State guide · Reviewed October 14, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Kansas Geography Degree Programs

Compare 7 Kansas schools with geography and GIS programs, from 9-credit GIS certificates to Ph.D.s at KU and K-State, with 2026–27 tuition.

Kansas has 7 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: 6 public universities and Haskell Indian Nations University, a tuition-free federal university in Lawrence. The University of Kansas and Kansas State University both offer a Ph.D. in Geography. Fort Hays State University offers the state’s only fully online geography bachelor’s degree, and Fort Hays State and Emporia State offer GIS certificates that can be completed online. No Kansas community or technical college currently lists a GIS-named credential.

Quick picks for Kansas

Fort Hays State’s on-campus rates include required fees; other figures are tuition before fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.


Kansas Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of KansasBachelor of Arts (B.A.), Bachelor of General Studies (B.G.S.), or Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geography
Undergraduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science
Campus (Lawrence)Degrees: 120
Certificate: 14
B.S. built around GIS, cartography, remote sensing, and calculus
Kansas State UniversityB.A. or B.S. in Geography (including a Pre-Planning Option)
B.S. in Geographic Information Science and Technology
Geographic Information Systems Undergraduate Certificate
Campus (Manhattan)Degrees: 120
Certificate: 18
GIS&T majors also earn a geography minor, computer science certificate, and GIS certificate
Fort Hays State UniversityB.S. in Geosciences (Geography)
Certificate in GIS User
Certificate in Crime Mapping and Analysis
Campus (Hays) or fully onlineB.S.: 120
GIS User: 9
Crime Mapping: 12
Only fully online geography bachelor’s in Kansas
Pittsburg State UniversityB.S. in Social Science, Geography Emphasis
Geographic Information Systems Certificate
Campus (Pittsburg)B.S.: 120
Certificate: 12
Geography emphasis pairs GIS and computer mapping with urban and environmental courses
Wichita State UniversityCertificate in Geographic Information SystemsNot stated (Wichita)12Interdisciplinary courses in anthropology, criminal justice, and geology
Haskell Indian Nations UniversityGeographic Information Systems CertificateCampus (Lawrence)14 minimumNo tuition for members of federally recognized tribes and eligible descendants

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of KansasMaster of Arts (M.A.) in Geography
Master of Science (M.S.) in Geography
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography
Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science
Campus (Lawrence)M.A.: 30–31
M.S.: 30
Ph.D.: 30 hours of coursework plus dissertation
Certificate: 12–14
Thesis master’s degrees; GRE not required
Kansas State UniversityM.S. in Geography
Ph.D. in Geography
Geographic Information Science Graduate Certificate
Campus (Manhattan)M.S.: 30 (thesis) or 32 (report)
Ph.D.: 90 beyond the bachelor’s
Certificate: 16
Certificate can stand alone or pair with any K-State graduate degree
Fort Hays State UniversityM.S. in Geosciences (Geography)Campus (Hays)30Thesis or non-thesis route with comprehensive exams
Emporia State UniversityGraduate Certificate in Geospatial AnalysisCampus (Emporia) or fully online16Ends in an independent geospatial research project

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs and program pages. Minors are not listed.

Community and Technical Colleges

No Kansas community or technical college currently lists a GIS-named certificate or degree. The Kansas Board of Regents program search, which covers all 32 public colleges and universities, returns no GIS program at a two-year college, and checks of each college’s catalog or website found none. Several community colleges offer geography courses that count toward Associate in Arts and Associate in Science transfer degrees; those transfer degrees are not counted here.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Kansas

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. Fort Hays State’s bachelor’s degree is the only fully online geography degree in Kansas; the other online options are certificates. The next list covers programs with some online coursework or an unclear status.

Verified fully online options

  • Fort Hays State University B.S. in Geosciences (Geography): the program page says the degree is available both on campus and online. See our Fort Hays State online geography degree profile.
  • Fort Hays State University Certificate in GIS User: the program page says students may complete the 9-credit certificate entirely online.
  • Fort Hays State University Certificate in Crime Mapping and Analysis: the program page says the 12-credit certificate is available online and on campus.
  • Emporia State University Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Analysis: the 2026–27 catalog says the certificate can be completed through on-campus courses or by distance learning over the internet.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • Fort Hays State M.S. in Geosciences (Geography): the program page lists the master’s as an on-campus program, although the department offers some geosciences courses online.
  • Emporia State undergraduate Certificate in Geospatial Analysis: the department page recommends it for on- or off-campus students, but it does not say the whole certificate can be completed online, and the certificate does not appear in the 2026–27 catalog.
  • Kansas State, KU, Wichita State, Pittsburg State, and Haskell GIS certificates: the catalogs and program pages do not state an online option, and K-State’s and KU’s online program lists do not include them.

For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Kansas School Summaries

University of Kansas

KU’s Department of Geography and Atmospheric Science in Lawrence offers three 120-hour bachelor’s degrees in geography. The B.A. and B.G.S. combine a core in regional, physical, human, and statistical geography with geography electives. The B.S. in Geography is aimed at GIS and environmental problem solving: it requires Calculus I and II, physics or chemistry, an introductory computing course, and upper-level work in cartography and geovisualization, GIS, remote sensing, and statistics, plus physical and human geography. The 14-hour Undergraduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science requires Introduction to GIS and Spatial Data Analysis plus 6 hours of electives such as spatial databases, GIS programming, cartography, remote sensing, or a GIS internship.

At the graduate level, the M.A. in Geography (30–31 hours) and M.S. in Geography (30 hours) are thesis degrees with 6 hours of thesis credit; M.S. students are expected to have a science, mathematics, or engineering background. The Ph.D. in Geography lists 30 hours of coursework, a research skills requirement (a foreign language or 9 hours of mathematics, statistics, or an outside discipline), a written and oral comprehensive exam, and a dissertation. GRE scores are not required for any of the three, and applicants submit three letters of recommendation. The 12–14 hour Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science requires two of three core courses (spatial data analysis, GIS programming, and remote sensing) plus electives, and it can be earned on its own or alongside a graduate degree. KU also offers a joint Master of Urban Planning and M.A. in Geography.

Sources: 2026–27 geography catalog; B.S. in Geography; B.A. and B.G.S.; undergraduate GIS certificate; M.A.; M.S.; Ph.D.; graduate GIS certificate.


Kansas State University

K-State’s Department of Geography and Geospatial Sciences in Manhattan offers the B.A. or B.S. in Geography, including a Pre-Planning Option for students headed toward planning careers, with optional learning tracks such as sustainability and GIS. The B.S. requires 22 hours of core geography courses and 12 hours of geography electives within the 120-hour degree. The B.S. in Geographic Information Science and Technology has a 54–56 hour major, and graduates automatically earn a geography minor, a computer science certificate, and the GIS certificate; its 15 hours of free electives can go toward a second major or minor such as unmanned aircraft systems or statistics. The 18-hour Geographic Information Systems Undergraduate Certificate covers cartography, two GIS courses, computer mapping, remote sensing, and one GIS elective, and requires a 3.0 GPA in certificate courses.

The M.S. in Geography has a 30-hour thesis option (24 hours of coursework, at least 15 in geography, plus 6 thesis hours) and 32-hour report options, including one for teachers. The Ph.D. in Geography is listed by the Board of Regents at 90 hours beyond the bachelor’s; it requires 30 hours of dissertation research, two 800-level research seminars, a year in residence, a dissertation proposal, and a preliminary exam. The 16-hour Geographic Information Science Graduate Certificate combines 10 hours of core courses (GIS I, GIS II, and remote sensing) with at least 6 hours of electives and can be earned on its own or with a graduate degree.

Sources: undergraduate programs; GIS&T B.S.; undergraduate GIS certificate; graduate programs; graduate GIScience certificate; 2026–27 catalog.


Fort Hays State University

Fort Hays State’s Department of Geosciences in Hays offers a 120-hour B.S. in Geosciences (Geography) on campus and online. The core combines geology and geography, with courses in GIS, environmental geography, urban planning, cartography, and spatial analysis. The 9-credit Certificate in GIS User covers map design, coordinate systems, raster and vector analysis, geodatabases, GPS methods, and geocoding, needs no prior GIS experience, and can be completed entirely online. The 12-credit Certificate in Crime Mapping and Analysis applies GIS to criminal justice and is offered online and on campus.

The 30-hour M.S. in Geosciences (Geography) starts with Scientific Research Design and 21 elective hours in environmental science, geography, GIS, and regional studies. Thesis students add 6 thesis credits and an oral defense; non-thesis students take 6 more hours of coursework, pass oral and written comprehensive exams, and build a graduate portfolio. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree in geography, environmental science, or a related field.

Sources: B.S. in Geosciences (Geography); Certificate in GIS User; Crime Mapping and Analysis certificate; M.S. in Geosciences (Geography); Department of Geosciences programs.


Pittsburg State University

Pitt State’s School of History, Philosophy, and Social Sciences offers geography as the B.S. in Social Science, Geography Emphasis, a 120-hour degree. The social science core includes World Regional Geography, U.S. politics, sociology, public policy, two research methods courses, and a capstone. The geography emphasis adds Geographic Information Systems I, Computer Mapping, and Workplace Writing, plus 9 hours chosen from urban geography, environmental geography, urban and regional planning, and sustainability courses. The 12-hour Geographic Information Systems Certificate requires GIS I, Computer Mapping, and GIS II, which covers GIS analysis, GPS, and database design, plus one elective in urban, environmental, or planning geography or social research analysis.

Sources: 2026–27 catalog: Geography Emphasis; GIS certificate; GIS certificate program page.


Wichita State University

Wichita State does not offer a geography major; its catalog lists a geography minor and courses only. The 12-hour Certificate in Geographic Information Systems, housed in the Department of Anthropology, is open to all WSU undergraduates. Students take an introductory GIS course (Introduction to GIS or Crime Mapping and ArcGIS), Spatial SQL and SDE for database management, and two more courses from mapping and analysis or applied topics such as Python for geospatial analysis, crime analysis, applied GIS, and remote sensing. Each course needs a C or better.

Sources: 2026–27 catalog: GIS certificate; geography courses.


Emporia State University

Emporia State has no geography degree, but its School of Science and Mathematics offers the Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Analysis, which the 2026–27 catalog says can be completed on campus or by distance learning. The catalog lists it at 16 graduate hours: Geographic Information Systems, Advanced GIS, Remote Sensing, Advanced Remote Sensing, and a 3-hour independent research project that ends in a final report. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree in any subject plus introductory geospatial analysis, cartography, or equivalent work experience. Up to 3 hours can transfer in and up to 3 more can be granted for professional experience.

The department’s website also lists an 18-hour undergraduate Certificate in Geospatial Analysis that does not require admission to a degree program, but that certificate is not in the 2026–27 catalog, which lists a geospatial analysis minor instead.

Sources: 2026–27 catalog (PDF); graduate certificate page; undergraduate certificate page.


Haskell Indian Nations University

Haskell, in Lawrence, provides a tuition-free education to members of federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Native villages and their eligible descendants. Its Geography Department offers a Geographic Information Systems Certificate of at least 14 credit hours: Introduction to GIS and Advanced GIS and GPS I, plus three of Cartography, Applications of ArcGIS, Remote Sensing for Spatial Analysis, and Advanced GIS and GPS II. Students need a C or higher in each course and a 3.00 GPA in GIS courses. The catalog says the certificate prepares students for GIS work in tribal government, planning, and environmental fields, or for graduate study when paired with a bachelor’s degree.

Sources: 2026–27 academic catalog (PDF); Geography Department.


Schools not included

  • Washburn University: the catalog says no geography major or minor is offered; geography courses support general education only.
  • Johnson County Community College: the 2026–27 catalog lists no GIS certificate or degree. An older GIS certificate run with Metropolitan Community College appears only in archived catalogs.
  • Surveying and drone programs: Kansas City Kansas Community College and Butler Community College offer surveying technology programs, and Garden City Community College and WSU Tech offer unmanned aircraft systems programs. None is a GIS-named credential.
  • Other community and technical colleges: no GIS-named credential was found at Allen, Barton, Cloud County, Coffeyville, Colby, Cowley, Dodge City, Fort Scott, Highland, Hutchinson, Independence, Labette, Neosho County, Pratt, or Seward County community colleges, or at Flint Hills, Manhattan Area, Salina Area, Northwest Kansas, North Central Kansas, or Washburn technical colleges.
  • Private colleges: no geography or GIS credential was found at Baker, Benedictine, Bethany, Bethel, Friends, Kansas Wesleyan, McPherson, MidAmerica Nazarene, Newman, Ottawa, Southwestern, Sterling, Tabor, or the University of Saint Mary. Federal College Navigator data lists no private Kansas college under the geography or GIS program codes.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes housing, books, or other costs. Fort Hays State’s on-campus rates and Pittsburg State’s flat bachelor’s rate already include required campus fees; other schools’ fees are listed separately.

Undergraduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Kansas
B.A., B.G.S., or B.S. in Geography
$394.80 per credit (resident)
$1,059.30 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$11,844 resident per year
$31,779 nonresident per year
$287.10 student fee and $245.40 wellness fee per semester (full time)
University of Kansas
Undergraduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science
$394.80 per credit (resident)
$1,059.30 per credit (nonresident)
14 credits$5,527.20 resident total
$14,830.20 nonresident total
Same as above
Kansas State University
B.A. or B.S. in Geography; B.S. in GIS&T
$367.50 per credit (resident)
$1,004.19 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$11,025 resident per year
$30,125.70 nonresident per year
$512.28 student services fee per semester (12 or more hours); $30 per credit Arts and Sciences college fee
Kansas State University
GIS Undergraduate Certificate
$367.50 per credit (resident)
$1,004.19 per credit (nonresident)
18 credits$6,615 resident total
$18,075.42 nonresident total
Same as above
Fort Hays State University (campus)
B.S. in Geosciences (Geography)
$215.84 per credit (resident, tuition and fees)
$302.29 per credit (Midwest Student Exchange)
$651.23 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$6,475.20 resident per year
$9,068.70 exchange per year
$19,536.90 nonresident per year
Included in the rate
Fort Hays State University (online)
B.S. in Geosciences (Geography)
$275.65 per credit, FHSU Online rate30 credits per year$8,269.50 per yearNot stated separately
Fort Hays State University
Certificate in GIS User
$215.84 per credit (campus, resident)
$275.65 per credit (online)
9 credits$1,942.56 campus total
$2,480.85 online total
Included in the campus rate; not stated separately online
Fort Hays State University (online)
Certificate in Crime Mapping and Analysis
$275.65 per credit, FHSU Online rate12 credits$3,307.80 totalNot stated separately
Pittsburg State University
B.S. in Social Science, Geography Emphasis
$4,442 per semester flat rate (in-state, includes residents of 34 states)
$10,114 per semester (out-of-state)
Two semesters$8,884 in-state per year
$20,228 out-of-state per year
Campus fees included in the flat rate; course fees vary
Pittsburg State University
GIS Certificate
$326 per credit (in-state)
$704 per credit (out-of-state)
12 credits$3,912 in-state total
$8,448 out-of-state total
Course fees vary
Wichita State University
Certificate in GIS
$272.48 per credit (resident)
$645.42 per credit (nonresident)
12 credits$3,269.76 resident total
$7,745.04 nonresident total
$22.33 per credit in campus, technology, and transportation fees; student support services fee up to $742.35 per semester
Haskell Indian Nations University
GIS Certificate
No tuition for eligible students14 credits$0$240 (commuter) to $715 (campus resident) in listed fees

All rates are 2026–27.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Kansas
M.A. or M.S. in Geography
$501.80 per credit (resident)
$1,176.10 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits$15,054 resident total
$35,283 nonresident total
$287.10 student fee and $245.40 wellness fee per semester (6 or more hours)
University of Kansas
Ph.D. in Geography
$501.80 per credit (resident)
$1,176.10 per credit (nonresident)
9 credits per semester, two semesters$9,032.40 resident per year
$21,169.80 nonresident per year
Same as above
University of Kansas
Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science
$501.80 per credit (resident)
$1,176.10 per credit (nonresident)
12 credits$6,021.60 resident total
$14,113.20 nonresident total
Same as above
Kansas State University
M.S. in Geography
$498.33 per credit (resident)
$1,130.42 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits (thesis option)$14,949.90 resident total
$33,912.60 nonresident total
$512.28 student services fee per semester (9 or more hours); $30 per credit Arts and Sciences college fee
Kansas State University
Ph.D. in Geography
$498.33 per credit (resident)
$1,130.42 per credit (nonresident)
9 credits per semester, two semesters$8,969.94 resident per year
$20,347.56 nonresident per year
Same as above
Kansas State University
GIScience Graduate Certificate
$498.33 per credit (resident)
$1,130.42 per credit (nonresident)
16 credits$7,973.28 resident total
$18,086.72 nonresident total
Same as above
Fort Hays State University
M.S. in Geosciences (Geography)
$362.73 per credit (resident, tuition and fees)
$430.54 per credit (Midwest Student Exchange)
$778.81 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits$10,881.90 resident total
$12,916.20 exchange total
$23,364.30 nonresident total
Included in the rate
Emporia State University
Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Analysis
$286.44 per credit (resident, campus or online)
$429.66 per credit (online, nonresident)
$716.10 per credit (campus, nonresident)
16 credits$4,583.04 resident total
$6,874.56 online nonresident total
$11,457.60 campus nonresident total
$15 per credit technology fee; online courses add an $85.43 per credit distance education fee; campus courses add $70.85 per credit in activity fees

All rates are 2026–27.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • Fort Hays State’s on-campus rates and Pittsburg State’s flat bachelor’s rate include required campus fees, so they are not directly comparable with rates at schools that bill fees separately.
  • Pittsburg State charges its in-state rate to residents of 34 states, including Kansas and its neighbors. Pitt State students in a designated online program pay the in-state rate wherever they live.
  • Fort Hays State charges its online rate to any student taking only FHSU Online courses, regardless of residency. Fort Hays State and Emporia State charge reduced rates to Midwest Student Exchange Program students, and Emporia State charges the resident rate to residents of designated Missouri and Oklahoma counties.
  • Haskell’s tuition-free education is limited to members of federally recognized tribes and their eligible descendants.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Kansas

Broad geography or technical GIS

KU, K-State, and Fort Hays State offer geography-named bachelor’s degrees, and Pittsburg State offers geography as an emphasis within its social science major. For a GIS focus, K-State’s B.S. in Geographic Information Science and Technology is the state’s only stand-alone GIS bachelor’s, and KU’s B.S. in Geography is built around GIS, remote sensing, and quantitative methods. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.

Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree

Undergraduate GIS certificates run from 9 credits at Fort Hays State to 18 at K-State, with Wichita State, Pittsburg State, Haskell, and KU in between. Graduate GIS certificates are offered at KU, K-State, and Emporia State. For a master’s, KU offers the M.A. and M.S. in Geography, K-State the M.S., and Fort Hays State the M.S. in Geosciences (Geography); KU and K-State also offer the Ph.D. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.

Online or campus

Fort Hays State is the main online option in Kansas: its geography bachelor’s, GIS User certificate, and crime mapping certificate can all be completed online. Emporia State’s graduate certificate in geospatial analysis is the only fully online graduate GIS credential in the state. The KU and K-State degrees and certificates are campus programs.

Research preparation

  • University of Kansas: both master’s degrees require a thesis, and none of the graduate programs requires the GRE. The Ph.D. adds a research skills requirement in a language, mathematics, statistics, or an outside field.
  • Kansas State University: M.S. students choose a thesis or a report. Ph.D. students complete 30 hours of dissertation research and a year in residence.
  • Fort Hays State University: the M.S. offers a thesis route with an oral defense or a non-thesis route with comprehensive exams and a portfolio.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Colorado, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages unless noted above. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.