State guide · Reviewed October 14, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Wisconsin Geography Degree Programs

Compare 13 Wisconsin schools with geography and GIS programs, from GIS certificates to a UW–Madison Ph.D., with 2026–27 tuition and online options.

Wisconsin has 13 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials. Twelve are Universities of Wisconsin campuses, and one is a private college, Carthage College. Nine offer a geography or GIS bachelor’s degree, and four offer only an undergraduate GIS certificate. The only Ph.D. now admitting students is at UW–Madison, since UW–Milwaukee suspended Ph.D. admission in fall 2026. No Wisconsin school offers a fully online geography or GIS degree; the one verified fully online credential is a graduate GIS certificate at UW–Stevens Point. None of the state’s 16 technical colleges currently offers a GIS associate degree or diploma.

Quick picks for Wisconsin

  • Lowest resident bachelor’s tuition: UW–Parkside, $7,473.36 per year for its B.A. in Geography.
  • Fully online option: UW–Stevens Point GIS Professional Graduate Certificate, 12 credits at $620 per credit ($7,440 total) for residents and nonresidents.
  • Career-focused GIS master’s: UW–Madison accelerated M.S. in Cartography and GIS, 30–32 credits at $900 per credit, in as little as 3 semesters.
  • GIS-focused bachelor’s degrees: UW–Madison (Cartography and GIS), UW–Eau Claire (Geospatial Analysis and Technology), UW–La Crosse (GIScience concentration), and Carthage College (B.A. in GIS).
  • Ph.D. program: UW–Madison (Geography). UW–Milwaukee suspended Ph.D. admission effective fall 2026.

Rates are resident tuition before fees. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.


Wisconsin Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
UW–MadisonBachelor of Arts (B.A.) and Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geography
B.A. and B.S. in Cartography and Geographic Information Systems
Geospatial Data Science Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Madison)120 total (Geography major: 30)
Certificate: 17 minimum
Separate Cartography and GIS major; capstone colloquium or senior thesis
UW–MilwaukeeB.A. in Geography
B.S. in Geography
Campus (Milwaukee)120 (major: 30)GIS focus option; experiential course required
UW–Eau ClaireB.A./B.S. in Geography (liberal arts major or comprehensive emphases)
B.A./B.S. in Geospatial Analysis and Technology
Geospatial Certificate; GIS, Remote Sensing, and Mapping certificates; Cartography and Geovisualization Certificate
Campus (Eau Claire)Geospatial major: 120 (major 60)
Certificates: 12 or 18
Internship required in the geospatial major
UW–La CrosseB.S. in Geography (GIScience concentration, Environmental Science concentration, or Humans and the Environment emphasis)
B.S. in Environmental Science (Environmental Geospatial Techniques track)
GIScience Certificate (UWL students only)
Campus (La Crosse)120 (GIScience major: 42)
Certificate: 12
GIS I–III and Remote Sensing I–II in the GIScience concentration
UW–Stevens PointB.S. in Geospatial Sciences
GIS Professional Certificate (undergraduate)
Campus (Stevens Point)Major: about 44–45, plus a minor
Certificate: 12
Specializations include urban planning and geodesign
UW–River FallsGeography major
Geography major with GIS emphasis
GIS Certificate
Campus (River Falls)Major: 36
Certificate: 15
GIS emphasis with programming, remote sensing, and surveying electives
UW–ParksideB.A. in Geography (general, Planning, or Applied Environmental Geography)
GIS Certificate
Campus (Kenosha)120 (major: 40)
Certificate: 12
Planning concentration; internship program
UW–WhitewaterB.A./B.S. in Geography (Environment and Society or Geology emphasis)
B.S. in Education (B.S.E.) in Geography
GIS Certificate
Campus (Whitewater)120 (major: 33–34)
Certificate: 16
Approved minor required; 1-credit capstone
UW–OshkoshGIS Certificate (undergraduate)Campus (Oshkosh)15No geography major; certificate open to any major
UW–Green BayGeographic Information Systems CertificateNot stated15Web GIS course required
UW–PlattevilleGeographic Information Systems CertificateOn campus (Platteville)14Python for GIS required; remote sensing or drone option
UW–SuperiorGeographic Information Systems CertificateOn campus (Superior)9–12Taught with ArcGIS, QGIS, and R
Carthage CollegeB.A. in Geographic Information Science
B.A. in Geoscience
Campus (Kenosha)GIS major: 48 (our sum of 40 core + 8 elective)
Geoscience major: 40
Accelerated route into Michigan Tech’s Master of GIS; senior thesis

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
UW–MadisonMaster of Science (M.S.) in Geography
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Geography
M.S. in Cartography and GIS (thesis or accelerated non-thesis option)
Face to face (accelerated M.S. practicum is online)M.S. Geography: 30
Ph.D.: 51 minimum
Cartography and GIS M.S.: 30 (accelerated: 30–32)
Accelerated M.S. can be finished in as little as 3 semesters
UW–MilwaukeeMaster of Arts (M.A.) in Geography
M.S. in Geography (GIS Professional Track available)
Graduate Certificate in GIS
Ph.D. in Geography (admission suspended fall 2026)
Campus (Milwaukee)M.A./M.S.: 30
Certificate: 18
Ph.D.: 54
GIS certificate run jointly with Architecture and Urban Planning
UW–Stevens PointGIS Professional Graduate Certificate100% online, asynchronous12Same per-credit rate for residents and nonresidents

Technical Colleges

We checked all 16 Wisconsin Technical College System colleges. None lists a GIS associate degree, technical diploma, or GIS technical certificate for 2026–27, and Nicolet College’s former GIS degree is no longer on its program list. GIS is taught as one or two courses inside civil engineering technology programs at Madison College, Mid-State, and Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, and inside precision agriculture programs at Fox Valley. Gateway Technical College offers a short Drone GIS Certificate through its workforce training division (see schools not included). No technical college has a geography-specific transfer pathway; Madison College’s Associate of Science transfer program lists geography as one of its disciplines.

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs unless a school summary notes another year. Credits are semester credits. Minors are not listed.

Related Urban Planning Programs

These planning degrees require GIS coursework but are not geography or GIS degrees.

  • UW–Madison M.S. in Urban and Regional Planning: 46 credits, with a Geospatial Methods requirement met by one GIS or geodesign course.
  • UW–Milwaukee Master of Urban Planning, GIS concentration: 48 credits, including 9 required credits in urban GIS for planning and 6 elective credits. GIS is optional in the general Master of Urban Planning.

See our urban planning guide.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Wisconsin

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The program below has an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs with only some online coursework, or online programs that are closing.

Verified fully online options

  • UW–Stevens Point: the 12-credit GIS Professional Graduate Certificate is described as “100% Online,” with asynchronous 16-week courses. It can be finished in two or four semesters.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • UW–Madison accelerated M.S. in Cartography and GIS: in person on the Madison campus, except for the final practicum course, which is online.
  • UW–Madison online GIS programs (closing): the online GIS Development option of the M.S. and the online GIS capstone certificates no longer admit students. The department says it does not plan to offer online programs in the future.
  • Gateway Technical College Drone GIS Certificate: Gateway says courses may be offered in person, by video conference, or online. It is a 2.3-credit workforce certificate and is not counted on this page.

No Wisconsin school offers a geography or GIS degree that it describes as fully online. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Wisconsin School Summaries

University of Wisconsin–Madison

UW–Madison offers two undergraduate majors. The B.A. or B.S. in Geography requires 30 major credits, with options in human geography, people-environment geography, and physical geography. The B.A. or B.S. in Cartography and Geographic Information Systems is a separate major built on cartography, remote sensing, GIS, and geocomputing courses, plus a quantitative methods course. Both end in a capstone colloquium or a senior thesis. The 17-credit Geospatial Data Science Certificate combines cartography and GIS with computer science and statistics and is earned alongside a degree.

Graduate options include a thesis-based M.S. in Geography (30 credits) and a Ph.D. in Geography (51 credits minimum), which requires a master’s degree for admission and a doctoral minor. The M.S. in Cartography and GIS has a thesis option and an accelerated non-thesis option. The accelerated option takes 30–32 credits over eight courses, can be finished in as little as 3 semesters, and costs $900 per credit. It ends in an online practicum that produces a portfolio project. Accelerated students are not considered for department teaching or research assistantships.

Sources: Geography B.A.; Cartography and GIS B.S.; Geospatial Data Science Certificate; Geography Ph.D.; accelerated M.S.; GIS professional programs.


University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee

UWM offers a B.A. and a B.S. in Geography, each with 30 major credits. Students can focus on GIS, urban geography, climate and environment, or globalization. Each major includes one experiential course, such as field work, a GIS and cartography internship, study abroad, or independent work.

The 30-credit M.A. in Geography has thesis and non-thesis routes. The 30-credit M.S. in Geography centers on physical geography and has a GIS Professional Track that ends in an internship. The 18-credit Graduate Certificate in GIS is offered jointly with Architecture and Urban Planning, is listed as on campus, and is open to non-degree students. The 54-credit Ph.D. in Geography remains in the catalog, but admission is suspended effective fall 2026.

Sources: Geography programs; M.S. in Geography; GIS Graduate Certificate; Geography Ph.D..


University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire

UW–Eau Claire offers a Geography major (B.A. or B.S., at least 36 credits, minor or certificate required) and comprehensive geography majors with Environmental Geography or Transnational Geographies emphases. The Geospatial Analysis and Technology comprehensive major (B.A. or B.S., 60 major credits) covers LiDAR, drones, and business geographics, and requires an internship and a field methods course.

The department also offers a 12-credit Geospatial Certificate aimed mainly at working professionals, three 18-credit specialized certificates in GIS, Remote Sensing, and Mapping (students may earn only one), and a 12-credit Cartography and Geovisualization Certificate. There are no graduate geography programs.

Sources: Geography and Anthropology catalog; Geospatial Analysis and Technology major; geospatial program page.


University of Wisconsin–La Crosse

UWL’s Geography and Environmental Science department offers the B.S. in Geography with a Geographic Information Science concentration (42 major credits), an Environmental Science concentration, or a Humans and the Environment emphasis. The GIScience concentration includes three GIS courses, two remote sensing courses, and web mapping and automation, with a senior capstone and an optional internship. The B.S. in Environmental Science also has an Environmental Geospatial Techniques track.

The 12-credit GIScience Certificate is open only to degree-seeking UWL students and requires a professional portfolio. UWL has no geography master’s degree, and the 2026–27 catalog lists only B.S. degrees.

Sources: Geography catalog; GIScience concentration; GIScience Certificate.


University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point

UWSP’s geography degree is the B.S. in Geospatial Sciences, with specializations in GIScience and cartography, cultural geography, and urban planning and geodesign. Its requirement blocks total about 44–45 credits in the Spring 2026 catalog, and a minor is also required. Undergraduates can add a 12-credit GIS Professional Certificate (two core GIS courses plus electives).

The GIS Professional Graduate Certificate is 12 credits (GIS I, Remote Sensing I, GIS Database Design and Modeling, and Advanced Geospatial Techniques). UWSP describes it as “100% Online,” with asynchronous 16-week courses, and charges $620 per credit for both residents and nonresidents. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree and a 3.0 GPA; applicants below 3.0 with GIS work experience are reviewed case by case.

Sources: Geospatial Sciences; GIS Professional Certificate; online graduate certificate.


University of Wisconsin–River Falls

UWRF offers a 36-credit Geography major and a 36-credit Geography major with GIS emphasis. The GIS emphasis requires three GIS courses in its core, a statistics course, and electives in programming, data science, surveying, and remote sensing. The 15-credit GIS Certificate uses the same three-course GIS core plus two electives. The catalog does not say whether the major is awarded as a B.A., a B.S., or both.

Sources: Geography major, GIS emphasis; GIS Certificate; program page.


University of Wisconsin–Parkside

Parkside’s B.A. in Geography requires 40 major credits: a 31-credit core plus a general option, a Planning concentration, or an Applied Environmental Geography concentration. The department runs an internship program and a GIS lab. The 12-credit GIS Certificate requires three GIS courses and one elective, with at least 9 credits taken at Parkside. Students cannot earn both the certificate and the GIS minor.

Sources: Geography major; GIS Certificate.


University of Wisconsin–Whitewater

UW–Whitewater offers the B.A. or B.S. in Geography with an Environment and Society emphasis (33 major credits plus a writing course) or a Geology emphasis (34 credits). Both require an approved minor and a 1-credit capstone, and the Environment and Society emphasis requires GIS I. A B.S.E. in Geography leads to teacher licensure. The 16-credit GIS Certificate covers GIS I and II, a techniques core, and application electives, with an internship option.

Sources: Geography, Environment and Society; GIS Certificate.


University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh

UW–Oshkosh has no geography major. Its geography program offers a minor and a 15-credit GIS Certificate: four GIS courses plus one elective in geography or computer science. The certificate is open to students outside geography. Details come from the 2025–27 undergraduate bulletin.

Sources: GIS Certificate; 2025–27 bulletin.


University of Wisconsin–Green Bay

UW–Green Bay’s 2026–27 catalog has no geography major. The 15-credit Geographic Information Systems Certificate requires four courses, including Web GIS, plus one elective in cartography or urban geography. The catalog does not state a delivery format.

Sources: GIS Certificate; 2026–27 programs.


University of Wisconsin–Platteville

UW–Platteville does not offer a geography or GIS degree. Its Environmental Sciences and Society department offers a 14-credit Geographic Information Systems Certificate: GIS, Advanced GIS, Python for GIS, and either Remote Sensing or a drone (UAS) course. Students need a C or better in each course. The program page lists it as on campus.

Sources: GIS Certificate; program page.


University of Wisconsin–Superior

UW–Superior has no geography major. Its Geographic Information Systems Certificate takes 9–12 credits: Fundamentals of GIS, Advanced Methods in GIS, and one more geography course. The program page lists it as on campus and names ArcGIS, QGIS, and R as the software taught. Natural Sciences courses, including geography, carry an added $13.33 per credit.

Sources: GIS Certificate (PDF); program page.


Carthage College

Carthage, a private college in Kenosha, offers a B.A. in Geographic Information Science with 40 core credits and two 4-credit electives, and a 40-credit B.A. in Geoscience that requires an introductory GIS course, field methods, and a senior thesis. The department lists a drone fleet, survey-grade GPS units, and two computer labs. GIS majors can apply to an accelerated route into Michigan Technological University’s Master of Geographic Information Science, double-counting up to 6 credits.

Program details come from the department’s current web pages; the catalog year is not stated.

Sources: GIS major; degree requirements; accelerated master’s with Michigan Tech.


Schools not included

  • UW–Stout offers a GIS minor only.
  • Marquette, Lawrence, Beloit, St. Norbert, Carroll, Concordia University Wisconsin, MSOE, Lakeland, Edgewood, and Viterbo offer GIS courses, geology, or environmental programs, but no geography or GIS credential.
  • Closed: Northland College closed in 2025, Cardinal Stritch University in 2023, and Holy Family College in 2020.
  • Technical colleges: Gateway Technical College’s Drone GIS Certificate is a 2.3-credit set of workshops run by its workforce training division, not a program in the state technical college program list. Nicolet College’s GIS degree is no longer offered.
  • No longer admitting: UW–Madison’s online GIS Development M.S. option and its online GIS capstone certificates. UW–Green Bay’s Geography and Environmental Policy and Planning majors are not in the 2026–27 catalog. A UW–Platteville graduate GIS certificate mentioned on its program page is not in the 2026–27 graduate catalog.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs. Universities of Wisconsin rates come from the system’s 2026–27 tuition schedule, which lists full-time tuition per semester for 12–18 credits.

Undergraduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
UW–Madison
Bachelor’s degrees
$5,358.36 per semester (resident)
$22,116.00 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$10,716.72 resident per year
$44,232.00 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $849.74 per semester ($1,699.48 per year)
UW–Milwaukee
Bachelor’s degrees
$4,697.64 per semester (resident)
$11,123.40 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$9,395.28 resident per year
$22,246.80 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $878.95 per semester ($1,757.90 per year)
UW–La Crosse
Bachelor’s degrees and certificate
$4,462.44 per semester (resident)
$9,521.16 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$8,924.88 resident per year
$19,042.32 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $818.95 and textbook rental $136.96 per semester
UW–Eau Claire
Bachelor’s degrees and certificates
$4,247.28 per semester (resident)
$9,380.59 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$8,494.56 resident per year
$18,761.18 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $886.28 and textbook rental $70 per semester
UW–Stevens Point
B.S. and certificate
$3,951.12 per semester (resident)
$8,551.44 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$7,902.24 resident per year
$17,102.88 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $894.96 and textbook rental $112.56 per semester
UW–River Falls
Geography major and certificate
$3,840.36 per semester (resident, general undergraduate rate)
$8,371.68 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$7,680.72 resident per year
$16,743.36 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $883.67 and textbook rental $93.50 per semester
UW–Platteville
GIS certificate
$3,815.76 per semester (resident)
$8,613.36 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$7,631.52 resident per year
$17,226.72 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $688 and textbook rental $109.50 per semester
UW–Whitewater
Bachelor’s degrees and certificate
$3,812.04 per semester (resident)
$8,862.36 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$7,624.08 resident per year
$17,724.72 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $680.06 and textbook rental $125.59 per semester
UW–Superior
GIS certificate
$3,792.24 per semester (resident)
$8,029.92 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$7,584.48 resident per year
$16,059.84 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $946.38 per semester; $13.33 per credit for Natural Sciences courses
UW–Oshkosh
GIS certificate
$3,781.06 per semester (resident)
$8,018.91 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$7,562.12 resident per year
$16,037.82 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $808.91 per semester
UW–Green Bay
GIS certificate
$3,778.92 per semester (resident)
$8,072.77 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$7,557.84 resident per year
$16,145.54 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $787.56 per semester
UW–Parkside
B.A. in Geography and certificate
$3,736.68 per semester (resident)
$8,641.32 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$7,473.36 resident per year
$17,282.64 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $688.88 per semester
Carthage College
Bachelor’s degrees
$21,625 per semester (12–18 credits, J-Term included), same for residents and nonresidentsTwo semesters$43,250 per yearNo general required fees listed; a $182 per semester course material fee is listed

Rates are 2026–27. Part-time UW students pay per credit; resident part-time rates run from $311.39 per credit (UW–Parkside) to $446.53 per credit (UW–Madison).

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
UW–Madison
M.S. and Ph.D. in Geography; thesis M.S. in Cartography and GIS
$5,363.76 per semester (resident)
$12,027.20 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters, full time$10,727.52 resident per year
$24,054.40 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $849.74 per semester
UW–Madison
Accelerated M.S. in Cartography and GIS
$900 per credit (year not stated)30–32 credits$27,000–$28,800 totalNot stated
UW–Milwaukee
M.A. and M.S. in Geography
$5,662.00 per semester (resident)
$12,511.84 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters, full time$11,324.00 resident per year
$25,023.68 nonresident per year
Segregated fees $878.95 per semester
UW–Milwaukee
Graduate Certificate in GIS (part time)
$707.75 per credit (resident)
$1,563.98 per credit (nonresident)
18 credits at the part-time rate (under 8 credits per semester)$12,739.50 resident total
$28,151.64 nonresident total
Per-credit segregated fees set by UWM
UW–Stevens Point
GIS Professional Graduate Certificate (online)
$620 per credit, same for residents and nonresidents12 credits$7,440 totalSegregated fees at a reduced rate for this online program (amount not stated)

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • UW campuses charge one flat rate for 12–18 credits per semester. A certificate taken alongside a degree adds no tuition if it fits inside that range.
  • Minnesota residents pay a reciprocity rate at UW campuses, for example $4,929.48 per semester at UW–River Falls, UW–Eau Claire, and UW–Superior, rather than the nonresident rate.
  • Segregated fees and textbook rental differ by campus, from $680.06 per semester at UW–Whitewater (plus textbook rental) to $946.38 at UW–Superior.
  • UW–Madison’s accelerated M.S. and UWSP’s online certificate charge program rates that are the same for residents and nonresidents.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Wisconsin

Broad geography or technical GIS

UW–Milwaukee, UW–Whitewater, UW–Parkside, and UW–River Falls offer broad geography majors with GIS courses. More technical options include UW–Madison’s Cartography and GIS major, UW–Eau Claire’s Geospatial Analysis and Technology major, UW–La Crosse’s GIScience concentration, UW–Stevens Point’s Geospatial Sciences degree, and Carthage’s B.A. in GIS. Read more about GIScience degrees.

Adding a GIS certificate to another major

Eleven UW campuses offer an undergraduate GIS or geospatial certificate of 9–18 credits. At UW–Oshkosh, UW–Green Bay, UW–Platteville, and UW–Superior, the certificate is the only geography or GIS credential, so it pairs with a major in another field such as environmental science, biology, or business. Compare bachelor’s programs nationally.

Master’s or Ph.D.

UW–Madison and UW–Milwaukee are the only Wisconsin schools with geography master’s degrees, and UW–Madison is the only one admitting Ph.D. students. Students who want a GIS career rather than research can compare UW–Madison’s accelerated M.S. with UWM’s GIS Professional Track. Students considering a Ph.D. should look at the thesis-based master’s options. See master’s programs.

Online or campus

Every Wisconsin geography and GIS degree is campus-based. UW–Madison’s online GIS programs are closing. Working professionals who need a fully online credential can look at UW–Stevens Point’s graduate certificate or at online programs based in other states.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Minnesota, Illinois, Michigan, and Iowa, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages unless a school summary notes another year. Tuition comes from the 2026–27 schedules below unless a row notes otherwise.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.