State guide · Reviewed October 1, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

North Carolina Geography Degree Programs

Compare geography and GIS programs at 14 North Carolina schools, from Edgecombe's online associate degree to UNC and NC State doctorates, with 2026–27 tuition.

North Carolina has 14 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: 12 universities and 2 community colleges. UNC Chapel Hill, UNC Charlotte, UNC Greensboro, and NC State offer doctorates. Online options include NC State’s GIS master’s, North Carolina Central’s master’s, GIS certificates at East Carolina and Appalachian State, and Edgecombe Community College’s associate degree.

Quick picks for North Carolina

Rates are resident tuition before fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.


North Carolina Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
UNC Chapel HillBachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geography and Environment
Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geospatial and Data Science
Campus (Chapel Hill)120
Major: 30 (B.A.) or 55–59 (B.S.)
Capstone seminar in both degrees
UNC CharlotteB.A. in Geography
B.S. in Geography
Not stated (Charlotte)120
Major: 54 (B.A.) or 57 (B.S.)
B.S. includes GIS programming and web GIS
UNC GreensboroB.A. in Geography
B.S. in Geography
In person (Greensboro)120
B.S. major: 63–66
GIScience, Urban Planning, and Earth Science concentrations
East Carolina UniversityB.S. in Geography and Geospatial Data Science
Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate)
B.S.: on campus (Greenville)
Certificate: fully online
B.S.: 120 (major 41)
Certificate: 15
Required geography internship
Appalachian StateB.A. in Geography
B.S. in Geography (General or GIS concentration)
GIS Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Boone)120
Major: 48–64
Certificate: 12–13
GIS concentration requires a 6-hour internship
UNC WilmingtonB.A. in Geography and Geospatial SciencesNot stated (Wilmington)Major: 43Applied learning requirement
North Carolina CentralB.S. in Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Science
Geospatial Intelligence Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Durham), or online with a 5-day campus field course120Geospatial intelligence certificate accredited by USGIF
Fayetteville StateB.A. in Geospatial Science
Geospatial Intelligence Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Fayetteville)B.A.: 120
Certificate: 21
NC Promise tuition of $500 per semester for residents
UNC PembrokeB.S. in Geo-Environmental Studies, Geography Track
Geospatial Technologies Certificate (undergraduate)
Not stated (Pembroke)B.S.: 120 (major 70)
Certificate: 12
Required internship or field course; NC Promise tuition
NC A&T StateB.S. in GeomaticsCampus (Greensboro), with upper-level courses online120ABET-accredited surveying and mapping degree
UNC AshevilleGeospatial Technology Certificate (undergraduate)Not stated (Asheville)12Open to non-degree students
Edgecombe Community CollegeAssociate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Geospatial Technology – Geographic Information Science
Diploma and three certificates
100% online (Tarboro)A.A.S.: 64
Diploma: 37
Certificates: 18 each
Only college approved for the state’s Geospatial Technology program
Asheville-Buncombe Technical CCGIS Fundamentals CertificateNot stated (Asheville)12Four-course introduction to GIS

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
UNC Chapel HillMaster of Arts (M.A.) in Geography and Environment
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography and Environment
Geographic Information Science Certificate (graduate)
Campus; certificate is primarily in personM.A.: 33
Ph.D.: 36–51
Certificate: 18
Program emphasis is on the Ph.D.
NC StateMaster of Geospatial Information Science and Technology (MGIST)
GIS Certificate (graduate)
Ph.D. in Geospatial Analytics
MGIST: online or campus (Raleigh)
Certificate: online
Ph.D.: campus
33
12
72
Ph.D. students are fully funded
UNC CharlotteM.A. in Geography
Ph.D. in Geography
GIS and Technology Certificate (graduate)
On campus33
51
13
M.A. capstone can be an internship
UNC GreensboroPh.D. in Geography
Digital Earth Technologies Certificate (post-baccalaureate)
In personPh.D.: 48–60
Certificate: 12
Dissertation or three publishable papers
East Carolina UniversityMaster of Science (M.S.) in Geography and Environment
GIS and Technology Certificate (graduate)
M.S.: on campus
Certificate: fully online
M.S.: 30 or 36
Certificate: 12
Professional Science Master’s option in GIScience
Appalachian StateM.A. in Geography
Geographic Information Science Certificate (graduate)
M.A.: Boone campus
Certificate: Boone or online
M.A.: 30 (thesis) or 36
Certificate: 12
Online certificate track is asynchronous
UNC WilmingtonM.S. in Geoscience, Geospatial Science concentration
GIS, Remote Sensing and UAS Certificate (post-baccalaureate)
On campusM.S.: 30
Certificate: 18
Drone (UAS) coursework
North Carolina CentralM.S. in Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Science
Geospatial Intelligence Certificate (graduate)
M.S.: campus or onlineM.S.: 30
Certificate: 18
Thesis or internship project
NC A&T StateGIS Certificate (post-baccalaureate)Online and on campus12Four courses over two to four semesters

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs, except NC A&T, whose latest catalog is 2025–26. Minors are not listed.

Related Urban Planning Programs

These planning degrees include GIS coursework but are not geography or GIS degrees.

  • UNC Chapel Hill: Master of City and Regional Planning (51 credit hours).
  • East Carolina: B.S. in Community and Regional Planning (on campus, accredited by the Planning Accreditation Board) and M.S. in Planning and Development (36 semester hours, fully online).
  • Appalachian State: B.S. in Community and Regional Planning.

See our urban planning guide.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in North Carolina

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.

Verified fully online options

  • NC State: the catalog says the MGIST “can be completed entirely online,” and the 12-credit GIS graduate certificate is online only. One NC State Online page lists two campus visits for the MGIST, so confirm before enrolling.
  • North Carolina Central: the M.S. in Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Science offers all courses online.
  • East Carolina: the graduate GIS and Technology certificate is fully online. The undergraduate GIScience certificate can be completed fully online when students follow the recommended course sequence.
  • Appalachian State: the online track of the graduate GIScience certificate is 100% online and asynchronous.
  • Edgecombe Community College: the Geospatial Technology A.A.S., diploma, and GIS certificates are offered 100% online. Only its drone certificate has one in-person course.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • North Carolina Central B.S.: the online version delivers courses online but includes a 5-day Field Mapping course on the Durham campus.
  • Fayetteville State B.A. in Geospatial Science: the catalog says online completion is pending system approval.
  • NC A&T: the Geomatics B.S. offers its upper-level courses online, and the GIS certificate is offered “online and in-campus.”

No North Carolina university describes a geography bachelor’s degree as fully online. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


North Carolina School Summaries

UNC Chapel Hill

UNC’s Department of Geography and Environment offers a B.A. in Geography and Environment and a more technical B.S. in Geospatial and Data Science. The B.A. requires GIS, quantitative methods, and research methods courses, with optional pathways such as climatology and urban development. The B.S. adds spatial data science, cartography, remote sensing, and GIS programming. Both end in a capstone seminar.

Graduate study centers on the Ph.D., though an M.A. with a thesis is also offered. The GRE is not used in admission decisions. The department aims to fund M.A. students for two years and Ph.D. students for four to five. An 18-hour graduate GIScience certificate, which is primarily in person, is open to non-degree applicants.

Sources: Geography and Environment B.A.; Geospatial and Data Science B.S.; graduate catalog; GIScience certificate.


NC State University

NC State has no undergraduate geography or GIS degree. Its Center for Geospatial Analytics offers the 33-credit Master of Geospatial Information Science and Technology, a non-thesis professional degree. It covers geospatial programming, data structures and web services, and modeling, and ends in a client-based capstone project and a professional portfolio. Admission requires a 3.0 GPA and three letters, with no entrance exam.

The 12-credit GIS graduate certificate is online, and its credits can transfer into the master’s. The 72-credit Ph.D. in Geospatial Analytics is on campus only. NC State says all admitted Ph.D. students receive an assistantship of at least $30,000 per year, health insurance, and a tuition waiver for up to four years.

Sources: MGIST catalog; GIS certificate; Ph.D. Geospatial Analytics; NC State Online MGIST page.


UNC Charlotte

UNC Charlotte offers a B.A. and a B.S. in Geography. The B.A. includes 12 hours of urban studies and planning. The B.S. adds a GIS and technology block with Computer Programming for GIS Applications, Web GIS, and Fundamentals of Remote Sensing.

The 33-credit M.A. in Geography ends in a capstone that can be a research project, an internship, or an urban design studio. The GRE is optional, and three letters are required. The 51-credit Ph.D. in Geography requires a master’s degree with a 3.5 GPA. Its GRE requirement is waived for applicants with a 3.75 graduate GPA. A 13-credit graduate GIS certificate is offered on campus. Assistantships are competitive.

Sources: Geography B.S.; Geography M.A.; Geography Ph.D.; GIS certificate.


UNC Greensboro

UNCG offers a B.A. and a B.S. in Geography, both in person. Concentrations are available in GIScience, Urban Planning, and Earth Science; the B.S. requires one and adds chemistry, physics, and calculus. The GIScience concentration ends in a capstone with a faculty-directed project.

UNCG has no geography master’s degree. The Ph.D. in Geography ends in a dissertation or three publishable papers, and competitive funding packages are available. UNCG’s pages disagree on whether the Ph.D. requires the GRE, so confirm with the department. The 12-credit Digital Earth Technologies certificate covers advanced GIS and remote sensing.

Sources: Geography B.A.; Geography B.S.; Geography Ph.D.; Digital Earth Technologies certificate.


East Carolina University

ECU’s on-campus B.S. in Geography and Geospatial Data Science has two concentrations: geographic and environmental systems, and geospatial data science. All students complete a geography internship and a professional seminar. Courses include GIS Applications Programming and Drone Technology and Applications.

The M.S. in Geography and Environment is on campus. It takes 30 semester hours with a thesis or 36 with an internship. Its Professional Science Master’s concentration in GIScience combines GIS courses with a professional area such as planning or logistics. Assistantships are competitive. ECU also offers online GIS certificates at the undergraduate (15 hours) and graduate (12 hours) levels.

Sources: Geography and Geospatial Data Science B.S.; Geography and Environment M.S.; undergraduate GIS certificate; graduate GIS certificate.


Appalachian State University

App State offers a B.A. in Geography, which requires a minor and a language, and a B.S. in Geography with a General or GIS concentration. The GIS concentration includes remote sensing, drones, GIS modeling, and web mapping, plus a required 6-hour internship. For its online programs, see our Appalachian State University Online Graduate Certificate in GIScience profile.

The M.A. in Geography has a 30-credit thesis option and 36-credit non-thesis concentrations in general geography, GIScience, planning, and climate change. Three letters are required. The department page asks for GRE scores but the graduate bulletin does not, so confirm before applying. Assistantships pay $9,000 per year. The 12-credit graduate GIScience certificate has campus and online tracks.

Sources: Geography B.S., GIS concentration; Geography M.A.; online GIScience certificate; graduate program and assistantships.


UNC Wilmington

UNCW’s B.A. in Geography and Geospatial Sciences has a 43-hour major with cartography, GIS, and remote sensing, plus an applied learning requirement.

Graduate students take the 30-credit M.S. in Geoscience with a Geospatial Science concentration. It offers thesis and portfolio options and includes spatial programming and drone applications. Three recommendations are required, and the catalog lists no GRE. Teaching assistantships are competitive, and most come with out-of-state tuition remission. An 18-credit post-baccalaureate certificate in GIS, Remote Sensing and UAS is offered on campus.

Sources: Geography and Geospatial Sciences B.A.; Geoscience M.S.; post-baccalaureate certificate.


North Carolina Central University

NCCU offers a B.S. in Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Science in traditional and online versions. Courses include GIS, remote sensing, applied GIS, and geospatial statistics. The online version includes a 5-day Field Mapping course on campus. An undergraduate Geospatial Intelligence certificate is accredited by the U.S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation (USGIF).

The 30-credit M.S. in Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Science ends in a thesis or internship project and is offered on campus and online. The catalog requires the GRE, though NCCU’s online program page says it may be waived. An 18-hour graduate Geospatial Intelligence certificate is also offered.

Sources: B.S. catalog; M.S. catalog; online M.S.; Geospatial Intelligence certificate.


Fayetteville State University

Fayetteville State’s B.A. in Geospatial Science includes GIS, remote sensing, and economic, physical, and urban geography, and ends in a senior seminar. Its 21-credit Geospatial Intelligence Certificate, accredited by USGIF, adds geoprocessing automation, applied GIS, and a capstone seminar. Fayetteville State is an NC Promise school.

Sources: Geospatial Science B.A.; Geospatial Intelligence certificate.


UNC Pembroke

UNC Pembroke’s B.S. in Geo-Environmental Studies has a Geography Track with cartography, GIS, weather and climate, and land use planning. It requires an internship or approved field course. The 12-credit Geospatial Technologies Certificate is open to UNCP students in any major and ends in a 1-credit capstone. UNC Pembroke is an NC Promise school.

Sources: Geo-Environmental Studies, Geography Track; Geospatial Technologies certificate.


NC A&T State University

NC A&T’s B.S. in Geomatics is an ABET-accredited surveying and mapping degree, not a geography degree. It includes GIS, photogrammetry, satellite positioning, and drone data processing, and ends in a two-part senior project. Upper-level courses are offered online for transfer students. A 12-credit post-baccalaureate GIS certificate is listed on department pages but not in the graduate catalog, so confirm that it is enrolling.

Sources: Geomatics B.S. (2025–26 catalog); GIS certificate.


UNC Asheville

UNC Asheville has no geography degree. Its 12-credit Geospatial Technology Certificate combines a programming course, GIS, and remote sensing with one elective. It is open to degree-seeking and non-degree students.

Sources: Geospatial Technology certificate.


Edgecombe Community College

Edgecombe, in Tarboro, is the only community college approved for North Carolina’s Geospatial Technology program. Its 64-credit A.A.S. in Geospatial Technology – Geographic Information Science covers raster GIS, remote sensing, spatial analysis, internet mapping, and GIS programming. A 37-credit diploma and 18-credit certificates in GIScience, internet mapping, and unmanned aircraft systems are also offered.

Edgecombe says graduates can transfer as many as 53 credit hours to East Carolina University’s geography bachelor’s degree.

Sources: Geospatial Technology program; A.A.S. catalog.


Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College

A-B Tech offers a 12-credit GIS Fundamentals Certificate within its information technology program: IT Foundations, Introduction to GIS, GIS Data Models, and Georeferencing and Mapping.

Sources: GIS Fundamentals certificate.


Schools not included

  • Duke University has no geography or GIS degree. Its Geospatial Analysis Certificate is open only to students in its environmental management and forestry master’s programs.
  • Western Carolina, Elizabeth City State, and Elon offer geography or GIS minors only.
  • UNC Greensboro’s M.S. in Applied Geography is not in the 2026–27 catalog. Mitchell Community College stopped accepting Geospatial Technology applications after fall 2025.
  • Geomatics (surveying) A.A.S. programs at Wake Tech, Central Piedmont, Guilford Tech, Sandhills, Cape Fear, Fayetteville Tech, and A-B Tech include a GIS course but are surveying degrees.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.

Undergraduate and associate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
UNC Chapel Hill
Bachelor’s degrees
$3,615 per semester (resident)
$23,736 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$7,230 resident per year
$47,472 nonresident per year
$1,060.50 per semester
UNC Charlotte
Bachelor’s degrees
$1,963 per semester (resident)
$11,009 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$3,926 resident per year
$22,018 nonresident per year
$1,752.50 per semester
UNC Greensboro
Bachelor’s degrees
$2,277.50 per semester (resident)
$11,019 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$4,555 resident per year
$22,038 nonresident per year
$1,654.50 per semester
East Carolina
B.S. Geography and Geospatial Data Science
$2,292.48 per semester (resident, new students)
$10,675.56 per semester (nonresident)
Fall 2026 schedule
Two semesters at the fall 2026 rate$4,584.96 resident per year
$21,351.12 nonresident per year
$1,509.50 per semester
East Carolina
Undergraduate GIS certificate (online)
$191.04 per credit (resident)
$889.63 per credit (nonresident)
15 semester hours$2,865.60 resident total
$13,344.45 nonresident total
$22.38 per credit
Appalachian State
Bachelor’s degrees
$2,174 per semester (resident)
$11,604 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$4,348 resident per year
$23,208 nonresident per year
$2,025.50 per semester
UNC Wilmington
B.A. Geography and Geospatial Sciences
$2,288 per semester (resident)
$11,637.50 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$4,576 resident per year
$23,275 nonresident per year
$1,472 per semester
North Carolina Central
B.S. (campus or online)
$1,920 per semester (resident)
$8,634 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$3,840 resident per year
$17,268 nonresident per year
$1,545 per semester on campus; $284.50 per semester online
Fayetteville State and UNC Pembroke
Bachelor’s degrees (NC Promise)
$500 per semester (resident)
$3,500 per semester (nonresident students first enrolling summer 2026 or later)
Two full-time semesters$1,000 resident per year
$7,000 nonresident per year
Fayetteville State $1,726 per semester; UNC Pembroke $1,342.50 per semester
NC A&T State
B.S. Geomatics
$1,823 per semester (resident)
$9,064 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$3,646 resident per year
$18,128 nonresident per year
$1,636.50 per semester
UNC Asheville
Undergraduate study with the Geospatial Technology Certificate
$2,092 per semester (resident)
$10,735 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$4,184 resident per year
$21,470 nonresident per year
$1,722 per semester
Edgecombe Community College
A.A.S. and certificates
$76 per credit (resident)
$268 per credit (nonresident)
A.A.S. 64 credits; certificate 18 creditsA.A.S.: $4,864 resident total; $17,152 nonresident total
Certificate: $1,368 resident total; $4,824 nonresident total
Activity fee $4 per credit, technology fee $2 per credit, and campus access fee $3 per credit; $5 success fee per semester
Asheville-Buncombe Technical CC
GIS Fundamentals Certificate
$76 per credit (resident)
$268 per credit (nonresident)
12 credits$912 resident total
$3,216 nonresident total
College fees vary

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
UNC Chapel Hill
M.A. and Ph.D.
$5,382 per semester (resident)
$14,710.50 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$10,764 resident per year
$29,421 nonresident per year
$1,063 per semester
UNC Chapel Hill
GIScience graduate certificate
$598 per credit (resident)
$1,634.50 per credit (nonresident)
18 credit hours$10,764 resident total
$29,421 nonresident total
Fees vary by enrollment
NC State (online)
MGIST and GIS certificate
$585.39 per credit (resident)
$1,804.11 per credit (nonresident)
MGIST 33 credits; certificate 12 creditsMGIST: $19,317.87 resident total; $59,535.63 nonresident total
Certificate: $7,024.68 resident total; $21,649.32 nonresident total
$28.50 per credit
NC State (campus)
Ph.D. Geospatial Analytics
$5,268.50 per semester (resident)
$16,237 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$10,537 resident per year
$32,474 nonresident per year
$1,263.75 per semester. Admitted Ph.D. students receive a tuition waiver.
UNC Charlotte
M.A. and Ph.D.
$2,662 per semester (resident)
$11,344 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$5,324 resident per year
$22,688 nonresident per year
$1,752.50 per semester
UNC Charlotte
GIS graduate certificate
$295.78 per credit (resident)
$1,260.44 per credit (nonresident)
13 credits$3,845.14 resident total
$16,385.72 nonresident total
Fees vary by credit load
UNC Greensboro
Ph.D. Geography
$2,768 per semester (resident)
$10,656.50 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$5,536 resident per year
$21,313 nonresident per year
$1,654.50 per semester at 12+ credits
UNC Greensboro
Digital Earth Technologies certificate
$307.56 per credit (resident)
$1,184.06 per credit (nonresident)
12 credits$3,690.72 resident total
$14,208.72 nonresident total
Fees vary by credit load
East Carolina (campus)
M.S. Geography and Environment
$2,493.54 per semester (resident)
$9,396.54 per semester (nonresident)
Fall 2026 schedule
Two semesters at the fall 2026 rate$4,987.08 resident per year
$18,793.08 nonresident per year
$1,509.50 per semester
East Carolina (online)
Graduate GIS certificate
$277.06 per credit (resident)
$1,044.06 per credit (nonresident)
12 semester hours$3,324.72 resident total
$12,528.72 nonresident total
$29.67 per credit
Appalachian State (campus)
M.A. Geography
$2,762.50 per semester (resident)
$11,619 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$5,525 resident per year
$23,238 nonresident per year
$1,855.50 per semester
Appalachian State (online)
GIScience graduate certificate
$306.95 per credit (resident)
$1,291 per credit (nonresident)
12 credits$3,683.40 resident total
$15,492 nonresident total
$37.33 per credit; $128.50 book rental per term
UNC Wilmington
M.S. Geoscience
$2,881.50 per semester (resident)
$11,662.50 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$5,763 resident per year
$23,325 nonresident per year
$1,472 per semester
UNC Wilmington
Post-baccalaureate GIS certificate
$320.17 per credit (resident)
$1,295.84 per credit (nonresident)
18 credits$5,763.06 resident total
$23,325.12 nonresident total
Fees vary by credit load
North Carolina Central
M.S. (campus or online)
$2,441 per semester (resident)
$9,295 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$4,882 resident per year
$18,590 nonresident per year
$1,508 per semester on campus; $284.50 per semester online
NC A&T State
Post-baccalaureate GIS certificate
$303 per credit (resident)
$1,035.45 per credit (nonresident)
12 credits$3,636 resident total
$12,425.40 nonresident total
Online: $20.75 per credit, plus a $30 security fee and $5 access fee per term

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • UNC System universities charge full-time students a flat semester rate, so per-year figures assume full-time study. Certificates are estimated per credit.
  • NC Promise sets resident tuition at $500 per semester at Fayetteville State, UNC Pembroke, Western Carolina, and Elizabeth City State. Fees are charged on top.
  • Online programs usually carry lower fees than campus programs at the same school, as at North Carolina Central and East Carolina.
  • East Carolina had posted only its fall 2026 schedule at review, and several universities label 2026–27 rates as pending final state approval.
  • Several universities hold tuition flat for continuing undergraduates, so returning students may pay less than the new-student rates shown.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in North Carolina

Broad geography or technical GIS

Geography degrees at UNC Chapel Hill, UNC Charlotte, UNC Greensboro, and Appalachian State mix human and physical geography with GIS. More technical options include UNC’s B.S. in Geospatial and Data Science, ECU’s geospatial data science concentration, App State’s GIS concentration, and NC State’s MGIST. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.

Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree

Graduate GIS certificates run 12–18 credits at nine universities and are the shortest route for students who already hold a bachelor’s degree. Edgecombe’s A.A.S. is the lowest-cost starting point. Students considering a Ph.D. should check research preparation and admissions requirements. A thesis can help demonstrate research experience. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.

Online or campus

Most online options in North Carolina are graduate-level: NC State’s MGIST and certificate, NCCU’s M.S., and the ECU and App State certificates. Undergraduates who need online study can look at Edgecombe’s A.A.S., ECU’s undergraduate certificate, or NCCU’s online B.S., which includes a short campus field course.

Thesis or applied graduate work

UNC Chapel Hill’s M.A. requires a thesis. UNC Charlotte, ECU, App State, UNCW, and NCCU offer internship, project, or portfolio routes alongside or in place of a thesis. NC State’s MGIST is a non-thesis professional degree with a client project.

Funding

  • NC State: all admitted Ph.D. students receive a funded assistantship. Funding for the online MGIST is not advertised.
  • UNC Chapel Hill: the department aims to support M.A. students for two years and Ph.D. students for four to five.
  • Appalachian State: assistantships pay $9,000 per year.
  • UNC Charlotte, UNC Greensboro, ECU, and UNCW: assistantships are described as competitive, with no amounts published.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in South Carolina, Virginia, Tennessee, and Georgia, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 1, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule unless a row notes otherwise.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.