | $4,474 per semester (resident, 12–18 credits) $13,748 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $8,948 resident per year $27,496 nonresident per year | Per semester: student services $727, technology $150, health $103, recreation $87 |
| Ball State University (online) Certificate in GIScience | $346 per credit (resident) $578 per credit (nonresident, online only) | 15 credits | $5,190 resident total $8,670 nonresident total | $25 per credit online course fee |
| Indiana State University Geographic Information Science Certificate | $361 per credit (resident, under 12 credits) $822 per credit (out-of-state) | 12 credits, part-time | $4,332 resident total $9,864 nonresident total | Recreation $100 and health $40 per semester at 6 or more on-campus credits |
| Valparaiso University B.A. in Geography; B.S. in Geospatial Sciences | $50,650 per year (12–19 credits per semester; no residency difference) | One year | $50,650 per year | General fee $1,630 per year |
All rates are 2026–27.
Graduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indiana University Bloomington Master of GIS | $443.60 per credit (in-state) $1,330.51 per credit (out-of-state) | 30 credits | $13,308 resident total $39,915.30 nonresident total | Student services fee $761.02 per term (more than 6 credits) |
| Indiana University Bloomington M.A., M.S., or Ph.D. in Geography | $443.60 per credit (in-state) $1,330.51 per credit (out-of-state) | 30 credits (master’s) | $13,308 resident total $39,915.30 nonresident total | Same fee. Funded students receive a fee scholarship. |
| Indiana University Indianapolis Graduate Certificate in GIScience | $430.50 per credit (in-state) $1,201.50 per credit (out-of-state) | 15 credits | $6,457.50 resident total $18,022.50 nonresident total | Student services fee up to $621.92 per term |
| Purdue University (online) M.S. in Applied Geospatial Analytics | $750 per credit (Indiana resident) $775 per credit (nonresident) | 30 credits | $22,500 resident total $23,250 nonresident total | Not verified |
| Purdue University (online) Spatial Data Science Certificate | $750 per credit (resident) $775 per credit (nonresident) | 12 credits | $9,000 resident total $9,300 nonresident total | Not verified |
| Purdue University Geospatial Information Sciences Certificate | $347.85 per credit (resident, 1–7 credits per term) $948.30 per credit (nonresident) | 12 credits, part-time | $4,174.20 resident total $11,379.60 nonresident total | Not verified for part-time students |
| Ball State University Graduate Certificate in GIScience | $464 per credit (resident) $1,269 per credit (nonresident, on campus) | 15 credits | $6,960 resident total $19,035 nonresident total | Per semester: student services $727 (7 or more credits), technology $100–$150, health $103 |
| Indiana State University Ph.D. in Spatial and Earth Sciences | $462 per credit (resident) $954 per credit (out-of-state) | 9 credits per semester, two semesters | $8,316 resident per year $17,172 nonresident per year | Recreation $100 and health $40 per semester. Assistantships include a partial tuition waiver. |
All rates are 2026–27.
Why some rates do not compare directly
- Indiana University publishes no program-specific graduate rate for geography, so the general graduate rate is shown. IU Indianapolis and IU Southeast also have a lower “Indiana Partner” rate for some out-of-state students.
- Purdue’s online programs charge nearly the same rate to residents and nonresidents. Full-time campus graduate students at Purdue pay a flat $9,992 per year (resident) instead of the per-credit rate.
- Ball State charges online-only nonresident students $578 per undergraduate credit and $696 per graduate credit, well below the on-campus nonresident rates.
- Indiana State charges a reduced rate ($499 per undergraduate credit and $610 per graduate credit) to students from nearby states and eligible online students.
- Valparaiso is a private university with one tuition rate for all students.
How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Indiana
Broad geography or technical GIS
IU Bloomington, Ball State, and Valparaiso offer traditional geography bachelor’s degrees. For a technical focus, compare Valparaiso’s B.S. in Geospatial Sciences, Ball State’s Geospatial Science and Technology concentration, and IU Bloomington’s B.S. with spatial statistics. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.
Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree
Undergraduate GIS certificates run 12 credits at Indiana State, 15 at Ball State, 21 at IU Indianapolis, and 24 at IU Bloomington. Graduate certificates run 12 to 15 credits at Purdue, IU Indianapolis, Ball State, and IU Bloomington. IU Bloomington is the only Indiana school with geography master’s degrees. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.
Online or campus
Purdue’s M.S. in Applied Geospatial Analytics is the only fully online geospatial degree based in Indiana. Ball State’s undergraduate GIScience certificate and Purdue’s Spatial Data Science certificate are also fully online. The geography degrees at IU Bloomington, Ball State, and Valparaiso are campus programs. See online geography schools for options in other states.
Research or professional master’s
IU Bloomington’s M.A. and M.S. end in a thesis or two research papers and lead into its Ph.D. Its Master of GIS and Purdue’s online M.S. are professional degrees that end in an internship or applied coursework. Students aiming for a Ph.D. should look for programs with a thesis and funded research positions.
Funding
- IU Bloomington: M.A. and M.S. students are normally funded for 2 years and Ph.D. students for 4 or 5 years, with a stipend, fee scholarship, and health insurance. Applications are due December 1.
- Indiana State: Ph.D. teaching assistantships include a stipend and partial tuition waiver and are competitive.
- Purdue: students in professional online programs cannot receive fee remission.
Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Illinois, Ohio, Michigan, and Kentucky, or browse all state guides.
Sources and Review Date
Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog, bulletin, or program pages unless noted above. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule.
- Indiana University: Bloomington fees, Indianapolis fees, Southeast fees
- Purdue: graduate tuition, online M.S. tuition, online agriculture certificates
- Ball State: tuition and fees, online undergraduate costs
- Indiana State: undergraduate rates, graduate rates
- Valparaiso: tuition and aid
Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.