Missouri has 17 schools with verified geography or geographic information systems (GIS) credentials: 9 public universities, 4 private universities, and 4 two-year colleges with GIS certificates or a GIS area of study. No Missouri school offers a Ph.D. titled “Geography.” Doctoral options are Saint Louis University’s Ph.D. in Geoinformatics and Geospatial Analytics, a Geospatial Informatics emphasis in the University of Missouri’s Informatics Ph.D., and a Geosciences track in UMKC’s Natural Sciences Ph.D. Fully online options are Northwest Missouri State’s M.S. in Geographic Information Science and graduate certificate, Missouri S&T’s M.S. in Geospatial Engineering and graduate certificate, the University of Missouri’s online geospatial analytics programs, and Lincoln University’s GIS certificate.
Quick picks for Missouri
- Lowest resident bachelor’s tuition: Missouri State University, $9,510 per year (30 credits at $317).
- Online degrees: Northwest Missouri State (M.S. in Geographic Information Science), Missouri S&T (M.S. in Geospatial Engineering), and University of Missouri (M.S. in Data Science and Analytics, Geospatial Analytics emphasis).
- Lowest-cost online graduate GIS certificate: Northwest Missouri State, $6,480 total with fees included (15 credits).
- Community college GIS certificates: Crowder College, $2,420 in-district tuition (22 credits), and Metropolitan Community College, from $2,016 in-district (16 credits).
- Ph.D. programs: Saint Louis University (Geoinformatics and Geospatial Analytics), University of Missouri (Informatics, Geospatial Informatics emphasis), and UMKC (Natural Sciences, Geosciences).
Rates are resident tuition before fees unless the school bills them together. See the tuition comparison for nonresident rates and fees.
Missouri Geography and GIS Programs at a Glance
Undergraduate Degrees and Certificates at Universities
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Missouri | Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Geography Certificate in Geographical Information Science (undergraduate) | Campus (Columbia) | B.A.: 120 (major 36) Certificate: 15 | Geographic Information Sciences emphasis; senior seminar capstone |
| Missouri State University | Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in Geospatial Sciences B.S. and B.A. in Geography and Sustainability Applied Geospatial Science Certificate Geographic Information Sciences Certificate | Campus (Springfield) | B.S. and B.A.: 120 (major 38–61) Certificates: 16–17 and 16 | Geospatial B.S. requires remote sensing, photogrammetry and LiDAR, and web GIS |
| University of Missouri–Kansas City | B.S. in Earth and Environmental Science, Physical Geography emphasis | Campus (Kansas City) | 120 (major 76) | Requires advanced GIScience, remote sensing, and a practicum |
| University of Missouri–St. Louis | Geographic Information Systems Undergraduate Certificate | Not stated (St. Louis) | 15 | Open to students in any major |
| Southeast Missouri State University | B.S. in Geographic Information Science | Campus (Cape Girardeau) | 120 (major 42–45) | Database and programming courses alongside GIS |
| Northwest Missouri State University | B.S. in Geography B.S. in Geographic Information Science Geographic Information Systems Certificate (undergraduate) | Campus (Maryville) | B.S.: 120 (major 39) Certificate: 15 | Certificate is earned alongside a bachelor’s degree |
| Lincoln University | Geospatial Information Science (GIS) Certificate | Fully online | 15 | Designed to be completed in one semester |
| Harris-Stowe State University | Certificate in Geosciences GEOINT Certificate | Campus (St. Louis) | 15 and 21 | GEOINT certificate is accredited by USGIF |
| Saint Louis University | B.S. in Geoinformatics and Geospatial Analytics Geographic Information Systems Certificate (undergraduate) | Campus (St. Louis) | B.S.: 120 (major 64) Certificate: 18 | Calculus, data structures, and digital image processing required |
| Washington University in St. Louis | Certificate in Geographic Information Systems Certificate in Applied GeoAI | Mostly or fully online (see online section) | 18 and 16 units | Continuing and professional studies certificates for working adults |
| Park University | B.S. in Geography Geographical Information Systems Certificate (undergraduate) | Online and on campus (Parkville) | B.S.: 120 (major 34–40) Certificate: 15 | Minor or second major required with the B.S. |
| Lindenwood University | B.A. in Geospatial Intelligence and Sustainability Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Certificate GeoAI Certificate | B.A.: blended GIS Certificate: online or blended GeoAI: campus or blended (St. Charles) | B.A. major: 36 Certificates: 15–16 and 15 | B.A. is new for fall 2026 and includes drone and applied AI courses |
Graduate Degrees and Certificates
| School | Credentials | Format | Credits | Distinguishing feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Missouri | Master of Arts (M.A.) in Geography Graduate Certificate in Geographical Information Science Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Intelligence Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Analytics Master of Science (M.S.) in Data Science and Analytics, Geospatial Analytics emphasis Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Informatics, Geospatial Informatics emphasis | M.A., GIS and GEOINT certificates, Ph.D.: campus (Columbia) Geospatial Analytics certificate and M.S.: fully online | M.A.: 32 Certificates: 12, 18, and 12 M.S.: 30 Ph.D.: 72 | About 6 geography assistantships awarded each year |
| Missouri State University | M.S. in Geography and Geology (Geography, Geospatial Science, and Planning options) Geospatial Information Sciences Certificate (graduate) | Campus (Springfield) | M.S.: 33 thesis or 36 non-thesis Certificate: 12 | Accelerated bachelor’s-to-master’s option; GRE not required |
| University of Missouri–Kansas City | M.S. in Environmental and Urban Geosciences Graduate Certificate in Geographic Information Systems Ph.D. in Natural Sciences, Geosciences discipline | Campus (Kansas City) | M.S.: 30 Certificate: 12 Ph.D.: 42 | Teaching assistantships for thesis-option M.S. students |
| Missouri University of Science and Technology | M.S. in Geospatial Engineering Graduate Certificate in Geoanalytics and Geointelligence | Fully online | M.S.: 30 Certificate: 12 | Positioning, navigation, and timing courses; certificate can lead to M.S. admission |
| Saint Louis University | M.S. in Geographic Information Science Geographic Information Science Post-Baccalaureate Certificate Geospatial Health Post-Baccalaureate Certificate Ph.D. in Geoinformatics and Geospatial Analytics | Campus (St. Louis); evening classes for the M.S. and GIS certificate | M.S.: 30 Certificates: 15 and 12 Ph.D.: 45 | M.S. can be completed in one year full-time; GRE not required |
| Northwest Missouri State University | M.S. in Geographic Information Science Geographic Information Science Certificate (graduate) | Fully online | M.S.: 30 Certificate: 15 | 7-week courses; M.S. in as few as 14 months |
Credentials were verified against 2026–27 catalogs, except Lincoln University (2025–27 bulletin) and Harris-Stowe State University (2024–26 bulletin). Minors and microcredentials are not listed.
Community College Degrees and Certificates
| College | Credential | Units | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Metropolitan Community College Kansas City | Geographic Information Systems Certificate | 16–18 | Campus (Maple Woods and Longview) |
| Crowder College Neosho | Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Certificate | 22 | Online classes with open lab time |
| St. Charles Community College Cottleville | Computer Science, Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.), Geographic Information Systems area of study | 61 | Not stated (main campus) |
| Missouri State University–West Plains West Plains | Aerial and Geospatial Technology Certificate | 15 | Not stated (West Plains) |
Metropolitan Community College and St. Charles Community College also list geography emphases within their Associate of Arts (A.A.) degrees for students planning to transfer.
Related Urban Planning Programs
Missouri State University’s B.S. in Community and Regional Planning (comprehensive, 39–41 major hours) requires Introduction to Geographic Information Science, along with a planning internship and a community planning practicum. Missouri State’s M.S. in Geography and Geology also has a Planning option. See our urban planning guide.
Online Geography and GIS Programs in Missouri
An online course is not the same as an online degree. The programs below have an official statement that the full credential can be completed online. The next list covers programs that offer online coursework or where school sources disagree.
Verified fully online options
- Northwest Missouri State University M.S. in Geographic Information Science: the university says students can earn the degree 100% online, in as few as 14 months.
- Northwest Missouri State University Geographic Information Science Certificate (graduate): a five-course program delivered 100% online. All 15 credits apply to the M.S.
- Missouri S&T M.S. in Geospatial Engineering: S&T Online says the program is 100% online with no campus visits required.
- Missouri S&T Graduate Certificate in Geoanalytics and Geointelligence: 100% online, with asynchronous courses.
- University of Missouri Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Analytics: Mizzou Online lists the delivery mode as 100% online. It is offered through the Institute for Data Science and Informatics, not the geography department.
- University of Missouri M.S. in Data Science and Analytics, Geospatial Analytics emphasis: 100% online in 8-week modules. It is a data science degree with three required geospatial courses.
- Lincoln University Geospatial Information Science (GIS) Certificate: the bulletin calls it a fully online program designed to be completed in one semester.
Online coursework, but not a verified fully online program
- Washington University Certificate in Applied GeoAI: the bulletin says it is completed entirely online, but the program page and the bulletin’s footer say it is offered “mostly or fully online.”
- Washington University Certificate in Geographic Information Systems: the bulletin says students can complete it online, but course availability may vary by semester.
- Park University B.S. in Geography and GIS Certificate: both program pages are labeled “Online and On-Campus w/Online Courses,” and the B.S. page refers to an online geography degree. Neither page states that every required course is offered online.
- Lindenwood University GIS Certificate: offered in online and blended formats. The B.A. in Geospatial Intelligence and Sustainability is blended.
- Crowder College GIS Certificate: the college says classes are online with open lab time, but it does not state that the full certificate can be completed online.
- Missouri State University: no geography, GIS, or planning program appears on the university’s online program lists. All are Springfield campus programs.
For more on Northwest’s program, see our Northwest Missouri State online GIS master’s profile. For programs based in other states, see online geography schools.
Missouri School Summaries
University of Missouri
Mizzou’s Department of Geography offers a 120-credit B.A. in Geography with a 36-credit major: a 21-credit core plus at least 15 credits in one emphasis. Emphases are General Geography, Geographic Information Sciences, Physical/Environmental, and Regional/Cultural. The core includes Digital Earth, either Cartography or Introduction to GIS, and a senior seminar capstone. GIS emphasis courses include Remote Sensing, Spatial Analysis, Advanced GIS, and Geospatial Sciences in National Security. The interdisciplinary Certificate in Geographical Information Science requires at least 15 credits with a B average.
The 32-credit M.A. in Geography has thesis and non-thesis options and ends with a comprehensive oral exam. Applicants need a 3.0 GPA and three letters, and no GRE is listed. The department awards about 6 teaching and research assistantships each year, and applicants should apply by January 15 for funding consideration. Graduate certificates include the 12-credit Graduate Certificate in Geographical Information Science and the 18-credit Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Intelligence, which ends with a capstone course.
Mizzou has no Ph.D. in geography. The closest option is the Ph.D. in Informatics with a Geospatial Informatics emphasis, at least 72 graduate credits with a dissertation. The university’s data science institute also offers a 12-credit Graduate Certificate in Geospatial Analytics and a 30-credit M.S. in Data Science and Analytics with a Geospatial Analytics emphasis, both 100% online with no GRE required. The M.S. requires a 3.0 GPA over the last 60 undergraduate hours.
Sources: B.A. in Geography; M.A. in Geography; Geospatial Intelligence certificate; Informatics Ph.D.; online Geospatial Analytics M.S..
Missouri State University
Missouri State’s School of Earth, Environment and Sustainability offers a comprehensive B.S. in Geospatial Sciences (52–53 major hours, no minor required) that includes Remote Sensing, Internet Geospatial, Advanced GIScience, Geovisualization, Photogrammetry and LiDAR, and a programming course. Geography and Sustainability is offered as a comprehensive B.S. (57–61 major hours, with Geography, Sustainable Development, and Sustainable Watershed Management options) and as a 38-hour B.A. or B.S. that requires a minor. Two undergraduate certificates, Applied Geospatial Science (16–17 hours) and Geographic Information Sciences (16 hours), build on the same GIS and remote sensing courses.
The M.S. in Geography and Geology has Geography, Geology, Geospatial Science, and Planning options. It is 33 hours with a thesis or 36 hours without one, and non-thesis students present a research paper. The GRE is welcome but not required. An accelerated option lets juniors with a 3.25 GPA count up to 12 hours toward both degrees. The department offers competitive assistantships with a stipend and fee waiver. The 12-hour graduate Geospatial Information Sciences Certificate leads to direct M.S. admission for students who earn a B or better in each course.
Sources: Geospatial Sciences B.S.; Geography and Sustainability B.S.; M.S. in Geography and Geology; graduate GIS certificate; department site.
University of Missouri–Kansas City
UMKC’s Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences offers a 120-credit B.S. in Earth and Environmental Science with a Physical Geography emphasis. Required courses include Introduction to GIS, Spatial Data Analysis, Advanced GIScience, Environmental Remote Sensing, field methods, and a practicum. UMKC’s undergraduate GIS certificate is no longer accepting students.
The 30-credit M.S. in Environmental and Urban Geosciences has thesis and non-thesis options. Applicants need a 3.0 GPA and two letters; the GRE is not required but may be used to award assistantships. Teaching assistantships go only to incoming thesis-option students. The 12-credit Graduate Certificate in GIS requires Advanced GIScience plus Remote Sensing or Advanced Spatial Data Analysis. The Ph.D. in Natural Sciences can be taken with Geosciences as the primary discipline and requires at least 42 credits.
Sources: B.S., Physical Geography emphasis; M.S.; graduate GIS certificate; Ph.D..
University of Missouri–St. Louis
UMSL has no geography major. Its 15-credit Geographic Information Systems Undergraduate Certificate is open to all majors and requires Exploring Geospatial Thinking and Technology, Introduction to GIS, and Advanced GIS, plus a methods course (an internship is one choice) and a broadening elective. The current bulletin lists no graduate GIS certificate.
Sources: GIS certificate; GIS courses.
Missouri University of Science and Technology
Missouri S&T in Rolla has no geography degree, but it offers two online geospatial credentials. The 30-credit M.S. in Geospatial Engineering is a non-thesis degree with a 15-credit core in remote sensing, GIS applications, positioning, navigation and timing, and a capstone project. Students then choose a specialty in Remote Sensing and Earth Observation, Navigation and Autonomous Systems, or Geodetic Systems. The GRE is not required.
The 12-credit Graduate Certificate in Geoanalytics and Geointelligence requires Remote Sensing plus three courses from a list that includes GIS, Advanced Remote Sensing, Geopolitics, and Machine Learning. It is open to graduates in geology, geophysics, engineering, and similar fields. Students who earn a B or better in all four courses can be admitted to the non-thesis M.S. in Geological Engineering or Geology and Geophysics.
Sources: Geospatial Engineering catalog; online M.S.; online certificate.
Southeast Missouri State University
Southeast Missouri State’s Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences offers a face-to-face B.S. in Geographic Information Science in Cape Girardeau. Required courses include a two-part Introduction to GIScience, Remote Sensing, Advanced GIScience, GIS Application, Spatial Analysis, and database and computer science courses. Electives include GIS Planning for Emergency Management and an internship. The catalog lists 42 major hours and the program page lists 45, within a 120-hour degree. No minor is required.
Sources: catalog; program page.
Northwest Missouri State University
Northwest offers a B.S. in Geography and a B.S. in Geographic Information Science in Maryville. Both are 39-hour majors that require a minor and share an 18-hour core that includes GIS and geographic research methods. The GIS major adds Cartography, Remote Sensing, Applied Geospatial Data Analytics, and statistics. The 15-hour undergraduate GIS Certificate must be completed with a bachelor’s degree.
The online M.S. in Geographic Information Science is 30 credits in 7-week courses: a 12-hour core (Principles of GIS, Remotely Sensed Data, Cartographic Design, and GIS and Spatial Analytics), 12 hours of electives such as Geoprocessing with Python and Internet GIS, and a 6-hour seminar and research project. There is no thesis. Applicants need a 2.5 GPA. A GRE score is required unless the applicant has a 3.3 GPA, a graduate degree, the graduate certificate, or qualifying work experience. The 15-hour online graduate certificate applies fully to the M.S. No assistantships are advertised.
Sources: GIS B.S.; Geography program page; M.S. catalog; online M.S.; online certificate.
Lincoln University
Lincoln University in Jefferson City offers a fully online, 15-credit Geospatial Information Science (GIS) Certificate through LU Online and its Security Science Institute. It covers GIS, Digital Mapping and GPS, Geospatial Analysis, and Remote Sensing, and no GIS experience is needed. The university lists the cost as $6,500 for 15 credit hours.
Sources: GIS certificate; 2025–27 bulletin.
Harris-Stowe State University
Harris-Stowe has no geography degree but offers two campus certificates in St. Louis through a partnership with the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency. The 15-credit Certificate in Geosciences includes GIS, Remote Sensing, and Physical Geography. The 21-credit GEOINT Certificate adds research methods and a GEOINT capstone and is accredited by the U.S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation (USGIF). Both appear in the 2024–26 bulletin, the newest one posted.
Sources: 2024–26 bulletin.
Saint Louis University
Saint Louis University’s Department of Earth, Environmental and Geospatial Sciences offers a 120-credit B.S. in Geoinformatics and Geospatial Analytics with a 64-credit major. It requires GPS, Spatial Analysis, Introduction to GIS, Geospatial Data Management, Remote Sensing, and Digital Image Processing, along with calculus, statistics, and computer science through Data Structures. The 18-credit undergraduate GIS Certificate requires a 3.00 GPA for admission.
The 30-credit M.S. in Geographic Information Science has coursework-only, research project, and thesis tracks and can be completed in one year full-time. Classes meet in the late afternoon or evening. The GRE is not required, and students should apply by February 1 for assistantships, which provide a stipend and may include a tuition scholarship. The 15-credit GIS Post-Baccalaureate Certificate uses the same core courses, and the 12-credit Geospatial Health Post-Baccalaureate Certificate is offered with the College for Public Health and Social Justice. The 45-credit Ph.D. in Geoinformatics and Geospatial Analytics makes the GRE optional.
Sources: B.S.; M.S.; post-baccalaureate certificate; Geospatial Health certificate; Ph.D..
Washington University in St. Louis
Washington University’s School of Continuing and Professional Studies offers two undergraduate certificates for working adults. The 18-unit Certificate in Geographic Information Systems requires Introduction to GIS, Advanced GIS, Digital Cartography, Spatial Data Modeling and Design, and a GIS Clinic, plus one elective. The 16-unit Certificate in Applied GeoAI covers imagery analysis and GeoAI and ends with a one-unit portfolio course. It requires prior GIS and Python coursework or experience.
Sources: GIS certificate; Applied GeoAI certificate; program page.
Park University
Park University’s 120-credit B.S. in Geography has a 16-credit core (Cultural Geography, Geography of North America, Physical Geography, Global Sustainability, and GIS I) plus 18–24 credits of electives, and it requires a minor or second major. The 15-hour Geographical Information Systems Certificate covers Spatial Analysis, Cartography, Remote Sensing, and GIS I and II. The catalog gives a 2.5 GPA for the certificate. Both programs are listed as online and on campus in Parkville.
Sources: B.S. in Geography; GIS certificate; catalog.
Lindenwood University
Lindenwood added a B.A. in Geospatial Intelligence and Sustainability for fall 2026. The 36-credit major combines an 18-credit core (World Regional Geography, Introduction to GIS, Remote Sensing, Advanced Topics in GIS, Droning and Coding, and Fundamentals of Applied AI) with a 15-credit concentration in International Peace and Security, Public History, or Public Health and a 3-credit internship. The 15–16 credit GIS Certificate requires an internship or similar experience and can be taken on its own by non-degree students. A 15-credit GeoAI Certificate, also new for fall 2026, is open to Lindenwood undergraduates.
Sources: B.A. program page; GIS certificate; GeoAI certificate.
Community Colleges
Metropolitan Community College offers a 16–18 credit GIS Certificate at its Maple Woods and Longview campuses, with Introduction to GIS, GIS Database and Design, Applications in GIS, Administrative Issues in GIS, and an internship. Crowder College in Neosho offers a 22-credit GIS Certificate in two tiers that prepare students for Esri ArcGIS Pro Foundation and GIS Fundamentals credentials, ending with a geospatial intelligence project.
St. Charles Community College offers GIS as an area of study within its 61-credit Computer Science A.A.S., with Introduction to GIS, Advanced GIS, Data Visualization, and SQL Programming. Missouri State University–West Plains offers a 15-credit Aerial and Geospatial Technology Certificate built around drone mapping and geospatial analysis, with Introduction to GIS Technology as an elective. The same courses form an emphasis in its Information Science and Technology A.A.S.
Sources: MCC GIS certificate; Crowder GIS certificate; St. Charles GIS area of study; MSU–West Plains certificate.
Schools not included
- University of Central Missouri: its GIS minor is not in the 2026–27 catalog, and it has no geography or GIS degree or certificate.
- Minor only: Missouri Southern State University (geography) and Columbia College (geography).
- Courses only, no credential: Missouri Western State University, Drury University, William Jewell College, Westminster College, Culver-Stockton College, and Hannibal-LaGrange University.
- No geography or GIS credential: Truman State University, Webster University, Rockhurst University, Maryville University, Missouri Baptist University (geoscience minor only), Evangel University, College of the Ozarks, Southwest Baptist University, Avila University, William Woods University, Stephens College, and Central Methodist University. Fontbonne University closed in 2025.
- Community colleges without a GIS-named credential: St. Louis Community College (GIS courses count only as electives), Ozarks Technical, East Central, Jefferson, Mineral Area, Moberly Area, North Central Missouri, State Fair, Three Rivers, and State Technical College of Missouri. Three Rivers and State Tech offer civil engineering technology programs that include surveying.
Tuition Comparison
Estimated tuition is our arithmetic from each published rate and the stated basis. Each figure is labeled “per year” or “total.” None includes fees, housing, books, or other costs unless the row says the fees are built into the rate.
Undergraduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Missouri B.A. in Geography | $7,453.00 per semester (resident, 12–18 credits) $19,033.70 per semester (nonresident) | Two semesters | $14,906 resident per year $38,067.40 nonresident per year | Student activity fee $27.30 per credit, up to $327.60 per semester; health fee $102.60 and recreation fee $197.80 per semester |
| Missouri State University B.S. in Geospatial Sciences; Geography and Sustainability | $317 per credit (resident) $678 per credit (nonresident) | 30 credits per year | $9,510 resident per year $20,340 nonresident per year | Student services fee $630 per semester at 9 or more hours; athletic fee $200 and technology fee $85 per semester |
| Missouri State University Geographic Information Sciences Certificate | $317 per credit (resident) $678 per credit (nonresident) | 16 credits | $5,072 resident total $10,848 nonresident total | Student services fee $70 per credit up to 9 hours, plus technology and athletic fees per semester |
| University of Missouri–Kansas City B.S. in Earth and Environmental Science | $427.70 per credit (resident) $1,115.60 per credit (nonresident) | 30 credits per year | $12,831 resident per year $33,468 nonresident per year | Student life fee $885.10 per semester at 13 or more credits |
| University of Missouri–St. Louis GIS Undergraduate Certificate | $550 per credit (resident) $1,370 per credit (nonresident) | 15 credits | $8,250 resident total $20,550 nonresident total | None listed separately; course fees are built into the per-credit rate |
| Southeast Missouri State University B.S. in Geographic Information Science | $352 per credit ($305 tuition plus $47 general fee), all U.S. students | 30 credits per year | $10,560 per year | $40 per credit program fee on computer science courses; one-time $150 enrollment fee |
| Northwest Missouri State University B.S. in Geography; B.S. in GIS | $475 per credit (resident, including designated, technology, and textbook fees) $775 per credit (nonresident) | 30 credits per year | $14,250 resident per year $23,250 nonresident per year | Course fee of $19.60 per credit for geography courses |
| Lincoln University (online) GIS Certificate | $6,500 for 15 credit hours (published program cost) | 15 credits | $6,500 total | LU Online fees: $840 per the program page |
| Saint Louis University B.S. in Geoinformatics and Geospatial Analytics | $58,960 per year (full-time) | Published annual rate | $58,960 per year | University fees $1,000 per year; student activity fee $65 per semester |
| Washington University (continuing studies) GIS Certificate; Applied GeoAI Certificate | $787 per unit (posted March 2026) | GIS: 18 units GeoAI: 16 units | GIS: $14,166 total GeoAI: $12,592 total | Lab and material fees of $15–$350 on some courses |
| Park University B.S. in Geography | $8,500 per semester (full-time, Parkville) $575 per credit (online and part-time) | Two semesters, or 30 online credits | $17,000 campus per year $17,250 online per year | Campus: $500 university fee and $375 First Day Access fee per semester. Online: $35 and $25 per credit |
| Park University GIS Certificate | $575 per credit (online and part-time) | 15 credits | $8,625 total | $60 per credit |
| Lindenwood University B.A. in Geospatial Intelligence and Sustainability | $22,360 per year (12–18 credits) | Published annual rate | $22,360 per year | Lion fee $1,802 per year |
| Lindenwood University (online) GIS Certificate | $525 per credit (online) | 15–16 credits | $7,875–$8,400 total | Online technology fee of $500 or $530 per year (school pages differ) |
| Metropolitan Community College GIS Certificate | $126 per credit (in-district) $246 (out-of-district) $332 (out-of-state); year not labeled | 16–18 credits | $2,016–$2,268 in-district total $3,936–$4,428 out-of-district total $5,312–$5,976 out-of-state total | None listed for GIS courses |
| Crowder College GIS Certificate | $110 per credit (in-district) $188 per credit (all others) | 22 credits | $2,420 in-district total $4,136 out-of-district total | $83 per credit in common fees, plus $60 per credit for GIS courses |
| St. Charles Community College Computer Science A.A.S., GIS area of study | $116 per credit (in-district) $185 (out-of-district) $247 (out-of-state) | 30 credits per year | $3,480 in-district per year $5,550 out-of-district per year $7,410 out-of-state per year | $14 per credit; computer and drafting courses cost $40 more per credit, and online courses $15 more |
| Missouri State University–West Plains Aerial and Geospatial Technology Certificate | $221 per credit for drone courses and $206 for computing courses (resident) $392 and $377 (nonresident) | 9 drone credits plus 6 computing credits | $3,225 resident total $5,790 nonresident total | $60 per credit common fee |
Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise. Harris-Stowe State University’s tuition could not be verified.
Graduate tuition
| School and credential | Published rate | Calculation basis | Estimated tuition | Required fees (not included) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Missouri M.A. in Geography | $567.80 per credit (resident) $1,419.50 per credit (nonresident) | 32 credits | $18,169.60 resident total $45,424 nonresident total | Student activity fee $30.60 per credit, up to $275.40 per semester; health fee $102.60 and recreation fee $197.80 per semester |
| University of Missouri GIS and Geospatial Intelligence graduate certificates | $567.80 per credit (resident) $1,419.50 per credit (nonresident) | GIS: 12 credits GEOINT: 18 credits | GIS: $6,813.60 resident, $17,034 nonresident total GEOINT: $10,220.40 resident, $25,551 nonresident total | Same as the M.A. |
| University of Missouri (online) Geospatial Analytics certificate; M.S. in Data Science and Analytics | $1,116.30 per credit, any residency | Certificate 12 credits; M.S. 30 credits | Certificate: $13,395.60 total M.S.: $33,489 total | None of the campus fees for fully online students |
| Missouri State University M.S. in Geography and Geology | $414 per credit (resident) $825 per credit (nonresident) | 33 credits (thesis) or 36 (non-thesis) | $13,662–$14,904 resident total $27,225–$29,700 nonresident total | Student services fee $630 per semester at 9 or more hours; athletic fee $200 and technology fee $85 per semester. Assistantships carry a fee waiver. |
| Missouri State University Geospatial Information Sciences Certificate | $414 per credit (resident) $825 per credit (nonresident) | 12 credits | $4,968 resident total $9,900 nonresident total | Student services fee $70 per credit up to 9 hours, plus technology and athletic fees per semester |
| University of Missouri–Kansas City M.S. in Environmental and Urban Geosciences; GIS certificate | $554 per credit (resident) $1,391 per credit (nonresident) | M.S. 30 credits; certificate 12 credits | M.S.: $16,620 resident, $41,730 nonresident total Certificate: $6,648 resident, $16,692 nonresident total | Student life fee $366.90–$885.10 per semester, by credit load |
| Missouri S&T (online) M.S. in Geospatial Engineering; Geoanalytics and Geointelligence certificate | $1,200 per credit, any residency | M.S. 30 credits; certificate 12 credits | M.S.: $36,000 total Certificate: $14,400 total | Book bundle fee (amount not stated) |
| Saint Louis University M.S. in GIS; GIS and Geospatial Health certificates; Ph.D. | $1,450 per credit | M.S. 30; certificates 15 and 12; Ph.D. 45 credits | M.S.: $43,500 total GIS certificate: $21,750 total Geospatial Health: $17,400 total Ph.D.: $65,250 total | University fee $435 per semester full-time or $250 part-time; activity fee $30 per semester |
| Northwest Missouri State University (online) M.S. in GIScience; graduate certificate | $432 per credit, any residency, fees included | M.S. 30 credits; certificate 15 credits | M.S.: $12,960 total Certificate: $6,480 total | Included in the rate |
Rates are 2026–27 unless the row notes otherwise.
Why some rates do not compare directly
- Southeast Missouri State charges all U.S. students the same rate, and its rate includes the general fee. Northwest’s per-credit rate also includes its main fees.
- Online programs at Mizzou, Missouri S&T, and Northwest charge one rate regardless of residency. Missouri State charges its resident rate for internet-based courses.
- Community colleges charge less to residents of their taxing district. Crowder has one rate for all students outside its district.
- Saint Louis University, Lindenwood, and Park publish a flat full-time rate; certificate costs at these schools assume per-credit or online rates.
- Assistantships at Mizzou, Missouri State, UMKC, and Saint Louis University can reduce or replace graduate tuition.
How to Choose a Geography or GIS Program in Missouri
Broad geography or technical GIS
Traditional geography degrees are Mizzou’s B.A., Missouri State’s Geography and Sustainability degrees, Northwest’s B.S. in Geography, and Park’s B.S. in Geography. Technical GIS degrees include Missouri State’s Geospatial Sciences B.S., Southeast Missouri State’s and Northwest’s GIS degrees, and Saint Louis University’s Geoinformatics B.S., which requires the most math and computer science. Read more about GIScience degrees and geospatial technology.
Certificate, bachelor’s, or graduate degree
Undergraduate GIS certificates run 15 to 22 credits, from community college certificates to university programs at UMSL, Missouri State, Saint Louis University, and Washington University. Graduate GIS certificates run 12 to 18 credits. For master’s study, the M.A. at Mizzou and the M.S. degrees at Missouri State and UMKC are research-oriented, while Saint Louis University, Northwest, and Missouri S&T offer applied GIS and geospatial degrees. Compare bachelor’s and master’s programs nationally.
Online or campus
Northwest Missouri State has the only fully online master’s degree named for GIS. Missouri S&T’s online M.S. focuses on geospatial engineering, and Mizzou’s online M.S. is a data science degree with a geospatial emphasis. At the undergraduate level, Lincoln’s certificate is the only verified fully online option, and Park, Lindenwood, and Washington University offer online coursework. See online geography programs nationwide.
Funding
- Mizzou: about 6 geography assistantships a year; apply by January 15.
- Missouri State: competitive assistantships with a stipend and fee waiver.
- UMKC: teaching assistantships for incoming thesis-option M.S. students.
- Saint Louis University: assistantships with a stipend; apply by February 1 for the M.S. and January 2 for the Ph.D.
- Northwest and Missouri S&T online programs: no assistantships advertised.
Students open to nearby states can also compare programs in Kansas, Illinois, Iowa, Arkansas, and Kentucky, or browse all state guides.
Sources and Review Date
Reviewed October 14, 2026. Program details come from each school’s 2026–27 catalog or program pages unless noted above. Tuition comes from each school’s 2026–27 tuition schedule unless a row notes otherwise.
- University of Missouri: undergraduate tuition, graduate tuition, mandatory fees
- Missouri State: detailed tuition and fees
- UMKC: undergraduate rates, graduate rates, university fees
- UMSL: tuition and fees
- Missouri S&T: online tuition
- Southeast Missouri State: cost
- Northwest Missouri State: tuition and fees
- Lincoln University: basic fees
- Saint Louis University: fees (tuition is listed on each program page)
- Washington University: continuing studies tuition
- Park University: tuition details
- Lindenwood University: tuition and costs, online tuition
- Metropolitan Community College: tuition
- Crowder College: tuition and residency
- St. Charles Community College: tuition and payment
- Missouri State University–West Plains: costs
Program-level source links appear at the end of each school summary. Programs, rates, and requirements change, so confirm them with each school before applying.