State guide · Reviewed October 1, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

West Virginia Geography Degree Programs

Compare geography and GIS programs at 5 West Virginia schools, from Marshall's online degrees to WVU's Ph.D. and online GIS master's, with 2026–27 tuition.

West Virginia has five schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials. Marshall University offers the state’s geography bachelor’s degrees, and they can be completed online. West Virginia University offers a geography master’s and Ph.D. on campus and a GIS master’s online. Davis & Elkins College, Glenville State, and Concord add a GIS bachelor’s degree and GIS certificates.


West Virginia Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
Marshall UniversityBachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geography
Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geography
Geospatial Information Science Certificate (undergraduate)
Degrees: campus (Huntington) or 100% online
Certificate: not stated
Degrees: 120 (major 39 or 45)
Certificate: 18
B.S. emphases in GIScience, meteorology, and weather broadcasting
Davis & Elkins CollegeB.S. in Geospatial Analysis
Geospatial Analyst Certificate and four applied GIS certificates
Not stated (Elkins)B.S.: 124 (major 50)
Certificates: 23–24
Practicum, senior capstone, and Python and GeoAI courses
Glenville State UniversityCertificate in Geographic Information System (GIS)Completely online12Includes drone technology and remote sensing
Concord UniversityGIS User Certificate (undergraduate)Not stated (Athens)9Three-course certificate within environmental geosciences

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
West Virginia UniversityMaster of Arts (M.A.) in Geography
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography
Master of Science (M.S.) in GIS and Spatial Analysis
Graduate Certificate in GIS and Spatial Analysis
M.A. and Ph.D.: campus (Morgantown)
M.S. and certificate: fully online
M.A.: 30
Ph.D.: 28 course credits plus research
M.S.: 31
Certificate: 15
GRE not required; funded M.A. and Ph.D. positions
Marshall UniversityM.A. in Geography
M.S. in Geography
Geospatial Information Science Graduate Certificate
Campus or 100% onlineM.A./M.S.: 34
Certificate: 16
Capstone portfolio or thesis

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs. Minors are not listed.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in West Virginia

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.

Verified fully online options

  • Marshall University bachelor’s degrees: Marshall says students can finish the B.A. or B.S. in Geography 100% online.
  • Marshall University graduate programs: the M.A. and M.S. in Geography are offered on campus or 100% online, and the graduate GIScience certificate can be earned entirely online.
  • West Virginia University: the M.S. in GIS and Spatial Analysis is a fully online, asynchronous program, and the 15-credit graduate certificate is also online.
  • Glenville State University: the 12-hour GIS certificate is completely online.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • Marshall B.S. emphases: the catalog notes that some courses for the GIScience, Meteorology, and Weather Broadcasting emphases are not available online.
  • Marshall undergraduate GIScience certificate: the catalog does not state a delivery format.
  • American Public University: offers online 9-hour Geospatial Intelligence micro-credentials, which are not certificates or degrees.

Marshall’s program is also profiled in our Marshall online geography guide. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


West Virginia School Summaries

Marshall University

Marshall’s Department of Geography offers a B.A. and a B.S. in Geography. Both include physical and human geography, Methods in Geography, Cartography and GIS, and a senior capstone. The B.A. carries the college’s foreign language requirement. The B.S. adds a second GIS course and at least 15 credits in physical geography or GIScience, with optional emphases in Geospatial Information Science, Meteorology, and Weather Broadcasting.

The M.A. and M.S. in Geography each require 34 credits. Marshall describes the M.A. as suited to human geography and geography education and the M.S. as suited to GIScience and physical geography. Most students finish with a portfolio capstone and comprehensive exam, and a thesis is optional. Admission requires a résumé and two letters.

  • Certificates: an 18-credit undergraduate Geospatial Information Science certificate and a 16-credit graduate certificate, which is open to certificate-only students.
  • Funding: the department awards two graduate assistantships, with a 70–100% tuition waiver and a stipend for 20 hours of work per week.

Sources: Geography B.A.; Geography B.S.; online geography degree; master’s degrees; assistantships.


West Virginia University

WVU’s geography bachelor’s degree is not admitting new majors. Undergraduates interested in GIS can take a GIS Methods emphasis within the B.A. in Sustainability Studies or the B.S. in Earth and Environmental Science, which are not geography degrees.

At the graduate level, the 30-credit M.A. in Geography offers a thesis track or a professional project track, with specializations in human geography, environmental geography, and GIScience. The Ph.D. in Geography requires 28 course credits plus dissertation research. Neither requires the GRE. The M.A. asks for two letters and the Ph.D. for three.

  • M.S. in GIS and Spatial Analysis: 31 credits online, ending in a graduation project without an oral defense. Courses include Geographic Information Science, Remote Sensing Principles, and Open-Source Spatial Analytics. The GRE is not required.
  • Graduate certificate: 15 credits online, including a GIS and spatial analysis project. WVU says certificates do not qualify for financial aid.
  • Funding: M.A. and Ph.D. applicants are considered for assistantships. Funded positions include a stipend, a tuition waiver, and health insurance, typically for two years (M.A.) or three years (Ph.D.).

Sources: Geography M.A.; Geography Ph.D.; online M.S.; graduate certificate; graduate funding; undergraduate programs.


Davis & Elkins College

Davis & Elkins, a private college in Elkins, lists a B.S. in Geospatial Analysis in its 2026–27 catalog. The 50-hour major includes Introduction to Geographic Information Science and Systems, Python for GIS, Remote Sensing and Intermediate GIS, and Advanced GIS. It requires a 4-credit practicum, a senior capstone, and a minor in another field.

The college also offers a 24-hour Geospatial Analyst Certificate and 23-hour certificates that pair GIS with business, crime analysis, geopolitics, or social science. Each ends with a 1-credit course that prepares students for an Esri technical certification exam, which must be passed to complete the certificate.

Sources: Geospatial Analysis program; 2026–27 catalog (PDF).


Glenville State University

Glenville State’s 12-hour Certificate in Geographic Information System (GIS) is completely online. Courses are GIS Applications I and II, Introduction to Drone Technology, Remote Sensing and Aerial Photo Interpretation, and either Computer Assisted Mapping or GIS for Business. Glenville also offers land surveying degrees that include GIS.

Sources: online GIS certificate; Land Resources programs.


Concord University

Concord does not list a geography degree in its 2026–27 catalog. It offers a 9-credit GIS User Certificate: Digital Earth, Geographic Information Systems, and Remote Sensing Applications. The certificate is built into the B.S. in Environmental Geosciences, and geospatial tracks are available in computer information systems and data analytics.

Sources: GIS User Certificate; undergraduate programs.


Schools not included

  • West Liberty University’s B.S. in Geography and Planning is in teach-out and not accepting new students.
  • Fairmont State and Shepherd offer GIS minors only. Fairmont State also has a surveying and geomatics degree with GIS coursework.
  • American Public University offers 9-hour Geospatial Intelligence micro-credentials but no GIS degree or certificate. Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College offers a 6-hour GIS micro-credential.
  • Mountwest Community and Technical College does not list a geospatial program in its 2026–27 catalog, and no other community college lists a GIS credential.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.

Undergraduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
Marshall University (campus)
B.A. and B.S. Geography
$3,982 per semester (resident)
$5,805 per semester (metro)
$9,392 per semester (nonresident)
Two full-time semesters$7,964 resident per year
$11,610 metro per year
$18,784 nonresident per year
$827 per semester, plus a college fee of $128–$175 per semester
Marshall University (online)
B.A. and B.S. Geography
$400.75 per credit, any residency30 credits per year$12,022.50 per yearCollege fee of $10.75 per credit
Marshall University
Undergraduate GIScience certificate
$332 per credit (resident)
$783 per credit (nonresident)
18 credits$5,976 resident total
$14,094 nonresident total
$69.25 per credit, plus a college fee of $10.75–$12.50 per credit
Davis & Elkins College
B.S. Geospatial Analysis
$31,860 per year, same for all studentsOne academic year$31,860 per year$1,050 comprehensive student fee
Glenville State University
Online GIS certificate
$4,566 per semester (online program rate)
No per-credit rate is published
12 hours, taken as one full-time semester$4,566 total$541 per semester
Concord University
GIS User Certificate
$406 per credit (in-state)
$893 per credit (out-of-state)
9 credits$3,654 in-state total
$8,037 out-of-state total
$60 per credit in class fees

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
West Virginia University (campus)
M.A. and Ph.D. Geography
$6,012 per semester (resident)
$16,776 per semester (nonresident)
University and college tuition combined
Two full-time semesters$12,024 resident per year
$33,552 nonresident per year
$702 in university fees and a $250 athletics fee per semester. Funded students receive a tuition waiver.
West Virginia University (online)
M.S. GIS and Spatial Analysis
$668 per credit in tuition, any residency31 credits$20,708 total$100 per credit online learning fee
West Virginia University (online)
Graduate Certificate in GIS and Spatial Analysis
$684 per credit in tuition, any residency15 credits$10,260 total$100 per credit online learning fee
Marshall University (campus)
M.A. and M.S. Geography
$463 per credit (resident)
$802.50 per credit (metro)
$1,146.50 per credit (nonresident)
34 credits$15,742 resident total
$27,285 metro total
$38,981 nonresident total
$85.50 per credit, plus a college fee of $17.25–$22.25 per credit
Marshall University (online)
M.A. and M.S. Geography; graduate GIScience certificate
$548 per credit, any residencyM.A./M.S. 34 credits; certificate 16 creditsM.A./M.S.: $18,632 total
Certificate: $8,768 total
College fee of $17.25 per credit

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • Marshall’s online rate is the same for every student and already includes its online course delivery charge, so it is higher than resident campus tuition but far lower than nonresident tuition.
  • Marshall’s metro rate applies to residents of 50 neighboring counties in nearby states.
  • WVU splits its charges into university tuition, college tuition, and fees. The online master’s costs $768 per credit once the $100 online learning fee is added, and the certificate costs $784.
  • Glenville State publishes a per-semester rate for online programs and notes that online-only tuition and fees may vary.
  • WVU labels its 2026–27 amounts as estimates that are subject to change.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in West Virginia

Broad geography or technical GIS

Marshall is the place for a geography bachelor’s degree, and its B.S. can lean toward GIS or meteorology. Davis & Elkins offers the state’s GIS-named bachelor’s degree, with Python and remote sensing in the major. At the graduate level, WVU’s M.A. is a broad geography degree, while its online M.S. is focused on GIS and spatial analysis. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.

Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree

Short GIS certificates run 9–24 credits at Concord, Glenville State, Marshall, and Davis & Elkins. Graduate certificates of 15–16 credits are available online at WVU and Marshall. WVU offers the state’s only geography Ph.D. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.

Online or campus

West Virginia students can earn a geography bachelor’s, a geography master’s, or a GIS master’s entirely online through Marshall and WVU. WVU’s M.A. and Ph.D. and the Davis & Elkins degree are campus programs.

Thesis or applied graduate work

WVU’s M.A. and Marshall’s master’s degrees both offer a thesis or a non-thesis route. WVU’s online M.S. ends in a project. Students considering a Ph.D. should check research preparation and admissions requirements. A thesis can help demonstrate research experience.

Funding

WVU considers all M.A. and Ph.D. applicants for assistantships that include a stipend, tuition waiver, and health insurance. Marshall awards two graduate assistantships in geography. Funding for WVU’s online M.S. is not advertised, and WVU says its certificates do not qualify for financial aid.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Virginia, Kentucky, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Maryland, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 1, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule unless a row notes otherwise.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.