State guide · Reviewed October 14, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Minnesota Geography Degree Programs

Compare 15 Minnesota schools with geography and GIS programs, from GIS certificates to a UMN Twin Cities Ph.D., with 2026–27 tuition and online options.

Minnesota has 15 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials. Six are public universities (two University of Minnesota campuses and four Minnesota State universities), four are private universities and colleges, and five are Minnesota State two-year colleges, one of them a tribal college. The only geography Ph.D. is at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. No Minnesota school offers a geography or GIS degree that it describes as fully online. Two certificates are verified as fully online: a GIS certificate at Minnesota North College and a graduate GIS certificate at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Bemidji State lists its Geography B.S. among its online and hybrid degree-completion programs.

Quick picks for Minnesota

Rates are resident tuition before fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.


Minnesota Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates at Universities

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of Minnesota Twin CitiesBachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geography
Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geography (Environmental, GIS, or Human Geography sub-plan)
Campus (Minneapolis)120 total
B.A. major: 33 minimum
B.S. major: 52–68
Senior project; B.S. GIS sub-plan includes an advanced 5000-level GIS course
University of Minnesota DuluthB.S. in Geographic Information Science
B.A. in Environment, Sustainability and Geography
Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Duluth)120 total
GIS major: 51–54
Certificate: 19
Internship required in both degrees
Minnesota State University, MankatoB.S. in Geospatial Science
Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Mankato)B.S.: 120 (major 48)
Certificate: 19
Capstone of field studies, seminar, senior paper, or internship
St. Cloud State UniversityB.S. in Geospatial Science
Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate)
Hybrid (St. Cloud campus)B.S.: 120 (major 46)
Certificate: 9
Internship and applied geography seminar required
Minnesota State University MoorheadB.S. in Environmental and Human Geography
Certificate in Geographic Information Science
Face to face; some online courses may be available or requiredB.S. major: 55
Certificate: 12
In-state tuition for all domestic degree-seeking students
Bemidji State UniversityB.S. in Geography (GIScience or Earth Science emphasis)
Geographic Information Science Certificate (undergraduate)
B.S. listed among online and hybrid degree-completion programs; certificate listed online and on campusB.S.: 120 (major 50 GIScience, 48 Earth Science)
Certificate: 12
In-state tuition for all qualified applicants
University of St. ThomasB.A. in Geographic Information Systems
Certificate in Geographic Information Systems (undergraduate)
Not stated (St. Paul)Major: 44
Certificate: 12
Certificate open only to students outside geography
Gustavus Adolphus CollegeB.A. in Geography (optional GIS emphasis)Campus (St. Peter)Major: 41Research capstone
Macalester CollegeB.A. in GeographyCampus (St. Paul)Major: nine coursesIntroduction to GIS required as a research methods course

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of Minnesota Twin CitiesMaster of Arts (M.A.) in Geography
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography
Master of Geographic Information Science (M.G.I.S.)
Campus (Minneapolis)M.A.: 30 (thesis or Plan B papers)
Ph.D.: 28 coursework credits, plus thesis credits
M.G.I.S.: 35
Guaranteed funding for M.A. (2 years) and Ph.D. (5 years); M.G.I.S. ends in a professional portfolio
Minnesota State University, MankatoGeographic Information Science Graduate CertificateCampus (Mankato)18Seminar in GIS required
St. Cloud State UniversityGeographic Information Science Graduate CertificateCatalog: on campus (the program page says it can be completed online; see below)9One basic GIS class required for admission
Bemidji State UniversityGeographic Information Science Graduate CertificateCampus (Bemidji)123.00 GPA required
Saint Mary’s University of MinnesotaGraduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science
Master of Science (M.S.) in Data Intelligence and GeoAnalytics (formerly the M.S. in GIS)
Certificate: fully online
M.S.: listed as online
Certificate: 15
M.S.: 36
Certificate credits apply to the M.S.; September, January, and May starts

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs or program pages unless a school summary notes another year. Credits are semester credits. Minors are not listed. Minnesota State Mankato’s Geography B.A., B.S., and M.S. and its M.S. in Geographic Information Science appear in the 2025–26 catalog but not in the 2026–27 catalog, and St. Cloud State’s Geography B.A. is not accepting applications.

Community and Technical College Degrees and Certificates

CollegeCredentialUnitsFormat
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community CollegeGeographic Information Systems Certificate
Geographic Information Systems, Associate of Science (A.S.)
16
60
Certificate: in person and by videoconference (Cloquet)
A.S.: not stated
Minnesota North College, Itasca campusGIS Professional Certificate
Geography/GIS, A.S.
Natural Resources-Geospatial, Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.)
16
60
64
Certificate: fully online
A.S.: campus (Grand Rapids), some courses online
A.A.S.: campus
Northland Community and Technical CollegeUAS and Geospatial Applications Certificate13Campus (Aerospace Center, Thief River Falls)
Saint Paul CollegeGeographic Information Science Certificate
Geographic Information Science, A.A.S.
13
60
In person and online (St. Paul)
South Central CollegeGeographic Information Systems Certificate16Campus (North Mankato)

We checked all 26 Minnesota State two-year colleges and Minnesota’s three other tribal colleges. Only the five above list a GIS- or geospatial-named credential. Several others teach GIS inside civil engineering, land surveying, or precision agriculture programs (see schools not included). Minnesota’s statewide Transfer Pathways do not include geography. Normandale Community College lists geography as an emphasis within its Associate of Arts.

Related Urban Planning Programs

The University of Minnesota’s Humphrey School offers a 48-credit Master of Urban and Regional Planning. Students without GIS competency must take a GIS course within the 48 credits, and GIS and Transit is one of the concentration options. It is a planning degree, not a GIS degree. Minnesota State Mankato’s 36-credit M.A. in Urban Planning does not require a GIS course. See our urban planning guide.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Minnesota

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that offer some or most coursework online, or whose sources disagree.

Verified fully online options

  • Minnesota North College GIS Professional Certificate: the 2026–27 program planner says the college offers a “fully online, 16-credit” GIS certificate.
  • Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science: the university lists it among its “fully online master’s level certificates.” It is 15 credits and can be completed in about one year.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • Bemidji State University B.S. in Geography: both emphases are listed under online bachelor’s degrees on a page describing “online and hybrid degree-completion programs.” The catalog does not state a delivery mode, and the university does not say the whole degree can be completed online. Its undergraduate GIS certificate is also listed among online certificates.
  • Saint Mary’s University M.S. in Data Intelligence and GeoAnalytics: the program page and tuition schedule label it “Online,” but the M.S. page does not state that the full degree is completed online.
  • St. Cloud State University GIS Graduate Certificate: the program page says students can complete it “entirely online,” but the same page and the 2026–27 catalog list the delivery as on campus.
  • Saint Paul College GIS Certificate and A.A.S.: the catalog lists “In Person and Online” but does not say either credential can be finished entirely online. One required field course runs in summer only.
  • St. Cloud State B.S. in Geospatial Science: delivered in a hybrid format on the St. Cloud campus.

For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Minnesota School Summaries

University of Minnesota Twin Cities

The Department of Geography, Environment and Society offers a B.A. in Geography with a major of at least 33 credits, a 1-credit capstone, and a required senior project, and a B.S. in Geography with a 52–68 credit major. B.S. students choose an Environmental Geography, Geographic Information Science, or Human Geography sub-plan and take five supporting courses outside geography. The GIS sub-plan requires at least two principles courses, one advanced 5000-level GIS course, and two more GIS courses. Both degrees are 120 credits and taught in person.

The M.A. in Geography is 30 credits by either a thesis (Plan A) or three Plan B papers. The Ph.D. in Geography requires 28 credits of coursework plus thesis credits. The catalog lists a 3.5 minimum undergraduate GPA, and the department does not require the GRE. Admitted M.A. students receive two years of guaranteed funding and Ph.D. students five years, covering tuition, part of health insurance, a stipend, and summer funding. Applications are due December 15 for fall entry.

The 35-credit Master of Geographic Information Science is a coursework-only professional degree that ends in a professional portfolio and a public presentation. It can be taken full time (about two years) or part time. Applicants need a preferred 3.0 GPA and introductory statistics and programming, which can be completed in the first year. The GRE is not required. The program offers no guaranteed assistantships but reports that 85–90% of admitted students secure some assistantship or other funding. The university has no GIS certificate; GIS is offered as an undergraduate and a graduate minor.

Sources: B.A. program page; B.S. program page; graduate degrees; graduate funding; M.G.I.S. overview; M.G.I.S. funding.


University of Minnesota Duluth

UMN Duluth’s Department of Environment, Sustainability and Geography offers a B.S. in Geographic Information Science with a 51–54 credit major covering a GIS core, GIS programming, electives, and professional preparation. An internship is required. The B.A. in Environment, Sustainability and Geography has General and Urban and Regional Studies sub-plans, each with a GIS elective group, and a required 4-credit internship. Both degrees are 120 credits and taught in person.

The 19-credit Geographic Information Science Certificate is an in-person undergraduate credential that requires a 2.00 University of Minnesota GPA. UMN Duluth has no graduate geography or GIS program.

Sources: GIS B.S.; Environment, Sustainability and Geography B.A.; GIS certificate; graduate programs.


Minnesota State University, Mankato

Minnesota State Mankato’s 2026–27 catalog lists a B.S. in Geospatial Science: 120 credits with a 48-credit major. It combines core geography courses and a colloquium with cultural, physical, regional, and techniques electives, and students choose a 1–4 credit capstone of field studies, a seminar, a senior paper, or an internship. The 19-credit undergraduate Geographic Information Science Certificate requires three core GIS courses plus electives such as web GIS and GIS programming.

The 18-credit Geographic Information Science Graduate Certificate requires Intermediate GIS, Introduction to Remote Sensing, and a Seminar in GIS, plus 7 elective credits. The catalog page lists no GPA or GRE requirement. The university says nearly 20% of its graduate students receive assistantships, which carry a stipend of at least $10,000 and a waiver of up to nine credits per semester. All three credentials are listed at the Mankato campus. The Geography B.A., B.S., and M.S. and the M.S. in Geographic Information Science are not in the 2026–27 catalog.

Sources: Geospatial Science B.S.; GIS certificate; graduate certificate; assistantships.


St. Cloud State University

St. Cloud State’s B.S. in Geospatial Science is a 46-credit major within a 120-credit degree, delivered in a hybrid format on the St. Cloud campus. The core includes cartography, GIS, remote sensing, an applied geography seminar, and an internship, with electives in topical geography, computing, and geospatial techniques. The 9-credit undergraduate GIS Certificate is three GIS courses in the same hybrid format.

The 9-credit Geographic Information Science Graduate Certificate covers thematic cartography, GIS techniques, and map design or a GIS topics course, and can be finished in two semesters. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree and one basic GIS class; no GPA or GRE requirement is stated. The program page says nearly all certificate students find jobs within a year. The Geography B.A. is not accepting applications and is suspended with intent to close.

Sources: Geospatial Science B.S.; GIS certificate; graduate certificate; Geography B.A. status.


Minnesota State University Moorhead

Minnesota State Moorhead’s B.S. in Environmental and Human Geography has a 55-credit major: 40 core credits across cultural, economic, regional, physical, and geospatial geography, a senior seminar and research capstone, and 15 elective credits. The 12-credit Certificate in Geographic Information Science covers spatial thinking, GPS field techniques, and GIS, and the 2026–27 bulletin includes an internship. Both are delivered face to face, where some online courses may be available or required. Moorhead has no graduate geography or GIS program, and it charges all domestic degree-seeking students the Minnesota resident rate.

Sources: Environmental and Human Geography B.S.; GIS certificate; 2026–27 bulletin.


Bemidji State University

Bemidji State’s B.S. in Geography is 120 credits with a GIScience emphasis (50-credit major) or an Earth Science emphasis (48-credit major). The GIScience emphasis adds computer science, cartography, remote sensing, advanced GIS, and a required 3-credit internship. The Earth Science emphasis ends in an independent study, internship, or thesis. Bemidji State lists both emphases among its online and hybrid degree-completion programs.

The 12-credit undergraduate Geographic Information Science Certificate is four courses chosen from a GIS list and is not open to students in the GIScience emphasis or GIS minor. The 12-credit graduate GIS certificate requires a 3.00 GPA. Bemidji State charges in-state tuition to all qualified applicants.

Sources: GIScience emphasis; Earth Science emphasis; undergraduate certificate; graduate certificate; online degrees.


Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota

Saint Mary’s former M.S. in GIS is now the 36-credit M.S. in Data Intelligence and GeoAnalytics, run by its Department of Resource Analysis. The university labels the degree “Online” with September, January, and May starts, and says it prepares students for GISP certification. Applicants need a 2.75 GPA, and up to 6 credits can transfer in.

The 15-credit Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Science is fully online and takes about one year. It requires a bachelor’s degree with a 2.75 GPA and no prior GIS experience, and transfer credits are not accepted. Its credits can be applied to the M.S. Saint Mary’s has no undergraduate GIS credential.

Sources: M.S. program page; certificate page; School of Business and Technology; Department of Resource Analysis.


University of St. Thomas

St. Thomas’s Department of Earth, Environment and Society offers a 44-credit B.A. in Geographic Information Systems. It requires Introduction to GIS, Advanced GIS, a data science course, an environmental capstone, and 4 credits of experiential learning such as an internship or research. The 12-credit undergraduate GIS Certificate is only for students who are not geography majors or minors. Geography itself is now offered only as a minor. The program pages do not state a delivery format or catalog year.

Sources: curricula; GIS major.


Gustavus Adolphus College

Gustavus offers a B.A. in Geography with a 41-credit major, including Fundamentals of GIS and a research capstone. Students can add an optional GIS emphasis. The catalog record does not state a catalog year.

Sources: program page; catalog.


Macalester College

Macalester’s B.A. in Geography is a nine-course major: a foundation course, Introduction to GIS and Statistical Research Methods, an area studies course, four intermediate courses, and a 400-level research seminar as the senior capstone. GIS beyond the required course is offered through a Geospatial Science minor.

Sources: majors and minors.


Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College

Fond du Lac, in Cloquet, offers a 16-credit Geographic Information Systems Certificate, delivered in person and by videoconference, and a 60-credit A.S. in Geographic Information Systems. The college describes the certificate as a fit for students majoring in another field. Its 18-credit Geography Foundations Certificate is not counted here because it is not GIS-named.

Sources: GIS certificate; GIS A.S..


Minnesota North College

Minnesota North’s GIS programs are at its Itasca campus in Grand Rapids. The 16-credit GIS Professional Certificate is fully online. The 60-credit A.S. in Geography/GIS has transfer agreements with Bemidji State, UMN Duluth, and Minnesota State Mankato; its remote sensing course is offered in person in spring and online in summer. The 64-credit A.A.S. in Natural Resources-Geospatial is a campus program within the college’s natural resources degree. The college’s other campuses have no GIS credential.

Sources: program page; certificate planner; A.S. planner; A.A.S. planner.


Northland Community and Technical College

Northland’s 13-credit UAS and Geospatial Applications Certificate is taught at its Aerospace Center in Thief River Falls. It pairs remote sensing and imagery mapping software with drone (uncrewed aircraft system) foundations and ground school. The college says the certificate is not eligible for financial aid.

Sources: program page.


Saint Paul College

Saint Paul College offers a 13-credit Geographic Information Science Certificate and a 60-credit A.A.S. in Geographic Information Science (30 GIS credits plus 30 general education credits). The 2026–27 catalog lists both “In Person and Online.” The certificate requires a completed associate or bachelor’s degree, or instructor approval for students working on an associate degree in another field. The GPS field techniques course is offered in summer only.

Sources: certificate; A.A.S.; program page.


South Central College

South Central’s 16-credit Geographic Information Systems Certificate starts in fall at the North Mankato campus. It requires three 4-credit GIS courses plus 4 elective credits, and the college describes it as extended learning in GIS applications for civil engineering.

Sources: 2026–27 catalog; program page.


Schools not included

  • Programs no longer offered: Minnesota State Mankato’s Geography B.A., B.S., and M.S. and M.S. in Geographic Information Science are not in the 2026–27 catalog. St. Cloud State’s Geography B.A. is closed to new students. Saint Mary’s M.S. in GIS was renamed.
  • Minor only: Winona State University (Geography and GIS minors; its Geoscience majors are geology and earth science degrees).
  • No geography or GIS credential: University of Minnesota Morris, Crookston, and Rochester; Southwest Minnesota State University; Metropolitan State University; St. Olaf, Carleton, Concordia College (Moorhead), Augsburg, Hamline, St. Catherine, Bethel, the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University, University of Northwestern–St. Paul, Concordia University St. Paul, Capella, and Walden.
  • GIS courses inside other programs: civil engineering or land surveying programs at Dakota County Technical College, Lake Superior College, Minnesota State Community and Technical College, St. Cloud Technical and Community College, and Minnesota North College; precision agriculture at Ridgewater and Riverland; forestry courses at Leech Lake Tribal College.
  • Other two-year colleges with no GIS credential: the remaining Minnesota State colleges, including North Hennepin, Central Lakes, and Rochester Community and Technical College, plus Red Lake Nation College and White Earth Tribal and Community College.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.

Undergraduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Minnesota Twin Cities
B.A. and B.S. in Geography
$8,372 per semester (resident, 13 or more credits)
$20,390 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$16,744 resident per year
$40,780 nonresident per year
Student Services Fee $532.50 and College of Liberal Arts fee $363 per semester
University of Minnesota Duluth
B.S. in GIS; B.A. in Environment, Sustainability and Geography
$6,994 per semester (resident and Midwest nonresident, 13 or more credits)
$9,977 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$13,988 resident per year
$19,954 nonresident per year
Student Services Fee $409.44 and college fee $396 per semester
University of Minnesota Duluth
GIS Certificate
$538 per credit (resident)
$767.50 per credit (nonresident)
19 credits, part-time$10,222 resident total
$14,582.50 nonresident total
Same as above
Minnesota State University, Mankato
B.S. in Geospatial Science
$4,799.20 per semester (Minnesota and reciprocity, 13 or more credits)
$9,572.00 per semester (other out-of-state)
Two semesters$9,598.40 resident per year
$19,144 nonresident per year
$630.71 per semester at 13 or more credits
Minnesota State University, Mankato
GIS Certificate
$375.25 per credit (resident)
$758.90 per credit (other out-of-state)
19 credits, part-time$7,129.75 resident total
$14,419.10 nonresident total
$48.39 per credit
St. Cloud State University
B.S. in Geospatial Science
$4,980.18 per semester (resident and reciprocity, 12–18 credits)
$10,565.81 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$9,960.36 resident per year
$21,131.62 nonresident per year
$82.80 health fee per semester plus per-credit fees ($64.04 per credit for the first 9 credits)
St. Cloud State University
GIS Certificate
$385.67 per credit (resident)
$829.47 per credit (nonresident)
9 credits, part-time$3,471.03 resident total
$7,465.23 nonresident total
$82.80 per semester plus $64.04 per credit
Minnesota State University Moorhead
B.S. in Environmental and Human Geography
$4,971.44 per semester, 12–18 credits (same rate for domestic nonresidents)Two semesters$9,942.88 per year$868.08 per semester at 15 credits
Minnesota State University Moorhead
GIS Certificate
$337.69 per credit12 credits, part-time$4,052.28 total$68.64 per credit
Bemidji State University
B.S. in Geography
$5,076.67 per semester, 12–18 credits (same rate for all qualified applicants)Two semesters$10,153.34 per year$620.48 per semester at 12 credits
Bemidji State University
GIS Certificate
$353.97 per credit12 credits, part-time$4,247.64 totalPer-credit technology fee and flat semester fees
University of St. Thomas
B.A. in GIS
$28,428 per term, 12–18 creditsTwo terms$56,856 per yearStudent activity $133 and technology $288 per term
Gustavus Adolphus College
B.A. in Geography
$59,624 per yearOne year$59,624 per yearWellness $150, technology $200, and student government $228
Macalester College
B.A. in Geography
$74,394 per year (tuition and required course materials)One year$74,394 per yearActivity fee $330

Rates are 2026–27. Moorhead and Bemidji State figures apply to residents and domestic nonresidents alike.

Community and technical college tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
GIS Certificate; GIS A.S.
$196.37 per credit (online courses $216.37; no separate nonresident rate published)Certificate 16 credits; A.S. 60 creditsCertificate: $3,141.92 total
A.S.: $11,782.20 total
$20.61 per credit
Minnesota North College
GIS Professional Certificate (online)
$227.17 per credit online, resident or nonresident16 credits$3,634.72 total$21.61 per credit
Minnesota North College
Geography/GIS A.S.; Natural Resources-Geospatial A.A.S.
$200.00 per credit on campus, resident or nonresidentA.S. 60 credits; A.A.S. 64 creditsA.S.: $12,000 total
A.A.S.: $12,800 total
$21.61 per credit; natural resources courses carry a $210.00 per-credit rate
Northland Community and Technical College
UAS and Geospatial Applications Certificate
$208.80 per credit, all states13 credits$2,714.40 total$23.38 per credit. A $250.21 rate applies to some aviation courses; we could not confirm whether it applies here.
Saint Paul College
GIS Certificate; GIS A.A.S.
$202.55–$306.80 per credit on campus, by course
$226.17 per credit online
Certificate 13 credits; A.A.S. 60 creditsCertificate: $2,633.15–$3,988.40 total
A.A.S.: $12,153–$18,408 total
$28.65 per credit
South Central College
GIS Certificate
$205.75 per credit (same rate for nonresidents)16 credits$3,292 total$24.61 per credit

Rates are 2026–27.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Minnesota Twin Cities
M.A. and Ph.D. in Geography
$10,962 per semester (resident, 6–14 credits)
$17,364 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$21,924 resident per year
$34,728 nonresident per year
Student Services Fee $532.50 and College of Liberal Arts fee $363 per semester. Guaranteed funding covers tuition.
University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Master of Geographic Information Science
$11,406 per semester (resident, 6–14 credits; $1,901 per credit)
$18,102 per semester (nonresident; $3,017 per credit)
Four full-time semesters$45,624 resident total
$72,408 nonresident total
Same as above
Minnesota State University, Mankato
GIS Graduate Certificate
$570 per credit (resident)
$826 per credit (nonresident)
18 credits$10,260 resident total
$14,868 nonresident total
$48.39 per credit
St. Cloud State University
GIS Graduate Certificate
$577.75 per credit, resident or nonresident9 credits$5,199.75 total$82.80 per semester plus $64.04 per credit
Bemidji State University
GIS Graduate Certificate
$570.44 per credit, one rate12 credits$6,845.28 totalPer-credit technology fee and flat semester fees
Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota (online)
Graduate Certificate in GIS
$780 per credit15 credits$11,700 total$100 technology fee per semester
Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota (online)
M.S. in Data Intelligence and GeoAnalytics
$780 per credit36 credits$28,080 total$100 technology fee per semester

Rates are 2026–27.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • The University of Minnesota and the Minnesota State universities charge a flat rate per semester for full-time students, so per-credit estimates for certificates apply mainly to part-time students.
  • Minnesota has tuition reciprocity with Wisconsin, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Manitoba. Students from those places may pay rates close to the resident rate.
  • UMN Duluth charges Midwest nonresidents the resident rate. Mankato offers a middle rate to students from Nebraska, Missouri, Kansas, Indiana, and Ohio, and St. Cloud State offers an unpublished reduced rate to admitted nonresidents from eligible states.
  • The University of Minnesota’s M.G.I.S. has its own tuition rate, higher than the general graduate rate that applies to the M.A. and Ph.D.
  • Minnesota State two-year colleges charge a separate, often higher, per-credit rate for online courses.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Minnesota

Broad geography or technical GIS

Traditional geography degrees are offered at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities, Bemidji State, Moorhead, Gustavus, and Macalester. GIS-focused bachelor’s degrees include UMN Duluth’s B.S. in GIS, the Geospatial Science degrees at Minnesota State Mankato and St. Cloud State, and St. Thomas’s B.A. in GIS. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.

Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree

GIS certificates range from 9 credits at St. Cloud State to 19 credits at Mankato and UMN Duluth, and two-year colleges offer 13- to 16-credit certificates at lower per-credit rates. The University of Minnesota Twin Cities is the only school with geography master’s and doctoral degrees, and its M.G.I.S. is the state’s only GIS-named master’s. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.

Online or campus

The verified fully online options are certificates: Minnesota North’s GIS Professional Certificate and Saint Mary’s graduate GIS certificate. Bemidji State’s Geography B.S. is marketed as an online and hybrid degree-completion program, so confirm course delivery with the department before enrolling. See online geography programs for options in other states.

Funding

  • University of Minnesota Twin Cities: guaranteed funding for two years (M.A.) or five years (Ph.D.). The M.G.I.S. has no guaranteed funding, but the program reports that most admitted students find some assistantship or other support.
  • Minnesota State Mankato: full assistantships include a stipend of at least $10,000 and a tuition waiver of up to nine credits per semester.
  • Certificates: none of the graduate certificates advertises its own funding. Northland’s UAS and Geospatial Applications Certificate is not eligible for financial aid.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages unless noted above. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.