State guide · Reviewed October 14, 2026 by the GeographyDegrees.org Editorial Team

Nebraska Geography Degree Programs

Compare 5 Nebraska schools with geography and GIS programs, from online GIS certificates to master's degrees, with 2026–27 tuition from $105 per credit.

Nebraska has 5 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: 2 University of Nebraska campuses, 1 state college, 1 private university, and 1 community college. The University of Nebraska–Lincoln and the University of Nebraska Omaha offer the state’s geography master’s degrees and graduate GIS certificates, and Lincoln’s doctoral program in Global Integrative Studies includes geography research. Southeast Community College is the only school with a verified fully online option: GIS Technician certificate, diploma, and associate degree programs.


Nebraska Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance

Undergraduate Degrees

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of Nebraska–LincolnBachelor of Arts (B.A.) and Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in GeographyCampus (Lincoln)120 (major 36–41)Two techniques courses, one at the 400 level, plus a geography capstone
University of Nebraska OmahaB.A. in Geography
B.S. in Geography
Optional concentrations: GIScience and Technology, Travel and Tourism, and (B.S. only) Physical Geography
Campus (Omaha)120 (B.A. major 42–45; B.S. major 39–40, plus a 15-hour cognate)Required geographical field studies course
Wayne State CollegeB.A. or B.S. in Social Sciences, Geography concentrationCampus (Wayne)120 (program 42–48)Same tuition rate for in-state and out-of-state students
Concordia University, NebraskaB.A. in GeographyCampus (Seward)120 (major 31)Drone technology and GPS course; some upper-level courses can be taken at UNL

Graduate Degrees and Certificates

SchoolCredentialsFormatCreditsDistinguishing feature
University of Nebraska–LincolnMaster of Arts (M.A.) in Geography
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Global Integrative Studies (geography research)
Geographic Information Science Certificate (graduate)
Campus (Lincoln); certificate format not statedM.A.: 30
Ph.D.: not stated
Certificate: 15, plus a comprehensive exam
Teaching assistantships pay $15,000 with tuition remission
University of Nebraska OmahaMaster of Science (M.S.) in Geography
Geographic Information Science Certificate (graduate)
Geographic Education Certificate (graduate)
Campus (Omaha); certificate format not statedM.S.: 30
GIScience certificate: 18
Geographic Education: 18
Fast Track lets undergraduates count up to 9 graduate hours toward both degrees

Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs and program pages. Minors are not listed.

Community College Degrees and Certificates

CollegeCredentialUnitsFormat
Southeast Community CollegeGeographic Information Systems Technician, Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.), Diploma, and Certificate63 / 31 / 18Fully online
Southeast Community CollegeLand Surveying/GIS/Civil Engineering Technology, A.A.S.60Campus (Milford)

No other Nebraska community or tribal college lists a GIS-named credential. Central Community College’s 12-credit Precision Mapping Certificate includes one agricultural GIS course but is a precision agriculture award, and community college students elsewhere in the state can take general transfer associate degrees that are not geography credentials.


Online Geography and GIS Programs in Nebraska

An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that do not state they can be completed fully online.

Verified fully online options

  • Southeast Community College Geographic Information Systems Technician A.A.S., Diploma, and Certificate: the college says the program is offered entirely online and lists Online as its only location.

Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program

  • UNL Geographic Information Science Certificate: UNL publishes online tuition rates for graduate courses, but the certificate’s catalog page does not say whether it can be completed online.
  • UNO Geographic Information Science Certificate and Geographic Education Certificate: UNO publishes online rates for arts and sciences courses, but neither certificate page states an online delivery format.
  • Geography bachelor’s and master’s degrees at UNL, UNO, Wayne State, and Concordia: all are listed as campus programs. Wayne State lists its delivery format as on campus in Wayne.

For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.


Nebraska School Summaries

University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Geography at UNL is part of the School of Global Integrative Studies, alongside anthropology and global studies. The 120-hour B.A. or B.S. in Geography has a 21-hour core: Introductory Human Geography, Elements of Physical Geography, Global Environmental Issues, Introduction to GIS, Geography of World Regions, a career development course, and a Geography Capstone. Students add two techniques courses, at least one at the 400 level, from options such as Web GIS, Remote Sensing, Geovisualization, GPS, and Programming, Scripting, and Automation for GIS, plus three more geography courses. The B.S. adds a 60-hour science requirement.

The M.A. in Geography has a thesis option with 30 hours of coursework and original research, and a non-thesis option with 30 hours and a minor area in another field. Specialties include GIS and geovisualization, human-environment relations, cultural and historical geography, and urban and political geography. The GRE is optional, and applicants submit a personal statement and three letters. The university says students typically finish in two years. Teaching assistantships pay $15,000 for the academic year and include tuition remission.

UNL’s doctoral program in geography is now the Ph.D. in Global Integrative Studies, which lists historical geography and the Great Plains among its strengths. It typically takes three to four years, and assistantships of $15,000 with tuition remission are available for up to three years. The 15-hour graduate Geographic Information Science Certificate requires at least two of Web GIS, Advanced Techniques in GIS, Geovisualization, and GIS programming, plus electives and a comprehensive exam. Applications are reviewed on a rolling basis. UNL’s School of Natural Resources also offers GIS and remote sensing specializations in its Natural Resource Sciences M.S. and Ph.D.

Sources: B.A./B.S. catalog; M.A. catalog; Ph.D. catalog; GIScience certificate; SGIS graduate programs.


University of Nebraska Omaha

UNO’s Department of Geography/Geology offers a B.A. in Geography (42–45 major hours, 25 of them upper level) and a B.S. in Geography (39–40 major hours plus a 15-hour cognate that includes at least 6 hours of computer science). Both require World Regional, Human, Physical, and Human-Environment Geography, Cartography and Data Visualization, Elementary Statistics, and Geographical Field Studies. The optional Geographic Information Science and Technology concentration adds 9 hours of computer science and courses such as Spatial Analysis, Computer Mapping, and GIS I and II. Other concentrations cover physical geography and travel and tourism.

The 30-hour M.S. in Geography offers thesis and non-thesis routes. Non-thesis students can take a comprehensive exam or present original research at a professional conference. Applicants need a 3.0 GPA in geography and two letters. Fast Track lets qualified UNO undergraduates count up to 9 graduate hours toward both degrees. The department offers graduate assistantships that require 20 hours of work a week, with applications due April 1 for fall and November 1 for spring.

The 18-hour graduate Geographic Information Science Certificate requires Cartography and Data Visualization, GIS I, and GIS II, plus 6 elective hours from options including Environmental Remote Sensing and an internship. The 18-hour Geographic Education Certificate is designed for high school teachers who need graduate geography credit to teach dual enrollment courses. UNO also offers a 15-hour Geospatial Science concentration in its B.S. in Emergency Management and a Geography concentration in the Bachelor of Multidisciplinary Studies.

Sources: B.A. catalog; B.S. catalog; M.S. catalog; GIScience certificate; Geographic Education certificate.


Wayne State College

Wayne State’s Department of History, Politics, and Geography offers a B.A. or B.S. in Social Sciences with a Geography concentration. The 42- or 48-hour program combines a 12-hour social sciences core (World Regional Geography, World Economic Geography, and history and political science electives) with 30–36 hours of geography, including Physical Geography, a GIS or mapping course, and 12–18 hours of earth science or geography electives. The program is delivered on campus in Wayne. A Geography Education degree is also offered for future teachers.

Sources: Geography degree page.


Concordia University, Nebraska

Concordia, a private Lutheran university in Seward, offers a 31-hour B.A. in Geography within a 120-hour degree. The major requires Introduction to Geography, World Regional Geography, Physical Geography, Geography of North America, Introduction to GIS, Advanced GIS, and Drone Technology and the Global Positioning System, plus 9 upper-level hours. The catalog notes that upper-level courses may include courses taken at UNL through a consortium arrangement. Concordia also offers a Geospatial Technology minor.

Sources: program page; 2026–27 undergraduate catalog.


Southeast Community College

Southeast Community College’s Geographic Information Systems Technician program is offered entirely online at three levels: an 18-credit certificate, a 31-credit diploma, and a 63-credit A.A.S. Courses include Introduction to Geospatial Technology, Spatial Analysis and Modeling, and Techniques in Cartography, with options such as Geodatabase Design, Remote Sensing, Geospatial Web Applications, and Spatial Programming. The certificate and diploma take two terms and the A.A.S. takes four.

At the Milford campus, the 60-credit Land Surveying/GIS/Civil Engineering Technology A.A.S. combines land surveying with GIS and drone-based aerial surveying. The college says graduates qualify for nine months of work experience credit toward registration as a land surveyor.

Sources: GIS Technician program; Land Surveying/GIS/Civil Engineering Technology; 2026–27 catalog (A.A.S.).


Schools not included

  • University of Nebraska at Kearney: the 2026–27 catalog lists only minors in Geography, GIScience, and Environmental Science. No geography major is listed.
  • Chadron State College: no geography or GIS credential. Its 12-credit Unmanned Aircraft Systems for Remote Sensing Certificate covers drone piloting and agricultural drone applications.
  • Peru State College: offers geography and GIS courses but no geography or GIS credential.
  • Precision agriculture programs: Central Community College (Precision Mapping Certificate and related precision agriculture awards) and Northeast Community College (Precision Agriculture A.A.S. and ag drone pilot certificate) are agriculture programs, not GIS credentials.
  • Metropolitan Community College: Civil Engineering Technology programs, including a surveying certificate, but no GIS credential.
  • No geography or GIS credential found: Mid-Plains Community College, Western Nebraska Community College, Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture, Little Priest Tribal College, Nebraska Indian Community College, Bellevue University, Creighton University (one GIS course), Nebraska Wesleyan University, Doane University, Hastings College, Midland University, Union Adventist University, York University, and College of Saint Mary.
  • UNL Master of Community and Regional Planning: a 48-hour planning degree. UNL offers planning GIS courses, but the catalog does not show GIS as a requirement, so it is not listed as a GIS program. See our urban planning guide.

Tuition Comparison

Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs.

Undergraduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
B.A. or B.S. in Geography
$303 per credit (resident)
$972 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$9,090 resident per year
$29,160 nonresident per year
$743.55 per semester program and facilities fee; $20 per semester registration; $15 per credit technology fee (up to $225 per semester); $8.25 per credit library fee
University of Nebraska Omaha
B.A. or B.S. in Geography
$275 per credit (resident)
$865 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits per year$8,250 resident per year
$25,950 nonresident per year
$558.02 per semester program and facilities fee; $130 per semester access and success fee; $15 per credit technology fee; $8.25 per credit library fee; $3 per credit research fee
Wayne State College
B.A. or B.S. in Social Sciences, Geography
$209.50 per credit, in-state and out-of-state30 credits per year$6,285 per year$2,351 per year, as estimated by the college
Concordia University, Nebraska
B.A. in Geography
$43,000 per yearFull-time academic year$43,000 per year$800 student services fee and $160 student accident insurance per year
Southeast Community College (online)
GIS Technician Certificate
$105 per credit (in-state)
$126 per credit (out-of-state)
18 credits$1,890 in-state total
$2,268 out-of-state total
$22 per credit
Southeast Community College (online)
GIS Technician Diploma
$105 per credit (in-state)
$126 per credit (out-of-state)
31 credits$3,255 in-state total
$3,906 out-of-state total
$22 per credit
Southeast Community College (online)
GIS Technician A.A.S.
$105 per credit (in-state)
$126 per credit (out-of-state)
63 credits$6,615 in-state total
$7,938 out-of-state total
$22 per credit
Southeast Community College (Milford)
Land Surveying/GIS/Civil Engineering Technology A.A.S.
$105 per credit (in-state)
$126 per credit (out-of-state)
60 credits$6,300 in-state total
$7,560 out-of-state total
$22 per credit; the college estimates $575 in supplies and fees plus tools and books

Rates are 2026–27.

Graduate tuition

School and credentialPublished rateCalculation basisEstimated tuitionRequired fees (not included)
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
M.A. in Geography
$399 per credit (resident)
$1,167 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits$11,970 resident total
$35,010 nonresident total
$743.55 per semester program and facilities fee; $20 per semester registration; $15 per credit technology fee (up to $225 per semester); $8.25 per credit library fee. Teaching assistantships include tuition remission.
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Geographic Information Science Certificate
$399 per credit (resident)
$1,167 per credit (nonresident, in person)
15 credits$5,985 resident total
$17,505 nonresident total
Same as above; online courses carry a $35 per credit fee
University of Nebraska Omaha
M.S. in Geography
$399 per credit (resident)
$961 per credit (nonresident)
30 credits$11,970 resident total
$28,830 nonresident total
$558.02 per semester program and facilities fee; $130 per semester access and success fee; $15 per credit technology fee; $8.25 per credit library fee; $3 per credit research fee
University of Nebraska Omaha
Geographic Information Science Certificate
$399 per credit (resident)
$961 per credit (nonresident)
18 credits$7,182 resident total
$17,298 nonresident total
Same as above

Rates are 2026–27.

Why some rates do not compare directly

  • Wayne State charges the same per-credit rate to Nebraska and out-of-state students.
  • UNO also publishes an Omaha Urban Rate ($440 per undergraduate credit and $638 per graduate credit in 2026–27) for eligible students who live in, or graduated from high school in, designated states.
  • UNL and UNO charge different rates for online courses. UNL’s nonresident graduate online rate is $792 per credit, and both campuses add a $35 per credit online course fee.
  • Concordia publishes an annual tuition price rather than a per-credit rate.

How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Nebraska

Broad geography or technical GIS

UNL, UNO, Wayne State, and Concordia all offer broad geography bachelor’s degrees with GIS coursework. UNO’s GIScience and Technology concentration adds computer science, and Southeast Community College’s GIS Technician program focuses on technical skills from the start. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.

Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree

Southeast’s 18-credit certificate is the shortest GIS credential in the state. Bachelor’s degree holders can choose UNL’s 15-hour or UNO’s 18-hour graduate GIScience certificate, or a 30-hour master’s at either campus. UNL’s Ph.D. in Global Integrative Studies is the state’s doctoral route for geography research. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.

Online or campus

Southeast Community College is the only verified fully online option in Nebraska. Geography degrees at the universities and Wayne State are campus programs, so students who need a fully online bachelor’s or master’s degree should compare online programs in other states.

Funding

  • UNL: competitive teaching assistantships pay $15,000 for the academic year and include tuition remission, for M.A. students and for Ph.D. students for up to three years.
  • UNO: graduate assistantships require 20 hours of teaching or similar duties a week. Applications are due April 1 for fall and November 1 for spring.

Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, South Dakota, Colorado, and Wyoming, or browse all state guides.


Sources and Review Date

Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages unless noted above. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule.

Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.