State guide · Reviewed October 3, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Mississippi Geography Degree Programs

Compare geography and GIS programs at 7 Mississippi schools, with verified online options, credit requirements, and 2026-27 tuition.

Mississippi has 7 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: 4 public universities and 3 community colleges. No Mississippi university currently lists a degree named “Geography.” Geography and GIS are offered as concentrations within geosciences at Mississippi State University, as geospatial degrees at Delta State University and Alcorn State University, and as a certificate at the University of Southern Mississippi. Delta State’s geospatial programs are fully online.


Mississippi Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
Mississippi State UniversityBachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geosciences, Geography concentration
B.S. in Geosciences, GIS concentration
Geospatial and Remote Sensing Certificate
Degrees: campus (Starkville)
Certificate: campus or online
B.S.: 124 (GIS concentration 56)
Certificate: 15
GIS concentration includes programming, web GIS, and geodatabase design
University of Southern MississippiB.S. in Environmental Geosciences (geography and geology)
Geographic Information Technology Certificate
B.S. in Oceanography and Ocean Mapping
Campus (Hattiesburg; ocean mapping at Gulf Park)B.S.: 120
Certificate: 15
Senior capstone; certificate open without degree admission
Delta State UniversityBachelor of Applied Science (B.A.S.) in Geospatial Analysis and Intelligence
Geospatial Analysis and Intelligence Certificate
Fully onlineB.A.S.: 120 (geospatial core 51)
Certificate: 21
Accredited by USGIF; six-hour capstone
Alcorn State UniversityB.S. in Applied Science, Geospatial Engineering Technology concentrationsCampus (Lorman)120Homeland security and natural resources options

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
Mississippi State UniversityMaster of Science (M.S.) in Geoscience, Geography concentration
M.S. in Geoscience, Geospatial Sciences concentration
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Geospatial and Remote Sensing Certificate (graduate)
Degrees: campus (Starkville)
Certificate: campus or online
M.S.: 30 thesis or 36 non-thesis
Ph.D.: 44 beyond the master’s
Certificate: 15
Teaching assistantships often include a tuition waiver
University of Southern MississippiM.S. in Earth and Environmental Science
M.S. in Hydrographic Science
Campus (Hattiesburg; hydrography on the Gulf Coast)30
36
Thesis or non-thesis; hydrography degree includes nautical cartography and GIS
Delta State UniversityMaster of Applied Science (M.A.S.) in Geospatial Information TechnologiesFully online3016-month program with a capstone
Alcorn State UniversityM.S. in Applied Science and Technology, Geospatial Engineering Technology concentrationOnline and face-to-face classes (Lorman)36Thesis or project option; GRE waived

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs, except Alcorn State, whose current catalogs cover 2024–26 (graduate) and 2025–28 (undergraduate). Minors and digital badges are not listed.

Community College Degrees and Certificates

CollegeCredentialUnitsFormat
Jones CollegeGeography Transfer Pathway and Geosciences Transfer Pathway, Associate of Arts (A.A.)60 eachNot stated (Ellisville)
Mississippi Delta Community CollegePrecision Agriculture Technology, Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) and Advanced Technical Certificate61 / 46Not stated (Moorhead)
Pearl River Community CollegeHydrography Technology, A.A.S. and Technical Certificate61–63 / 46Face to face (Hancock County campus)

No Mississippi community college lists a standalone GIS degree or certificate. The two technical programs above teach GIS and remote sensing within agriculture and ocean mapping: five geospatial courses in Mississippi Delta’s program and two in Pearl River’s, alongside its hydrography courses. Mississippi’s statewide articulation agreement includes transfer plans for geography at Southern Miss, geoscience at Mississippi State, and geospatial analysis at Delta State, with about 60 hours transferring toward each bachelor’s degree. The posted edition of that agreement is dated 2019–21.

Related Urban Planning Programs

Jackson State University offers a 49-hour M.A. and a Ph.D. in Urban and Regional Planning. GIS for Planning is an elective, so these are planning degrees, not GIS degrees. See our urban planning guide.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Mississippi

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that only offer some coursework online.

Verified fully online options

  • Delta State University B.A.S. in Geospatial Analysis and Intelligence: delivered in a fully online, asynchronous format.
  • Delta State University Geospatial Analysis and Intelligence Certificate: a fully online, 21-hour certificate that can be taken on its own.
  • Delta State University M.A.S. in Geospatial Information Technologies: the catalog calls it a fully online degree program.
  • Mississippi State University Geospatial and Remote Sensing Certificate: the graduate catalog says the 15-hour certificate is available to both Starkville and online learners, and the university’s online site describes it as an online certificate program that can be completed in one year.
  • Mississippi State University M.S. in Environmental Geosciences: a fully online, 30-hour geoscience degree. It requires one GIS course and offers more as electives, but it is not a geography or GIS degree.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • Southern Miss Environmental Geosciences B.S.: the university’s online site lists the program, but its program page and bulletin give Hattiesburg as the only location.
  • Mississippi State geography and GIS concentrations: the B.S. and M.S. concentrations are listed for the Starkville campus only.
  • Alcorn State M.S., Geospatial Engineering Technology: the university says the graduate program offers both online and face-to-face classes, but it does not state that the full degree can be completed online.

For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Mississippi School Summaries

Mississippi State University

Mississippi State’s Department of Geosciences offers geography as concentrations within a 124-hour B.S. in Geosciences. The Geography concentration requires Human Geography, Maps and Remote Sensing, Principles of GIS, and a writing course, plus four physical and four regional or human geography courses. The GIS concentration is a 56-hour sequence that includes Advanced GIS, Cartographic Sciences, Geodatabase Design, GIS Programming, Web GIS, and two remote sensing courses.

The M.S. in Geoscience has Geography and Geospatial Sciences concentrations. The thesis route is 30 hours with a defense, and the non-thesis route is 36 hours. Applicants need a 2.75 GPA and three letters. The department says teaching assistantships are often available, usually last two years, and include a tuition waiver. The Ph.D. in Earth and Atmospheric Sciences can be completed with research in geography and requires on-campus residency through candidacy. Ph.D. applicants need a 3.00 GPA and must identify a mentor before admission.

The 15-hour Geospatial and Remote Sensing Certificate, listed in the graduate catalog, requires Principles of GIS, Remote Sensing, and GIS Programming, plus two electives. A 3.00 GPA is required, and the online version can be completed in one year.

Sources: undergraduate catalog; graduate catalog; M.S. concentrations; online certificate; online Environmental Geosciences M.S..


University of Southern Mississippi

Southern Miss does not list geography degrees in its 2026–27 bulletins; the geography B.S. last appeared in the 2025–26 bulletin. Geography courses are part of the B.S. in Environmental Geosciences, a 120-hour degree that blends geography and geology. It requires Introduction to GIS, Quantitative Methods, Biogeography, and a senior capstone, with an individualized plan of study.

The 15-hour Geographic Information Technology Certificate draws on GIS, remote sensing, and quantitative courses and requires a B or better in each. Students can take it with or without degree admission.

At the graduate level, the 30-hour M.S. in Earth and Environmental Science has thesis and non-thesis options and requires Field Methods and a geospatial or statistical analysis course. Applicants need a 3.0 GPA over their last 60 hours and three letters. The program pages do not advertise funding. Southern Miss also offers ocean mapping degrees: a B.S. in Oceanography and Ocean Mapping, a 36-hour M.S. in Hydrographic Science, and a Ph.D. in Marine Science with a hydrography emphasis.

Sources: Environmental Geosciences B.S.; GIT certificate; Earth and Environmental Science M.S.; Hydrographic Science M.S..


Delta State University

Delta State’s geospatial programs are fully online. The 120-hour B.A.S. in Geospatial Analysis and Intelligence has a 51-hour geospatial core of GIS and remote sensing courses and ends in a six-hour capstone. It is accredited by the U.S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation (USGIF). The related 21-hour certificate can be taken on its own.

The 30-hour M.A.S. in Geospatial Information Technologies is described as a 16-month program with six capstone hours. Applicants need a 2.75 GPA in a related field, or three years of geospatial work experience and two letters. The catalog lists no GRE requirement. Delta State says graduate assistantships are available on a limited basis to full-time students. Its Master of Commercial Aviation also has a 15-hour GIS and remote sensing track.

Sources: B.A.S. program page; certificate; M.A.S. program page; catalogs.


Alcorn State University

Alcorn State offers a 36-hour M.S. in Applied Science and Technology with a Geospatial Engineering Technology concentration. Students choose a thesis or project option, with electives such as Advanced Computer Cartography and Microwaves Remote Sensing. Applicants need a 2.75 GPA, with 3.0 in the senior year, and two letters. The GRE is waived. The university says the program offers both online and face-to-face classes. A limited number of competitive assistantships are available.

At the undergraduate level, the B.S. in Applied Science has a Geospatial Engineering Technology concentration with a homeland security focus and a Natural Resources Management concentration, both built on GIS and remote sensing. Courses include Computer Cartography, GIS, Mobile GIS, Advanced Remote Sensing, and Spatial Statistics, and the degree ends in a senior design project.

Sources: M.S. program page; Department of Advanced Technologies.


Community Colleges

Jones College lists 60-hour Geography and Geosciences transfer pathways within its A.A. Neither requires a GIS course. Its newest catalog is 2025–26.

Mississippi Delta Community College offers Precision Agriculture Technology, with courses in Geospatial Data Collection, GIS, Remote Sensing, Agricultural GIS, and Spatial Information Systems. Pearl River Community College offers Hydrography Technology at its Hancock County campus, including Fundamentals of GIS, Remote Sensing, and marine field methods.

Sources: Jones geography pathway; Mississippi Delta precision agriculture; Pearl River hydrography; statewide articulation.


Schools not included

  • University of Mississippi: offers an 18-hour geography minor but no geography or GIS degree or certificate. An earlier GIS certificate is not in the 2026–27 catalog.
  • University of Southern Mississippi: geography B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees are not in the 2026–27 bulletins.
  • Community college programs not in current catalogs: GIS Technology at Hinds and Copiah-Lincoln, and land surveying at East Central. GIS courses remain as electives at Hinds.
  • Minor only: Mississippi University for Women and William Carey University.
  • No geography or GIS credential: Mississippi Valley State University, Millsaps College, Belhaven University, Mississippi Christian University (formerly Mississippi College), Tougaloo College, Rust College, and Blue Mountain Christian University.
  • Surveying programs: Civil Engineering Technology degrees at Northwest, Northeast, and Jones focus on land surveying, not GIS.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.

Undergraduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
Mississippi State University
B.S. in Geosciences
$5,422.50 per semester (resident, 12–16 hours)
$14,918.00 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$10,845 resident per year
$29,836 nonresident per year
$125 per semester; $25 per credit college fee for sophomores and above, up to $300
Mississippi State University (online)
Geospatial and Remote Sensing Certificate
$452.00 per credit, any residency15 hours$6,780 total$25 per credit
University of Southern Mississippi
B.S. in Environmental Geosciences
$5,342.00 per term (resident, 12–19 hours)
$6,342.00 per term (nonresident)
Two terms$10,684 resident per year
$12,684 nonresident per year
$55 per term
University of Southern Mississippi
Geographic Information Technology Certificate
$446.00 per hour (resident)
$530.00 per hour (nonresident)
15 hours, part-time$6,690 resident total
$7,950 nonresident total
$55 per term
Delta State University (online)
B.A.S. in Geospatial Analysis and Intelligence
$4,217.50 per semester, 12–19 hours (no out-of-state rate)Two semesters$8,435 per year$60 per semester, plus $5 per credit for online courses
Delta State University (online)
Geospatial Analysis and Intelligence Certificate
$351.00 per credit, part-time21 hours$7,371 total$5 per hour, plus $5 per credit for online courses
Alcorn State University
B.S. in Applied Science
$4,052.50 per semester at 12 hours (resident)
$4,552.50 per semester (out-of-state)
Two semesters$8,105 resident per year
$9,105 out-of-state per year
$100 per semester, plus $20 per hour
Jones College
Geography Transfer Pathway A.A.
$2,542 per term (resident, full-time)
$3,542 per term (out-of-state, at the fee cap)
Two terms$5,084 resident per year
$7,084 out-of-state per year
None listed; course materials are included
Mississippi Delta Community College
Precision Agriculture Technology
$1,800 per semester (resident, full-time)
$3,400 per semester (out-of-state)
Two semesters$3,600 resident per year
$6,800 out-of-state per year
$295 per semester, plus $10 per hour
Pearl River Community College
Hydrography Technology
$1,850 per semester (resident, 15 or more hours)
$3,100 per semester (out-of-state)
Two semesters$3,700 resident per year
$6,200 out-of-state per year
$125 registration and $700 program fee per semester; $30 per credit for course materials

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
Mississippi State University
M.S. in Geoscience; Ph.D.
$5,422.50 per semester (resident, 9 or more hours)
$14,918.00 per semester (nonresident)
Two semesters$10,845 resident per year
$29,836 nonresident per year
$125 per semester. Assistantships carry a tuition exemption.
Mississippi State University (online)
Graduate certificate; M.S. in Environmental Geosciences
$602.50 per credit, any residencyCertificate 15 hours; M.S. 30 hoursCertificate: $9,037.50 total
M.S.: $18,075 total
$25 per credit; course distance fees may apply
University of Southern Mississippi
M.S. in Earth and Environmental Science
$5,342.00 per term (resident, 9–13 hours)
$6,342.00 per term (nonresident)
Two terms$10,684 resident per year
$12,684 nonresident per year
$55 per term
Delta State University (online)
M.A.S. in Geospatial Information Technologies
$469.00 per credit, part-time (no out-of-state rate)30 hours$14,070 total$6.67 per hour, plus $5 per credit for online courses
Alcorn State University
M.S., Geospatial Engineering Technology
$491.14 per hour (resident)36 hours$17,681.04 resident total$100 per semester, plus $20 per hour. Out-of-state students add $500 per semester.

Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • Mississippi State charges online students the resident rate regardless of state, plus a per-credit support fee.
  • Delta State has no out-of-state rate. Full-time Delta State graduate students pay the $4,217.50 semester rate instead of the per-credit rate shown.
  • Southern Miss and Alcorn State add a flat nonresident amount per term ($1,000 and $500) instead of a higher per-credit rate.
  • Jones College caps its out-of-state fee at $1,000 per term and includes course materials in tuition.
  • Community college technical programs add program fees that vary by program.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Mississippi

Broad geography or technical GIS

Mississippi State’s Geography concentration is the closest option to a traditional geography degree. Its GIS concentration, Delta State’s B.A.S., and Alcorn State’s geospatial concentrations are more technical. Southern Miss combines geography with geology in one environmental degree. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.

Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree

Certificates run 15 hours at Mississippi State and Southern Miss and 21 hours at Delta State. For graduate study, Mississippi State offers geography and geospatial M.S. concentrations and a related Ph.D., and Delta State and Alcorn State offer applied geospatial master’s degrees. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.

Online or campus

Delta State is the fully online choice at the bachelor’s, certificate, and master’s levels. Mississippi State offers its geospatial certificate online, but its geography and GIS degrees are on campus in Starkville.

Research or professional master’s

Mississippi State’s Geography concentration requires a thesis. Southern Miss and Alcorn State offer thesis and non-thesis or project routes. Delta State’s M.A.S. is a professional degree that ends in a capstone. Students considering a Ph.D. should check research preparation and admissions requirements. A thesis can help demonstrate research experience.

Funding

  • Mississippi State: teaching assistantships are often available to on-campus M.S. students and include a tuition waiver. Applicants should apply by January 15.
  • Delta State and Alcorn State: a limited number of assistantships are available.
  • Southern Miss: no funding is advertised for the M.S. in Earth and Environmental Science.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Alabama, Louisiana, Tennessee, and Arkansas, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 3, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages unless noted above. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.